We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Cuilcheanna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cuilcheanna House
Ranked #30 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautiful B&B with excellent views to the loch. Very kind and warm hosts that gave us excellent tips on places to visit on our way to Mallaig. They also recommended us a magnificent fish restaurant for dinner. Delicious breakfast served in the front room with views to the garden and loch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikko1974UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

First, thank you so much to Kirstie, the proprietor, and her mother Mary. They are warm, welcoming, funny, and we delighted in talking with them. They also offered terrific recommendations for restaurants! They convey their love for what they do, the place in which they live and work, and the surrounding area. Our rooms were very comfortable, and looked out at the loch and surrounding gardens. The location is spectacular. Breakfast was delicious and very high quality, served in their well-appointed dining area. There were zero drawbacks to staying here, and we felt fortunate to have found such a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review for us and for your very kind comments. We are delighted that you were happy during your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to share our home with new guests that appreciate it as much as we do. I hope that you all enjoyed the rest of your Scottish holiday, we look forward to welcoming you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just one night stay in a superior room. very large, super clean, and stunning views of the loch. Bed was a bit too soft for my partner but i slept well. Made to feel very welcome and really good breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deekburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time leave this feedback for us. It was lovely to welcome you and your friends into our home recently. Hopefully you have recovered from your exertions by now! We hope to welcome you all back to see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a nice stay there. We enjoyed very much the location, far away from everything, close to the loch. The two rooms we had were ok, not very special but nice, they were clean, big enough and had everything you need.
The breakfast was very nice, good food.
The hosts were very friendly.
All in all we had a good stay there, only missed a bit the charme, but would definetly recommend it to everyone else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. I am sorry that you seem to be a little disappointed with the bedrooms, however and pleased that you were happy with our location! Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had 6 wonderful nights with Kirsty and Mary. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Delightful touches in the bathroom - luxurious towels and very
nice toiletries. A delicious breakfast was served each morning in the welcoming sunny dining room. We thoroughly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiVFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much for leaving this feedback for us. I am pleased that you were comfortable during your stay. I hope you tried haggis again and enjoyed it just as much as you did the first time! We would be delighted to welcome you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were totally overwhelmed by this hotel. Kirstie, the owner, is very welcoming and friendly, the food is lovely, the views are jaw-droppinglyt spectacular and the whole house is spotlessly clean and tidy. Breakfast was freshly prepared, and lovely.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back - it overlooks Loch Lynnhe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 653AnnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It was a long day, after driving from the Isle of Skye and then riding the Jacobite train trip, we were so glad to finally reach the Cuilchenna House. We arrived after dark, so we were amazed in the morning to see the spectacular views from the house over Loch Linnhe. The hosts Kirstie and Mary were extremely nice, and fun to talk with after a fabulous breakfast. The room was clean, warm and comfortable. Kirstie gave us several tips on places to see on our drive to Glasgow.

Definitely a must stay place in the Fort Williams area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmike211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
7.1 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
509 reviews
7.8 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#5 of 111 in Fort William
549 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
9.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilcheanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing