We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Stay in September” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innseagan House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innseagan House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay in September”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just had a very good weekend stay in this hotel. Me and a friend shared a twin room for two nights. The room was spotless and the facilities included tea/coffee making, a flat screen television and en-suite bathroom with shower. There was plenty of space and a roomy wardrobe that held all our substantial walking equipment.
Overall, the hotel is very clean and in many ways charming: the bar has a wonderful view onto Loch Linnhie, as does the lounge which is furnished with very comfortable leather chairs.You can sit and enjoy the view with a drink or an enjoyable afternoon tea or coffee. The dining room is large, again with the view. Plenty of parking space available. A fifteen minute walk to the town centre has stunning views across the loch.
The.breakfast selection is excellent and very good. Good choice of evening meals, using local suppliers, at reasonable prices. The steak pie is well worth a try.
The staff are friendly and very helpful, but perhaps as important, enthusiastic. The hotel welcomes dogs, which in this reviewers opinion is a positive.
This hotel is one I'll use again when next in the area.

Room Tip: Pay extra for loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    64
    33
    31
    68
See reviews for
39
102
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The 3 star rating is self-assessed. Rooms at the back of the hotel small and in need of complete refurb. Only plus side is that the windows are double-glazed and look reasonably new .They are however still mouldy in the corners. Bathroom looked quite clean apart from the disgusting mouldy shower head and mould around the mastic on bath. Bath mat stained. Wallpaper coming away from wall around window. Cushions on bed would have looked nice when new but were stained. No headboard on bed or pillow protectors on pillows. Very thin quilt cover and pillowcases. Cover had yellow stains on underside due apparently to dye from green appliqué flower on front. Carpet stained. Cracked electrical sockets. Dirty skirting boards. Very strange musty smells in rooms and corridor. Definitely not 3star accommodation. Not a welcoming place at all although the views from the bar are beautiful. This Hotel is in need of general refurbishment and a good deep clean. This could be such a lovely place but obviously needs money spending. Think the Hotel Inspector Alice Polizzi would have a ball with this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cat1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Owner at Innseagan House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
The carpet in this room had been changed before you put this vicious review. New curtains were put in 3 weeks ago. You did get a poly cotton duvet, few are used. I invite you, after November, free of charge for 1 night whoever you are, to then put a new review, I am powerless to say what you might write. But I have put every penny after costs back into this hotel for 1 year. and will continue. I am a small new business and have changed many things and bookings way up. I'm sure Alex Polizzi would admire me for bringing the hotel back to life and we are closing for 2 weeks to completely redecorated, new heaters, new carpets etc in November. It is hard to run a small business in this country but vicious reviews like your has made it harder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

mumoffivekids
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My stay was wonderful. The staff were so lovely friendly and helpful. The chef got up early to make breakfast for us and cooked amazing local produce food and very reasonable prices.
The lounge and bar have a cosy homely feel where I sat relaxed enjoying the views out the window.
There was no job too big for the staff and I actually didn't want to leave as I felt so relaxed and comfortable.
All the staff were amazing and helpful. Alexandra the owner was on reception and was so helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and she pointed us in the direction of some breathtaking walks and drives.
I could not find any fault with the hotel. The bedroom overlooked the loch and had amazing views. The bed was really comfy.
If you are looking for a cosy friendly welcoming hotel where you will feel at home and where staff are so helpful you feel spoilt rotten then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumoffivekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I am perplexed by the previous reviews and comments about the owner of the hotel.
I found her and the family most welcoming and accommodating, very friendly and helpful and couldn't have asked for a better stay.
After a nine hour journey from Liverpool ahead of our 3 Peaks challenge, we were welcomed by the owner's Son who couldn't be more helpful. After a long sleep in a comfortable twin room, breakfast was lovely and we were welcomed to spend our spare few hours before the ascent of Ben Nevis sitting in the living room where we were served coffee, cake and biscuits.
Really cannot fault the hotel and staff, and will definitely return to Fort William and stay here again.
Great job guys, and thank you x
Now for the difficult job of climbing 3 peaks in 24 hours!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_clegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed for one night on business in Fort William. Warm welcome, nice room but could have done with a really good airing. The evening meal was ok but can't fault the service. Room had a lovely view over the water and the lounge area was extremely comfortable. Wi-Fi was a bit hit or a miss but better than mobile reception. Very accommodating with an early breakfast served on request.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Realgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. This hotel has stunning views. The receptionist and staff really helpful and courteous a credit to the hotel. I must however pass comment on the manageress who was at times rude and difficult to approach. The smallest request i.e. an early breakfast was met with contempt and reluctance! On leaving we could find no one around so had to wake a member of staff to pay a bill. Looking through the reviews the manageress responds only to negativity and appears offended by any feedback! There are some positive things about your hotel and it is beautiful. I am sorry if You may have been having a bad few days but do try to separate this for the sake of your guests.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

thoroughly enjoyed my 2 days at innseagan house hotel it is the most relaxing accomadation that my partner and i have stayed in i would highly recommend inseagan house hotel for there hospitality and friendly staff.... food was excellent, accommodation was excellent, room with a view of the loch what more can you ask for, sitting out in the garden with a dram watching the sun going down this is the place to be, a big thank you to alexandra and her staff for a fantastic time, see you soon

Room Tip: ask for a room that over looks the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 542davidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innseagan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innseagan House Hotel

Property: Innseagan House Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innseagan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Innseagan House Hotel features breathtaking views, free WiFi in all areas. A relaxed family atmosphere welcomes you to make us your refuge from the grind of everyday life. Located on the shores of Loch Linnhe, in "The Outdoor Capital of The U.K." There is plenty to do during the day. Your pets are welcome to come along and enjoy Ft. William with you, for a small fee if you please. Group excursions are welcome. The lounge offers a roomy yet cosy room with an open fireplace to just relax, log onto the free WiFi, or read a book. During the winter months or rainy days, this room is the place to go and sit in front of a roaring fire. All rooms at The Innseagan House Hotel are freshly decorated and en-suite. The rooms overlooking the Loch offer one of the most picturesque views from a hotel room in Fort William. The rooms to the rear of the building offer a "sleep in" cosiness that makes you want to sleep all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Innseagan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innseagan House Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing