We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I almost don't want to share this gem...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Ranked #59 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“I almost don't want to share this gem...”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I almost don't want to share this gem of a bunkhouse with anyone else as it will become so busy i may not be able rebook! We stayed for 3 nights and used it as a base to walk the Ben and to get in some walking of the surrounding area. I honestly could not fault it. Staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful and welcoming, the ale superb and the food excellent, although do make sure you reserve a table as it gets booked very quickly. The bunkhouse itself is clean and very well kept with great facilities of hot showers and kitchen. The communal kitchen is an excellent place to meet fellow walkers and climbers and share tips on paths/ climbs etc. After a hard days walking it really was the perfect retreat and if you are lucky enough to be there on a Tuesday you will get traditional live music in the bar too. I am already rebooking for a months time as a revisit is a must! Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemHannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
5
18
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Having just completed the '3 peaks' challenge with Ben Nevis being the last, we booked the bunkhouse. Is it 5 star luxury? Is it a comfortable hotel with all the mod cons? Does it have everything you want to relax? - NO. It's a bunkhouse, pure, simple and no frills. Was it comfortable? Was it clean? Was it warm? Did it have all the basic amenities? ABSOLUTELY!! It is £17 for a large single bunk with a hot shower, a lovely pub with some of the most accommodating pub staff you could hope for. The position is right at the end if the Ben Nevis walk so you can walk into the shower, up to the pub for a great cold pint and meal. The views were outstanding and we had a group of 14 who fixnt know each other and no one moaned. Just accept it for what it is. If you want luxury then thus isn't the place if you want cheap, clean, fun, basic and convenient then book. Our club will be here next year!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We didn't stay here but we had a brilliant evening. Great food, great view of Ben Nevis and fantastic staff. Felt a bit sorry for the crag ratters we watched scramble down the last few yards of hill path to be told they couldn't have a meal as the kitchen had already closed, but they slaked their thirst with good real ale!! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colourine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton le Spring
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

OK first of all this is a bunkhouse. Budget accommodation designed for walkers who need a shower, some food, a beer and a bed! If you don't get that then you shouldn't be reading this.

Bunkhouse accom.....perfect, warm comfy, spotless, great self catering perfect.

Then there's the bar and food. OMG what a find, friendly staff, great service, food superb seven very hungry mouths well fed, atmosphere brilliant and live music.

Really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0RNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stopped here with 9 friends before doing the National 3 Peaks the following morning, The accomadation is excellent value for money and cosy, reminds me a little of submarine accomadation. The accomadadtion has kitchen with all the utencials and the showers and toilets are also idearly located. The food upstairs in the bar was better than average, i had the hagis and mash and it tasted just as good as it sounded on the menu, what was even better was the following 6 pints of the local 'Nessi' cask ale and local scotch whiskey chasers. The staff were friendly and put up with our lively chat at the bar very well :) The local nightlife is minutes in a taxi away in Fort William and well worth a visit for local Kayleigh dances and bands, locals a friendly too. All in all i would recommend this place for walkers whether couples or groups, great value for money and ideal location for the hills, all i will say is i dont recommend 6 pints with whiskey chasers then heading into Fort William for more drinks if your heading up Ben Nevis 4 hours after getting in bed!

Room Tip: its not for shy people, a beds a bed so bare with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitfield Kent.
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Reviewed the restaurant earlier and could not fault it. However, the Bunkhouse showers could be improved. The water pressure seems to be the problem as the temperature was fine. Considering the number of people who stay there, I think a coulple of pressure showers could be installed. The rest of the place was good and was typical "Bunkhouse" where everybody of both sexes eat, sleep and chat. Just fix the showers, please!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyann40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_HFortWilliam, Owner at Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Rubyann, thank you very much for your fair review of our business. The bunkhouse is what it is and we do not market it as anything else. I believe your review reflects that.

We have recently had some issues with water pressure; it appears that the lovely people at Scottish water in an attempt to save money "tweak" the pressure to take it down without people noticing. Fortunately we have noticed and have got them to put it back up to the original pressure.

If you choose to use our service again you will hopefully be able to comment as others have in the past that the showers are great.

I can only apologise for the shower that you had and if you do come to us again please let me know in advance of your booking and I will offer you a nights stay on us.

Thank you

Kind regards Tom Hadfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This place has everything. The location is perfect, with views of the stunning mountains and right at the start of the track to Ben Nevis. The whole pub/dining experience was first class, the staff are brilliant, super friendly and the food was amazing and very reasonably priced. It is a very popular restaurant (and rightly so) so you will need to book a table in advance. We stayed 3 nights in the bunkhouse and cannot fault the accommodation. Having recently been refurbished - i think a lot of the negative comments you read on here are now obselete. The bathroom area is clean, there is hot running water all day, a fully equipped kitchen area and nice clean beds and bedding.
I would stay here again without hesitation and I can't wait to come back. As long as you're not expecting the Ritz you can't go wrong. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ignore the bad reviews - this place is an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 29 in Fort William
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#14 of 111 in Fort William
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#34 of 111 in Fort William
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse

Property: Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Address: Achintee | Glen Nevis, Fort William PH33 6TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Hotel Fort William
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing