We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location but not very clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Ranked #62 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ideal location but not very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Booked over the internet and was sent an access code which wasn't needed as the doors seem to be open all the time, never saw a member of staff. All opened plan, no real rooms. Fully booked and very crampt, not very clean but good kitchen facilities. Fantastic pub upstairs but noisey until 11pm. Great views

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    27
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

we stayed there at the hostel on the night before the 3 peaks challenge began. we had a decent meal but service was slow. hostel was clean and respectable and would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedywaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the bunkhouse and will be returning in the future. It is situated ideally for climbing Ben Nevis and, although it is basic, it offers everything you need. Clean comfortable beds, ample kitchen space and hot, clean showers. We telephoned ahead after reading some of the reviews just to put our minds at ease. Everything we were told was correct, you pay £15.50 and get £15.50 worth!
We didn't have any problems and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Remember it's a bunkhouse! You will hear people coming in and out, zips opening and bags rattli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

On arriving at the bunkhouse after climbing nevis cold and wet, We booked in and went for a shower the water was ice cold and the showers and the floors were dirty, also the beds were dirty and grit on them. My wife legs got bitten with something sitting on the bed and we demand a refund and left. I know is cheap but we have paid this price for bunkhouses in other places and they where acceptable. Place is vile and dirty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazone_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

The bunkhouse actually exceeded my expectations after reading these reviews prior to my stay. The beds I found to be extremely comfortable, the washroom/showers/toilets were 10/10 for cleanliness. The staff who generally stay upstairs in the inn were courteous, friendly and helpful. The kitchen was clean and spacious, with no shortage of utensils of all kinds. We were also fortunate enough to share wih friendly considerate guests. The setting for the bunkhouse is beyond stunning and the Inn upstairs has a fantastic atmosphere, great food, efficent and welcoming staff. I couldn't fault it, apart from a touch pricey but worth it.

On the down side. You are sleeping underneath a very bustling and busy Inn, which if you are looking for an early night, good advice would be earplugs. Also the door opens straight into the washrooms so at any point you may be faced with strangers walking in as you clean your teeth or leave the shower. There is nowhere secure for your belongings either, apart from on or under your bunk, which initially worried me but caused no problems, everything was as we left it. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and wouldnt hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScarlettDiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birnam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We booked the whole bunkhouse out 6 months in advance but when we got there they'd mixed up their bookings and some poor woman and her wee boy had to be bunged into their office/bunk room. They were even considering putting more people in with us at one stage till we told them where to go. Just a poor booking system. Not great for them or us all trying to work around each other.

Good - brilliant location and great to be so close to a pub and restaurant.

Bad - beds were very uncomfortable, poor supply of kitchenware, one 4 ring cooker and 1 big fridge for 24 people isn't great. Lack of privacy was an issue when we stayed on & mixed with others. Open plan makes it difficult for folk to sleep if anybody else is up or using the bathroom. Limited storage space.

It's okaaaaay, but it could all be very easily fixed and made pretty good. The restaurant was good. We met the grumpy lady too but the owner was good when we complained about the double booking.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuftheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked on the day and Were told at first that there was only 2 beds available. After explaining that there were 3 of us we were told we would be accomodated! We thought this was excellent customer service and we were made to feel extremely welcome on arrival. Despite arriving late we were seated and provided with a lovely evening meal which was of excellent value. The accomodation was exactly how described on the web page and the location is excellent in relation to ben Nevis. The inn itself was very Cosy but spacious with a welcoming atmosphere. This was our first trip to ben Nevis but will stay at the ben Nevis inn on our return next year!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angleself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
#28 of 30 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#20 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 30 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse

Property: Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Address: Achintee | Glen Nevis, Fort William PH33 6TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Hotel Fort William
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing