We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael and Mary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innseagan House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and i booked a 3 night break at the Portsonachan Hotel but as we had been there twice already we decided that we would and see if they had another hotel that we could try, we were advised that we could stay at Innseagan House Hotel in Fort William.

On arrival we had such lovely welcome from Frank and Alexandra, we were shown to our room which was lovely, very fresh with nice white bed covers, and towels, Team making facilities everything that we needed.

Although the Bar was not open Frank advised that we could bring our own drink and that this was not a problem.

We will definately be returning to the Hotel in the future as where else would you recieve such a friendly welcome from such a lovely couple.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

Frank is the hotel manager: He's committed and confident that everything will come right. He's a nice guy but there are a few things that need fixing - He's a Puerto-Rican engineer brought up in New York who's trying to run a hotel in Scotland. If enthusiasm counts then he'll turn it around but....
Breakfast was the most limited I've ever known: Corn flakes and French toast or sausage (or bacon) with mushrooms and toast. Small things like cleaning the cups in the room and providing a plug for the bath got over-looked.
I think that Frank was trying to cover everything himself, but he's not an experienced hotelier and it sometimes shows.
We were there from Friday and left on Monday. On Monday Frank's wife was around and the breakfast had a much more organised air - Hopefully things are on an up-ward trajectory.
I hope Frank will succeed.

Room Tip: We shared a family room and it had excellent views across the lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eesneverappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankiegee13, Manager at Innseagan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your candid review. The plug to the bathtub was in the overflow drain of the bathtub, I realize you could not find it, because I found it myself on your last day with us. As for the cups, it seems my housekeeper was not as experienced as she claimed, I have let her go. The breakfast menu actually consists of the following choices; either cold cereal or fresh fruit salad (which you did not want), French toast or scrambled eggs, and bacon or sausage. The menu is minimized in an effort to clear the kitchen as early as possible in order to prep for dinner, which you never had the privilege of enjoying. I am inexperienced as a hotelier, and am well aware of it. The fact that I am Puerto Rican raised in the Bronx, is of no relevance to the service or accommodation I provide, so why mention it? I am also conscious of the fact that I need more staff, unfortunately good help in the hotel industry is hard to find in Scotland. I am glad that my wife served you to your liking. I am trying and I will succeed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Someone needs to explain to the manager the meaning of customer relations! My husband and I had such an abysmal reception we walked out after five minutes of his ranting. We had made the booking after being given a special offer, [through the sister hotel in Portsonachan] several months before our planned visit. My husband checked the booking a few days before and was told there was no record so he then had to make several phone calls to sort this out. When we arrived at the hotel, after a long drive, we were at first ignored then given a tirade about all the problems he’d had connected with these special offers. We at first sympathized with him but as he continued we pointed out that this was not the way to greet guests. He then asked how we felt he should be behaving so we made some very polite suggestions and I said I would step out so he could re-group and we could start again. No such luck it was ‘Groundhog Day’ all over again! So, in spite of having paid for three nights in advance, we left. We found a lovely B & B [Westcourt] closer to the town centre and with a charming and very helpful proprietor.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Nidz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankiegee13, Manager at Innseagan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Well sir I'm sorry you feel this way. I asked for your Voucher and you proceeded to recite a number off the top of your head. I asked for a Confirmation Letter, and you said you had none. I then asked you to please fill out a registration form, which I was trying to print out for you, and you stated you just "wanted to go to your room". The fire code states that all of my guests are accounted for, and your registration form was the only way I had of doing so. I'm very happy that you were able to find alternate accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We chose this hotel due to a kgb deal. We stayed there for 2 nights. I had my reservations about the hotel when I found out that they do not do dinners. In my opinion they should not call themselves a hotel but a B&B. Upon arrival we met the owners, (husband and wife team Frank and Alexandra) who seemed pleasant enough at first. We were told that our room was not ready and had to wait about an hour and a half. We could not have a drink in the bar because they were awaiting their drinks licence. Whilst waiting we wanted to watch the FA cup final, only to be told they do not have sky.
When we eventually got into our room, it looked comfortable but found the old grouting and moulded bath seal was not very enticing to have a bath.
Breakfast the following morning was an experience, there is only a one hour window in which to have breakfast, so if you missed it, tough luck according to Frank. One is not given a choice for breakfast, only offered scrambled eggs and bacon. I had to ask for a sausage which I got begrudgingly, cant imagine what would have happend if I dare asked for beans.
The following morning what we experience could have spoilt our whole weekend. Along with several others, we got a bang on the door informing us that the kitchen was closing in 20 minutes and would not get breakfast if we were not down pronto. The scramble egg and bacon was placed in front of us and the coffee was stone cold. When we complained Frank informed us that it has been sitting there a while. He did not offer to replace it. He just stormed back into the kitchen and blurred out Puerto Rican music. He then proceeded to complain to one of the staff, about his wife joining these deals to get customers staying at the hotel which he disagreed with and needed money. We could not wait to get out of there. We said goodbye to Frank upon departure to which we got no response.
I have to say that Alexandra (the wife) is a very nice lady and try very hard to accommodate but her husband is a very unpleasant man. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lil66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankiegee13, Manager at Innseagan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Under Scottish Law, Smoking is prohibited in Hotel Rooms. My Housekeeper pointed out evidence that Someone in your party had been smoking in one of my freshly decorated bathrooms. Your wait was only 15 minutes an, and you were provided with a free coffee service while you waited. As for the bar. Unfortunately the process of licensing a premise takes time. I did not feel it was economically feaseable to pay for Sky if the Bar area was not in use.You were BLACK LISTED before you checked out an hour and a half late. I want to thank you for your candid post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had decided to head up north for a couple of days, talk about landing on our feet what a beautifull place and amazing price. This B and B used to be a five star hotel, As the decor feel and quality shows throughout. our room and on suite bathroom were spotless bed linen was so soft and comfortable. Not to mention the food and hospitality. Frank and his wife Alex(managers) were wonderful it was a pleasure to be a guest. On our last night we were going to head into Fort William for something to eat. I`m so glad we didn`t as Frank is an excellent chef and clearly very passionate about food. You`ll get a great evening meal in a dining room with a view to die for with Frank and Alex strongly recommend. What a great place will be back.

Room Tip: Try and book a room at the front of the hotel so you are waking up to that amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I visited this hotel recently and was really impressed with the level of service I received. I arrived late due to the drive, and a 2 year old, but the manager and his wife were happy to help and we checked in, feeling welcomed.

When we saw the room we were impressed the bed had fresh linen that really did smell brand new, they also put an extra Z Bed in for the little one. The décor was fresh clean, smelt really new and the view from my room was outstanding, it looked right onto the loch and the surrounding mountains.

After a good night sleep I felt well rested and again was amazed by the view. Breakfast wan't the usual, a nice change from the cooked Scottish Breakfast. They offered a lovely fresh fruit salad, cereal. This was just to start they also offered either French toast (or scrambled egg) which I loved, it had maple syrup and cooked to perfection, was definitely ready for the day ahead.

I wasn't sure of the area and again the Manager and his wife were to the rescue, with interesting activities that would be great to keep my daughter amused. We visited the sea life centre and the Nevis Range, which is a must if you visit Fort William.

We decided to have dinner at the hotel which was a great price also and we received a huge steak that again was good too perfection, we had nice home made chips with a Spanish sauce, which was lovely and nice to try. The staff helped cater for the fussy eater my daughter and as she wasn't well her appetite wasn't the best, but she even said it was nice, and they cooked something especially for her.

My overall experience with this Fort William Hotel was extremely positive and I couldn't fault the hotel in anyway. The staff were always willing to help, the food was awesome, and the room was decorated to a high standard. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Fort William.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Found this place just by chance on google maps,and Im glad I did !,It was perfect from moment we stepped through the door,I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife in the family room ,which had a very comfortable ,well presented double and single bed in it ! it had a ensuite bathroom which was spotless ! extremely clean .then came breakfast ,so much choice ,Frank and George was so accomadating ,even got up early on our last day so we could leave early.A quality place with quality service for a quality price something you don't get very often .Well Recomended !!!! so stop looking and book here ! and also on the loch which is a 1 minute walk down the road are plently of restuarnts and can I say 'The Kitchen' is one of the best restuants Ive been to too,Quality all round !!!

Room Tip: Room 10 so amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,032 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,084 reviews
1 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innseagan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innseagan House Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innseagan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Innseagan House Hotel features breathtaking views, free WiFi in all areas. A relaxed family atmosphere welcomes you to make us your refuge from the grind of everyday life. Located on the shores of Loch Linnhe, in "The Outdoor Capital of The U.K." There is plenty to do during the day. Your pets are welcome to come along and enjoy Ft. William with you, for a small fee if you please. Group excursions are welcome. The lounge offers a roomy yet cosy room with an open fireplace to just relax, log onto the free WiFi, or read a book. During the winter months or rainy days, this room is the place to go and sit in front of a roaring fire. All rooms at The Innseagan House Hotel are freshly decorated and en-suite. The rooms overlooking the Loch offer one of the most picturesque views from a hotel room in Fort William. The rooms to the rear of the building offer a "sleep in" cosiness that makes you want to sleep all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Innseagan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innseagan House Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing