We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, uninspiring stay in the centre of Fort William.”
Review of Bank Street Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bank Street Lodge
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Brussels,Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, uninspiring stay in the centre of Fort William.”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 days in a twin ensuite room. They also have hostel accommodation if you're travelling on your own. Everything was clean but basic. Very small bathroom. We had a room on the street side and there was always a lot of noise late at night and early in the morning as people from the hostel who smoked used to gather there to talk.
The kitchen of the hostel is very, very small; you could only be in there with 2 or 3 people at the time or you couldn't move anymore. There were 4 basic hotplates which took a long time to heat up and the dining room was at the same time the TV room.
You don't need to stay in the centre of town to do Fort William, Ben Nevis and everything else there is to see. It's less expensive to go a little bit further out of Fort William and you can still do the same things like taking a Gondola up the mountain, visiting Glenfinnan viaduct, etc.
A good alternative and only a few miles from Fort William is Corran Bunkhouse in Onich and half the price, cleaner, newer, and more modern.
I'd only choose Bank Street Lodge if I absolutely needed to stay in the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    96
    67
    17
    7
See reviews for
21
46
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Just needed a place to sleep for 1 night in Ft William. Decent sized room with clean en suite bath (shower only). We noticed beds in UK more firm than US but these beds were just plain hard. No breakfast. Adequate restaurant in front of hotel. Front desk people we encountered were efficient but not friendly. Adequate housing- not a huge selection to choose from in Ft William. I recommend it with reservations.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Freedom_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

nice hostel, ok rooms, decent showers, friendly service. ideally near tesco's which opens at 7am for food supplies before going up the hill.

the only problem was the (and i dont know if it's linked to the hostel) absolutely RANK Stables restaurant next door. £12 for a pizza soggy with mountains of cheap cheese and grease. Miserable, unprofessional service, too. I was disgusted by what they served.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The hostel is basically clean etc, although a bit cramped. Out of a whole corridor of ladies there was only one toilet, which as you can imagine caused some queueing problems! If you really need to go in a hurry, there is a public toilet just around the corner in the car park!

It's not too bad if you're just passing through for one night, but if you're planning to stay in Fort William for any longer I would advise finding somewhere with a bit more space.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moskau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Its a very centrally located hostel in Fort William, minutes away from the train station and main street with lots of eating opportunities.
Tesco is nearby (couple of blocks), and Morrisons and Liddle. I stayed in 4-beds-dorm (15 GBP), rooms are on the small side but very clean and comfortable. There is fully equipped kitchen and a kind of lounge (rather small) with TV. Parking is availiable. Bathrooms are spacious and clean. Staff is very kind and helpful. Overall-very good value and location. And keep in mind that July-August is high season, book ahead.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennyloanhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I recently stayed in Fort William with my Mum.
We phoned 2 days before we wanted to stay to book a room. Looking for a twin. £48 for the room we were told. More than happy with this.
So we booked. Arrived on the day and booked in about 2pm. Booked in no bother. Nice friendly staff. Got up to the room which turned out to be a family room. 2 single beds and a double. Ideal for us. En suite toilet and coffee making facilities.
Room was nice and clean. Matresses were a little thin but were more than adequate.
Located up a pretty steep hill. But literally a stones throw away from the main street with off street parking also.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Big-Yin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Great location in town centre, good room with ensuite. kitchen well stocked but too small. Maximum of 3 people at any one time which made it difficult to cook in.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoonTheWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Street Lodge

Property: Bank Street Lodge
Address: Bank Street, Fort William PH33 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank Street Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bank Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Street Hotel Fort William
Bank Street Lodge Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing