We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchen closed at 9pm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Ranked #60 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Kitchen closed at 9pm”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

According to the sign outside they are open till 11 pm but when we arrived at 9 pm we were told that the kitchen was closed. Very disappointing indeed. Leaving in the morning we will not stand another chance of testing the food there. We deeply regret it because the location of the place, at the foot of Ben Nevis, is inviting.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeypie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
5
17
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This Inn was amazing and surprising in every way - the location at the foot of the walking trail for Ben Nevis, the pub upstairs from the bunkhouse with its rich atmosphere and glorious sticky toffee pudding, and the captivating valley within which this inn is nestled, as if nestled back in time.

I would go back without hesitation, With one exception! The bunkhouse downstairs.

The bunkhouse:
reeked of sweat
filled with sweaty, rowdy teenagers who stayed up cursing and laughing into the night
the absolute lack of privacy, save for behind the shower curtain
the poorly-kept shower rooms

It breaks my heart to review the bunkhouse like this! Some may say "well, what did you expect?" I get that - but hear me out: I have stayed in many a hostel and communal living space. This place was just a bit primal. Felt like the morning after a music festival. You know that feeling?

Next time I go back (and I will!) I'll book one of the rooms at the slightly fancier inn right next door (and run I think by the same people?)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontereyMama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I almost don't want to share this gem of a bunkhouse with anyone else as it will become so busy i may not be able rebook! We stayed for 3 nights and used it as a base to walk the Ben and to get in some walking of the surrounding area. I honestly could not fault it. Staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful and welcoming, the ale superb and the food excellent, although do make sure you reserve a table as it gets booked very quickly. The bunkhouse itself is clean and very well kept with great facilities of hot showers and kitchen. The communal kitchen is an excellent place to meet fellow walkers and climbers and share tips on paths/ climbs etc. After a hard days walking it really was the perfect retreat and if you are lucky enough to be there on a Tuesday you will get traditional live music in the bar too. I am already rebooking for a months time as a revisit is a must! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemHannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Having just completed the '3 peaks' challenge with Ben Nevis being the last, we booked the bunkhouse. Is it 5 star luxury? Is it a comfortable hotel with all the mod cons? Does it have everything you want to relax? - NO. It's a bunkhouse, pure, simple and no frills. Was it comfortable? Was it clean? Was it warm? Did it have all the basic amenities? ABSOLUTELY!! It is £17 for a large single bunk with a hot shower, a lovely pub with some of the most accommodating pub staff you could hope for. The position is right at the end if the Ben Nevis walk so you can walk into the shower, up to the pub for a great cold pint and meal. The views were outstanding and we had a group of 14 who fixnt know each other and no one moaned. Just accept it for what it is. If you want luxury then thus isn't the place if you want cheap, clean, fun, basic and convenient then book. Our club will be here next year!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We didn't stay here but we had a brilliant evening. Great food, great view of Ben Nevis and fantastic staff. Felt a bit sorry for the crag ratters we watched scramble down the last few yards of hill path to be told they couldn't have a meal as the kitchen had already closed, but they slaked their thirst with good real ale!! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colourine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton le Spring
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

OK first of all this is a bunkhouse. Budget accommodation designed for walkers who need a shower, some food, a beer and a bed! If you don't get that then you shouldn't be reading this.

Bunkhouse accom.....perfect, warm comfy, spotless, great self catering perfect.

Then there's the bar and food. OMG what a find, friendly staff, great service, food superb seven very hungry mouths well fed, atmosphere brilliant and live music.

Really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0RNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stopped here with 9 friends before doing the National 3 Peaks the following morning, The accomadation is excellent value for money and cosy, reminds me a little of submarine accomadation. The accomadadtion has kitchen with all the utencials and the showers and toilets are also idearly located. The food upstairs in the bar was better than average, i had the hagis and mash and it tasted just as good as it sounded on the menu, what was even better was the following 6 pints of the local 'Nessi' cask ale and local scotch whiskey chasers. The staff were friendly and put up with our lively chat at the bar very well :) The local nightlife is minutes in a taxi away in Fort William and well worth a visit for local Kayleigh dances and bands, locals a friendly too. All in all i would recommend this place for walkers whether couples or groups, great value for money and ideal location for the hills, all i will say is i dont recommend 6 pints with whiskey chasers then heading into Fort William for more drinks if your heading up Ben Nevis 4 hours after getting in bed!

Room Tip: its not for shy people, a beds a bed so bare with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 29 in Fort William
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#14 of 111 in Fort William
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#34 of 111 in Fort William
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse

Property: Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Address: Achintee | Glen Nevis, Fort William PH33 6TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Hotel Fort William
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing