We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was just what we needed!”
Review of Bank Street Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank Street Lodge
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My partner and I went on a road trip around Scotland in April 2014 and we stayed here for one night whilst visiting Fort William.

To begin with, parking was not a problem whatsoever as there was an almost-empty car park located straight over the road from the hotel and with it being on a Sunday, parking was free (good start!). We were able to check in straight away and to begin with, I was a little concerned as the place had a very hostel-feel to it but when we got to our room, my concerns were put to bed (pardon the pun!). The room and bathroom was clean, the bed was a comfy double but the highlight of the room was the view which overlooked a church with Loch Eil just seen in the background. Another "highlight" of the room was the fact that the shower had hot water. You may find this as an obvious prerequisite but if you look at my review of The Isles Inn in Portree, then you will see why this was such a welcome treat for us both. The only downside really was when we returned to the hotel later in the afternoon, there were a bunch of hikers stood waiting to be checked in and with the reception area being very narrow, we had no choice but to stand and wait in the doorway whilst it was raining outside (at least 5-6 minutes).

We never ate any meals in the hotel so I am unable to comment on this.

To summarise; a lovely hotel with good, competitive prices in a nice area of Fort William.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've stayed here before, but this time was for day rest. As ever, can't fault the welcome and service, and the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, ideal for what I needed. Look forwards to coming back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101SteveE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The room was fairly clean but vould need decor update. New paint job, towels, sheets and curtains. Window should have blind or thinck curtains to make the room dark for sleeping as in summer time the dark nights are somewhat short. Under 5 hours iof dark time. Located in the hart of Fort Williams and free parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

In reality this is a 3 star hostel rather than a hotel. The difference is reflected in the rooms and facilities. They also have backpacker facilities.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but have good quality furniture. You have to go down to the lounge to use the free wifi and the kitchen principally provided for the backpackers is also available. Under the hotel is a restaurant of reasonable quality, but breakfast only during the summer.

There are some very nice filtered views over the loch from the front rooms. The location is very quiet, away from the through road traffic but still only 200 metres from the high street. Some fellow guest can at times be noisy, particularly late at night.

This is very much a "budget" standard establishment.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

....but that depends on what I was expecting. We were booked into the Bank Street Lodge for a night's accommodation before climbing Ben Nevis. I'd had a look into what the place had to offer, so to be honest I wasn't sure of what we'd find. That's not to say the reviews were that bad but it just wasn't something I'd been used to or would consider for accommodation. So that's the intro.
What we found was average/good, but adequate rooms, and considering that you're not there for a holiday they were simply that, adequate. The rooms we were to try out were clean, well prepared and the beds were comfortable. I say rooms we tried as we were initially put into a 'family' room, double bed and a bunk bed, with en-suite. The shower facilities were good, the water hot and the towels clean & soft. We were not to stay in this room though as it was already ear-marked for our event crew. So we were turfed out, and we ended up downstairs in one of the group bunk rooms, 2 bunk beds, no en-suite. Oh the shame of it. It was okay though, slightly cramped but again the beds were comfortable. The shared shower and toilet facilities were okay, clean and well presented. The small kitchenette could maybe do with a bit of a facelift but again it served its purpose. The small guests lounge also served to do what was intended. Free Wi-Fi, TV and various local info all provided. You'll book this accommodation because you'll not be wanting much, and it'll serve as a base for climbing or similar pursuits. You'll stay in this accommodation because it will be booked for you as part of a party doing a challenge and you'll be fine, but you won't be wowed by it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with en-suite which we found were all upstairs. The rates weren't dear and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm4llb1ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here at the end of our West Highland Way walk, very pleased with everything, cleanliness, helpful staff, value for money, central location, 5 mins to train station and good rooms - would recommend booking early though. For a hostel it is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

staff were nice and friendly. but not very clean. the bed sheets never looked like they had been washed as had stains on the sheets and had a dirty smell. the showers were hot and strong but the shower block was not clean and the toilet kept blocking and most of the time didn't flush. the kitchen and dinning area was fine but not very big not much room to move around

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em92travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £31 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank Street Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing