We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bank Street Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bank Street Lodge
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great little hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at this hostel could not fault anything about it . Very clean in a great location and fantastic value for money. BARGAIN !!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywood_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    94
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
21
46
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We weren't sure what to expect of this Lodge as it offers mixed types of room accommodation. We had recently passed it on a previous stay in Fort William and were attracted by it's great location.

The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly. They also helped us by storing our motorcycle gear the next morning to allow us to get breakfast more easily.

The rooms are a little dated looking but very clean and comfortable and the location is perfect for all the eating establishments on the main street. There is also a great little restaurant underneath the lodge where we had breakfast the next day after finding a menu in our room. Would recommend this also.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Everything you could need from a bunkhouse; clean, comfortable and great value. Futhermore, it's bang in the centre of town and handy for everything. We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cragglerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Excellent facility at this rating and price. I had a single room with ensuite - very comfortable and clean. My son was in a dorm. He said it was comfortable but found the shower to be quite small but adequate. There is a well equipped kitchen, lounge with TV, guest phone, and a laundry on site which was great asset to us. Staff were very friendly and helpful. This hostel is centrally situated, easy to locate and has off street parking available.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

This place is slightly unusual in that it seems to be both a hotel, with some ensuite rooms, and also a hostel. I used it as a hostel and found it excellent. It is very centrally located, a short walk from the railway station and the town centre. My six-bunk room was small but clean and comfortable. There is a good kitchen and big common room/dining room with TV and DVDs. Reception is manned all night, which is useful. It is clean and well-run. At 14.50 GBP it is good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

It's a budget place and getting a little threadbare but it was all I needed. My room was not too cramped and it had coffee/tea making things. Decent bed too. Good location and a kitchen for your use. All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missingscotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

If there are other options for Hostels, go there. This place is small, cramped and the doors to the rooms don't close properly. Their TV room is large, but the TV doesn't have cable. They cram 2 bunk beds into a very small room and the bathrooms are just as bad. You have no room to move around as well zero privacy when showering. The one thing that really did it for me was the noise. Every hour there were loud, drunk, obnoxious people running through the halls and the walls are paper thin. You can hear loud, drunken conversations in the room next to you at 2am. You will also have drunk men at 4am that are unable to find their rooms so they knock on your door and try to open it thinking you are in their bed. The staff did NOTHING about this excessive amount of noise. The streets are very loud at night as well.

Also, if you are uncomfortable with being in rooms close to groups of men or women then avoid it. This place throws all of you together.

The only good things are it was somewhat clean, great view from the tiny window, and the staff was polite. Other than that, hated it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missingscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Property: Bank Street Lodge
Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank Street Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing