We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
graham c
Pagham, United Kingdom
Amazing place to stay, fantastic views.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 May 2017
We stayed at this superb Guest House for just one night wish it had been more. Next time we will be sure to stay longer. The rooms are not massive but very good size for a couple. We had the Skye room , which had a lovely view. Very quite location and was great value.
Date of stay: May 2017
Room Tip: Try to get the SKYE room lovely view and very comfy bed, lovely people as well, great breakfast.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Site
£314
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
9.5 miles from Cuilcheanna House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
£130
    10.6 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    £245
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    8.5 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    7.8 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    8.6 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    8.5 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £315
    • Priceline
    8.9 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      £239
    • Travelodge
    9.0 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Tripadvisor
    £1,047
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    11.9 miles from Cuilcheanna House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Fort William
    Reviews (189)
    Filter reviews
    189 results
    Traveller rating
    137
    43
    6
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    137
    43
    6
    2
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 189 reviews
    Reviewed 1 May 2017

    We stayed here for a night on our way to Hadrian's Wall. We arrived at 2pm not aware that the check-in time was at 4pm. We then spend our time exploring other places of interest. We had a magficient view of the Castle Stalker whie enjoying a cup of Cappucino at Castle Stalker View Cafe. We also had a scenic drive to Oban where we had our dinner. The room was small but clean. Our room, Skye, has a lovely view of the loch. Water pressure of the shower was however low to our liking. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed our stay. Would recommend others to stay here.

    Room tip: Choose room on the 1st floor overlooking the loch.
    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank dvdsinmk071161
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 April 2017

    We stayed here for one night on the way up to Skye. The place is in a very peaceful location overlooking open water. The room was small but very clean and the bed linen was very sort and comfortable. There was no TV in the room, but there was access to a lounge with TV which was nice. The breakfast was very good and there was fresh flowers on the table which was nice. The owners were friendly and accommodating and would stay here again.

    Room tip: Our room had a view overlooking the water, so get this if available!
    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Philip E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 October 2016

    Like everyone else that uses TA, I check reviews and pictures, so I was sadly disappointed in this property. We arrived on a very stormy night, with high winds and driving rain. In my haste to get out of the weather and into the house I used the wrong door. I knew my mistake immediately since I was in a laundry room, but there was a door that led into the bandb, so I yelled out, hello.
    The two proprietors looked at us like we had just broken in with chain saws,.
    We announced that we were guests, but that really didn't change the icy treatment.
    We were then shown two closed doors, that's the living room, that's the breakfast room.
    We were shown to our cubicle , I mean bedroom. It was so Spartan , so uninviting, had we not driven 6 hours in a storm we would have left.
    The next morning the owner was much more pleasant, but my wife still received nothing but a stare from the other proprietor ( her mother)
    You read so many reviews about how great the breakfast was at this place, or that place, but if it's a bed and BREAKFAST! Wouldn't you expect a good breakfast?
    This was good, eggs bacon etc. the view is great, but people make a bed and breakfast the reason to go to one.
    Warm welcomes, a cuppa tea, cheerful conversation, we received none of this from either the owners or the uninviting, drab room.

    Date of stay: September 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank tuscany1943
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay; however I do feel that I must respond to your comments. I also feel it is appropriate to point out that although guests feel entitled to make personal comments about us, we are prevented from making personal comments about our guests if we wish to appear professional.

    It was indeed an uncharacteristically stormy night for the time of year, and you did indeed come into the house via the wrong door. However we did not hear you ‘yell’ hello, rather you simply walked into our kitchen and stared at us. I guess it wouldn’t have been such a jump of our imagination to assume you were guests, but we were shocked and surprised that you just seemed to materialise out of nowhere. However we refute your comment about the icy treatment: once we realized that you were indeed guests and hadn’t broken in with chain saws, I tried very hard to recover my composure and I showed you to your room. If your opinion is that your room was small and uninviting there is probably nothing that I can do to change that, so hey ho.

    But once in your room I did spend a great deal of time chatting to you both about your drive, the abnormal weather, recommending places to eat, and so on. I am unsure as to why you have classed this as icy treatment.

    The next morning my mother did say good morning to your wife as is her usual habit with guests when she sees them in the morning. Furthermore she recalls having a conversation with her before you left about your imminent journey to Skye. I think the fact that your wife – or you on her behalf – has chosen to forget this says more about you and her than it does about us.

    We too believe it is reasonable to assume that you will receive a good breakfast in a bed and BREAKFAST [sic], which is why we go out of our way to ensure that our guests receive a well cooked meal with a good choice of quality ingredients. Thank you for your recognition of this fact.

    In closing we often wish that we could choose the guests that come and stay in our home, but we will never be able to do so, so we will just have to continue accepting that we will not please all of the people all of time.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 October 2016

    The location of this B&B can't be beat. Beautiful views from our room windows. The room was very comfortable as was the bed. All the little extras that make a top notch B&B. Bathroom was a bit cramped -- but well appointed. The breakfasts were superb! Our hosts, a mother/daughter team, were friendly and helpful with suggestions and even making calls to try to make dinner reservations for us. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: September 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ChipK539
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

    Thank you for your kind comments, Chip! We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay in our home.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

    We usually use self catering, but for this trip we wanted to move around a bitmore, so B and B's were the go. Cuilcheanna House, right on the shore of Loch Linnhe, couldn't have given us a better start. It is a home with a grand history and Mary and Kirsty treated us in great sytle. The room (Iona) with ensuite had lovely Loch views - when the weather was kind! It was comfortably and tastefully furnished. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Great stay!

    Date of stay: September 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank MickB53
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    KirstieBlack, Owner at Cuilcheanna House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you back to Cuilcheanna House in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews