We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Highlands accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Ranked #59 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Highlands accomodation”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The bunkhouse beds are located under the bar. The beds are organised in corridors with 4 beds each. The bathroom is a "open area" and consist of 2 toilets, 3 sinks, 2 showers (good and hot) and one drying room. The kitchen is good, but there is not much space in the fridge. The hostel is located at the bottom of Ben Nevis, which makes a good option for those who want to climb the mount.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matheus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    27
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

stay here for a weekend of climbing and sightseeing. The Inn itself was lovely, food was great and reasonably priced. Staff brilliant. Great location
Unfortunately we stayed in the bunkhouse being fooled by the pictures. We knew it would be basic and you also get what you pay for, that said I did not expect to be sleeping on dirty stained sheets. I have stayed in many hostels all over the world and can honestly say this is one of the dirtiest. The drying room was a cupboard with hardly any room for boots as the cleaning equipment was also stored there.(Perhaps it had been stored there and lost!). Managed two nights out of three would have walked away after one if there was any vacancies elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Completed the 3 Peaks at the weekend at midday on Saturday 21st June. Beds were basic, Showers and Toilets were basic and Kitchen was basic. But after the 24 hours I had, it was nothing short of heaven. In fairness, the kind of person that would usually use the Bunkhouse, would be a climber/walker and they have a good tolerance when it comes to digs, so boxes are well ticked.

Upstairs however is a different world, buzzing with locals and climbers having fun. Great atmosphere and even better food. People come from miles for it. Beers were good also. Guinness well looked after too. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book a table early. it gets busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton le Spring
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

6 of us stayed for 2 nights at the bunk house for a Ben Nevis climb. I was told by the manager that he gets loads of negative feedback about the bunkhouse, this perplexes me somewhat as I can't work out what People want for sixteen quid per night. Bunk house accommodation is exactly that, communal living for walkers. If you want a B&B go to a B&B, if you want hotel standards, go to a hotel, but let me tell you this, Ben Nevis Bunkhouse is clean, has comfy beds, hot showers, and a great communal kitchen. Its basic and functional but is ridiculously cheap and great value. Now couple that with a great pub, amazing food, friendly staff and a view that you just can't buy anywhere else, it add up to an amazing deal.

Go there, be welcomed, have a laugh, be flexible and enjoy yourselves. Thanks to all the staff for another great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0RNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I have visited the area many times.lhave sampled bed and breakfast accommodation also camping and caravan holidays. The walks can be as chalenging or as benine as you choose. Scenery is breathtaking and varies in its aspect.l have been to the summit of ben nevis and found it exhilarating and a memory to cherish.i would recommend this area of scotland as amust visit to any visitor.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I booked 3 nights but after first night of getting no sleep poor duvet and pillow quality, thin walls and noisy sleepers in a very open layout I booked a b&b for the rest of my stay at the Innseagan near the town. The toilet and showers I didn't use as didn't feel they were clean or very private you & can hear people on the loo. So I welcomed the b&b for only a few extra £ and having private room and shower a god send after the climb. This is very basic and no frills you get a little for what you pay for and risk getting no sleep. I even lost my kindle here and no one handed it in so look after your stuff as that's your responsibility. Needs a major update to bathroom and bunk bedding. Won't be staying again as plenty of nearby alternatives with better lodgings. I will however mention the bar and restaurant are great so get a extra point only for that but not the reason I stayed here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Donika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_HFortWilliam, Owner at Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Donika, thanks for taking the time to review our bunkhouse.

The bunkhouse is a bunkhouse. It is definitely not B&B accommodation.

It is very conveniently located right next to Ben Nevis and in your words a "great bar and restaurant".

The bunkhouse is not aimed at people staying more than one or two nights and is not sold as anything more than a bunkhouse. We even provide the dictionary definition of what a bunkhouse is on our website

*A bunkhouse is a hostel or barracks-like building that historically was used to house working cowboys on ranches in North America. As most cowboys were young single men, the standard bunkhouse was a large open room with narrow beds or cots for each individual and little privacy.

I do however believe that your kindle was handed in and will try and call you shortly to re-unite you with it

Thanks again

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Saturday night after climbing Ben Nevis, had a fantastic meal and well deserved drinks. Staff at Inn were lovely and friendly and foo was delicious. People at next table were locals who eat there regularly. Bunkhouse was great value and exactly what was required after a very long day, we had such a laugh with the other guests! All in all a brilliant weekend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenwen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
#28 of 30 in Fort William
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#19 of 120 in Fort William
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 30 in Fort William
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse

Property: Ben Nevis Inn and Bunkhouse
Address: Achintee | Glen Nevis, Fort William PH33 6TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Hotel Fort William
Ben Nevis Inn And Bunkhouse Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing