We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was ok, but we won't be goi ng back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Innseagan House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Was ok, but we won't be goi ng back”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had a lovely view of the loch.Room was ok, but carpet had not been hoovered. A bit outdated, furniture looked 'tired' and in need of a refurb. In fact the whole hotel could do with one. We asked if evening meals were served to be told that the chef had phoned in sick so we'd have to go into town for something to eat. There was a good choice for breakfast, although my breakfast was just about warm enough to eat. It would have been better if I had been allowed (on both days) to be able to sit down before being asked what I'd like for breakfast. The staff were very helpful (especially the young lad), however, a uniform with name badges would be nice so staff could be distinguished from guests. Our room wasn't serviced and we had to ask for toilet rolls to be replaced.
On a more positive note, the hotel is dog friendly and the two dogs are lovely and really friendly

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    67
    33
    31
    69
See reviews for
40
103
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Room was okay, View was out standing. We had a really nice afternoon tea when we arrived, which was good as we had to wait to be shown to our room after a 6 hour journey.

Breakfast was lovely, very well provided. Though we did notice a difference, when they were short staff, breakfast was a little hetic!

They have two lovely dogs to entertain, so if you don't like dogs this isnt for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Owner at Innseagan House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your free of charge afternoon tea, As you had purchased an offer which relates to £17.50 per person B&B per night with afternoon tea I think that this is very good value. The local hostel in Fort william charges £20 per head in a dorm and no breakfast. I am very sorry that you think that this is poor value and hope you find somewhere with better value.My dogs are only allowed at reception area and do not see how this could be a fault. We advertise as a dog friendly hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is situated in such a lovely part of the country, with a lovely view of the Loch. All the reasons why when scrolling the internet this hotel stood out. What a shame about the owners attitude. We had travelled a few hrs and were looking forward to a few days relaxing break away. On arrival we were impressed with one where the hotel was situated and two how it looked from the outside, however, on entering the premises we were absolutely disgusted by the owners attitude and brisk manner. I do have to say the young women behind the desk was lovely and tried to be as helpful as possible (shame that her boss is Alexandra). On taking our money, it was only then that there seemed to be a problem with room allocation, and showing Alexandra a copy of the confirmation email she had sent me seemed to annoy her even more. When it was finally sorted we were briskly and abruptly shown to our room (no apologise for making us wait etc). On entering our room the beds had not been made up, which considering check in at 3.30pm and this was around 4pm seems a little odd (and since they said they had been fully booked !!!) again Alexandra was extremely abrupt telling us to wait down stairs. For us this was the final straw, and we decided that although the hotel is nice, reasonably priced and a lovely location, the owners manners were the worst I think I have ever come across in the HOSPITALITY business. We got our money back, with no apology or anything. I will not be back EVER. We did find somewhere else lovely to stay and had a great weekend. It was interesting to note that on discussing our negative experience, people in Fort William were not surprised !!! It doesnt take much to offer YOUR Paying customers a nice welcome !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maverick32149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Guisborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2013 for three nights. The staff worked hard to ensure that nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fine and could be served at a time to suit you with plenty of choice. The room had beautiful views as the hotel is on the side of the Loch. A new bath had just been fitted and the room was clean and comfortable. We did have the usual complimentary toiletries,. The receptionist was cheerful and kind with ideas for local ideas for visits and offered to check on railway times for us. The lounge was comfortable with a real fire and comfy chairs. The owner and all staff were very friendly and helpful and worked very hard to ensure you got want you wanted. Check the prices for this hotel as they were very good value. The evening meals were good and filling and we had a very enjoyable stay. We will be back. Lana and Ian

Room Tip: Loch views are worth waking up to every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of April. My father in law had a room adjacent to ours with his pet Jack Russell. Both of our rooms overlooked Loch Linnhe. The views are spectacular. The hotel is beautifully situated on the shore of Loch Linnhe about 1 mile south of fort William. On our arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and were served complimentary tea and chocolate cake in the lounge. The owner made us and the Jack Russell very welcome in the lounge. The lounge room is very relaxing with comfy chairs, sofas, log fire and large flat screen TV - nothing was too much trouble. We were given the remote control so that we could watch whatever we wanted. The hotel were having problems with the hot water (it was coming out of cold tap too) but we were given a large jug of cold water whilst they were addressing the problem. The bathroom could do with updating and there were no complimentary toiletries - so make sure you bring your own. Our room was a good size and very clean. We stayed two nights and I must say breakfast was lovely. It was cooked to order and we were asked how we would like our eggs cooked and whether we would like brown or white toast. My fried eggs were cooked to perfection. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening as we were out sightseeing but were offered an evening meal if we wished.. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly and there are two lovely dogs running around who are very approachable and friendly. Ideal if you want somewhere to stay with your dog. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch View room. This is a dog friendly hotel. If you do not like dogs then perhaps this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreaming Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Not sure I was in the same hotel looking at some previous reviews. The level of service offered by all the staff was exceptional in ensuring you are have what you want. Couple of quick points, the breakfast is very good, you indeed have a choice of toast. The evening meal was also very good with the sweet (apple crumble and custard) yes I know that sounds very average but OMG it was genuinely the best I have tasted. Bed comfy, room tidy, lovely lounge with real fires and a bar open until we went to bed which on some nights was late. ohhh and a bottle of excellant red wine for under £12. For the price this is very good value for money and with an afternoon tea thrown in which matches some of the best we have had you really do have to be picky to find fault. We will be back and would recommend to anyone for a stay. Additional info :- we stayed for 3 nights got a taxi in and out to Fort William with no issues albeit could walk it if wanted to but after some brilliant hiking around the fells just wanted a quick and lazy way in. Town has plenty of bars and restaurants but nothing topped the apple crumble.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryandSueWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

this hotel has a lovely outlook onto the loch, short walk into Fort William, the hotel looks tired and needs updating. We had a family room although booked two rooms and had an email to confirm 2 rooms booked. found ourselves in a room with 2 teenagers in bunk beds, bed side table meant impossible to use the bunk bed ladder. An e/mail to change our arrangements would have been appreciated. The room needed updating a very rusty radiator in the bathroom and the bathroom sealant needed replacing. the bathroom needed some TLC.
Having stayed at this hotel before we were greatly disappointed at how tired it now looked. We stayed here after staying at its sister hotel the Portsanachon every year for the last 5 years, We shall not be returning to the Innseagan.
we felt that the hotel was very under staffed, that the staff worked hard but hearing the manager arguing with workmen over an unpaid bill is not how i want to be met on my way downstairs on a morning.
It seems this hotel is missing a way to make money by not providing evening meals

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Owner at Innseagan House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your review. To clarify your comments, You had purchased a voucher from Portsonachan, valid for 2 adults. You initially requested a family room. We did not however have one when you booked. I did advise that it would have to be 2 rooms, However a family room became vacant and I put yourselves and your family into this. Your teenagers were here free of charge and with full breakfast.
My "argument" over an unpaid bill, was a discussion on work done the day before and a clarification of this work.
We did and do have evening meals. many people do not enquire and go to the town which is 1 mile from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#17 of 21 in Fort William
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innseagan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innseagan House Hotel

Property: Innseagan House Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innseagan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Innseagan House Hotel features breathtaking views, free WiFi in all areas. A relaxed family atmosphere welcomes you to make us your refuge from the grind of everyday life. Located on the shores of Loch Linnhe, in "The Outdoor Capital of The U.K." There is plenty to do during the day. Your pets are welcome to come along and enjoy Ft. William with you, for a small fee if you please. Group excursions are welcome. The lounge offers a roomy yet cosy room with an open fireplace to just relax, log onto the free WiFi, or read a book. During the winter months or rainy days, this room is the place to go and sit in front of a roaring fire. All rooms at The Innseagan House Hotel are freshly decorated and en-suite. The rooms overlooking the Loch offer one of the most picturesque views from a hotel room in Fort William. The rooms to the rear of the building offer a "sleep in" cosiness that makes you want to sleep all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Innseagan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innseagan House Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing