We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Ranked #55 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

That is all you need after a long day in the mountains.
Great place to unwind, with hot meals, and choice of drinks.
Lucky guests could sit by the window overlooking the mountains.
Very friendly staff, and the place itself is like some kind of exhibition. There are all sorts of stuff on the walls adding to the atmosphere of the place, just loved it in there.

Clean toilets and free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you want to climb Ben Nevis this is the place to stay. It's right at the bottom of the footpath up the Ben, in the stunning surrounds of Glen Nevis. The bunkhouse is very cheap and basic - but when you're there to climb mountains, you don't need mod cons.

There are eight bunks in three small sections, which means things are quite cramped and the matresses aren't the comfiest. However, there's a big kitchen, spacious showers with plenty of hot water (most welcome after a day's walking) and you're right next door to an incredible pub - a beautifully well done barn conversion. And yes there was a bit of mud around, but what do you expect from a bunkhouse full of walkers in Scotland?!

After we came back from a ten-hour hike of the Ben via the CMD Arete, the fantastic beers, excellent food (Ben burger; haggis; sticky toffee pudding) and an extensive but cheap malt whisky selection was exactly what the doctor ordered. Reserving a table is a sensible idea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for two nights over the long weekend after competing the tuff mudda event in Edinburgh.
Basic good clean accommodation ,All for £15:00 per night!
Both bunk house and Restaurant were excellent and very accommodating.

Perfect after a hard day on the Ben.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

2 showers, 2 toilets between 24 people, ill leave the rest to your imagination!
Located at the foot of Ben Nevis which is excellent, was not allowed to eat in restaurant due to not booking in advance! Very disappointing as the food reviews influenced our decision to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jermaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Just came in for a lunch , so cant vouch for the bunkhouse . Overall , nice meal averagely priced , nothing special but it fitted the bill . Cracking pint of Crofters Ale , good location and friendly staff . Well worth going to .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabutfinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

According to the sign outside they are open till 11 pm but when we arrived at 9 pm we were told that the kitchen was closed. Very disappointing indeed. Leaving in the morning we will not stand another chance of testing the food there. We deeply regret it because the location of the place, at the foot of Ben Nevis, is inviting.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Honeypie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This Inn was amazing and surprising in every way - the location at the foot of the walking trail for Ben Nevis, the pub upstairs from the bunkhouse with its rich atmosphere and glorious sticky toffee pudding, and the captivating valley within which this inn is nestled, as if nestled back in time.

I would go back without hesitation, With one exception! The bunkhouse downstairs.

The bunkhouse:
reeked of sweat
filled with sweaty, rowdy teenagers who stayed up cursing and laughing into the night
the absolute lack of privacy, save for behind the shower curtain
the poorly-kept shower rooms

It breaks my heart to review the bunkhouse like this! Some may say "well, what did you expect?" I get that - but hear me out: I have stayed in many a hostel and communal living space. This place was just a bit primal. Felt like the morning after a music festival. You know that feeling?

Next time I go back (and I will!) I'll book one of the rooms at the slightly fancier inn right next door (and run I think by the same people?)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontereyMama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.2 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#15 of 21 in Fort William
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Guest House
Ben Nevis Guest House
#17 of 111 in Fort William
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#12 of 111 in Fort William
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 33 in Fort William
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse

Address: Achintee | Glen Nevis, Fort William PH33 6TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Hotel Fort William
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing