We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet location”
Review of Cuilcheanna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cuilcheanna House
Ranked #30 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a nice stay there. We enjoyed very much the location, far away from everything, close to the loch. The two rooms we had were ok, not very special but nice, they were clean, big enough and had everything you need.
The breakfast was very nice, good food.
The hosts were very friendly.
All in all we had a good stay there, only missed a bit the charme, but would definetly recommend it to everyone else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. I am sorry that you seem to be a little disappointed with the bedrooms, however and pleased that you were happy with our location! Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had 6 wonderful nights with Kirsty and Mary. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Delightful touches in the bathroom - luxurious towels and very
nice toiletries. A delicious breakfast was served each morning in the welcoming sunny dining room. We thoroughly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiVFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much for leaving this feedback for us. I am pleased that you were comfortable during your stay. I hope you tried haggis again and enjoyed it just as much as you did the first time! We would be delighted to welcome you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were totally overwhelmed by this hotel. Kirstie, the owner, is very welcoming and friendly, the food is lovely, the views are jaw-droppinglyt spectacular and the whole house is spotlessly clean and tidy. Breakfast was freshly prepared, and lovely.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back - it overlooks Loch Lynnhe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 653AnnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It was a long day, after driving from the Isle of Skye and then riding the Jacobite train trip, we were so glad to finally reach the Cuilchenna House. We arrived after dark, so we were amazed in the morning to see the spectacular views from the house over Loch Linnhe. The hosts Kirstie and Mary were extremely nice, and fun to talk with after a fabulous breakfast. The room was clean, warm and comfortable. Kirstie gave us several tips on places to see on our drive to Glasgow.

Definitely a must stay place in the Fort Williams area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmike211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Cuilcheanna House... what can I say.... one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed at... I am one of the worst people to give criticism... not on this occasion. The hosts Kirstie and Mary were warm and friendly. Everything about this gorgeous bed and breakfast... well, it was superb. The room was clean, warm and inviting with all the little touches you love from your own home. Tea, coffee and even homemade shortbread (Oh and lovely decent bath towels lol).
Reading this, you probably think I was paid ha, but no just being honest.
My time here was very comfortable, relaxed, my sleep was peaceful and the amazing beautiful views from the window overlooking Loch Linnhe made my stay more than worth while. Last but not least, food amazing, well said my peace. Thank you so much, Kirstie and Mary xxxx

Room Tip: No tips need, simply delightful, quiet and lovely! xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesHarpaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. It was a pleasure to meet you and to see Trevor again. It is always a delight to receive lovely comments like yours, and to be able to share our home and wonderful location with people that truly appreciate it. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a room on the first floor with a window seat and bay window looking out over the loch. (Very "Anne of Green Gables"! :-) It was very spacious and elegantly furnished. Lovely home-made short bread biscuits were provided with tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Bathroom was small but clean and very adequate. Breakfast was excellent in a beautiful dining room - very light and airy. We also had the use of a lounge room for relaxing. It was a short walk down to the loch past a field and within walking distance of the local pub (at a pinch!). We found it a convenient spot to stay to explore the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave these kind comments for us. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and we are delighted that you were happy during your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We ended our holiday at this place and I'm glad we chose it. Beautiful home and hosts were super. Food was excellent and Kirstie took time to go that extra mile. Rooms are clean and beds offer a comfortable night's sleep. Would love to visit again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. We are always delighted to receive lovely comments, and to share our home with new guests. We do hope that you come back to visit if you are ever in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
11.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
7.7 mi away
Stronchreggan View Guest House
Stronchreggan View Guest House
#23 of 111 in Fort William
248 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#11 of 111 in Fort William
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
509 reviews
8.7 mi away
Glentower Lower Observatory Guesthouse
7.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilcheanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing