We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame the outside view is not matched by the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innseagan House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for one night in September and would not stay again. This hotel has lovely views to the front of the property from the bar. But nothing from the room I was allocated. On first seeing the room I was very tempted to walk out and find somewhere else to stay. The only thing that stopped me was the fact I had already paid the full amount. The room was in need of a lot of TLC, very dated and shabby looking. The bed had no headboard, no pillow protectors, the carpet was stained. I did not unpack anything as I did not feel the room was clean enough to put things down anywhere. the price for the standard of room in my opinion is too high. Would not recommend this hotel in its present condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicola48186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

In all my years and travel I've never experienced such rude and inappropriate behaviour as my sister and I received from the owner of this hotel. We reserved a twin room for one night. Upon arrival we were shown to a stifling, overheated room with a small double bed, views were, well a bush! I heard a noise coming from the bathroom and as I am a light sleeping I expressed my concern to the receptionist, she assured me it was because it was "shower time" and during the night it would be quiet. The lovely receptionist Shelia told us she would separate the beds, so we decided to walk the 1.2 miles to the town. 40 minutes later we got there!

When we returned to the hotel the noise in the room was still there. I voiced my concern and the owner told me that particular room wasn't a great room anyway as it was adjacent to the boiler, therefore she would move us. As I was moving my case my sister asked the owner if she could look at the room, the owner then very rudely told her if she didn't like the room she could leave, there were lots of bed and breakfasts around! When my sister said it wasn't the room, it was the noise, the owner then informed her, not in a nice and friendly manner, what did she expect, it was a hotel and hotels were noisy! She then turned her back on my sister and marched off. I was appalled, my sister was upset and so taken aback she was at a loss for words. I immediately asked to speak to the owner who refused to show her face. We informed the receptionist we would not stay another minute in the hotel and wanted our money refunded. At 9pm we had to order a taxi and find another place to stay. Thank goodness we did, a beautiful, friendly, spacious, QUIET bed and breakfast 300 meters from the town. I will be writing an excellent review on this B&B! Such a shame our trip, which we were taking in memory of our late mum, was spoiled by this horrible experience. My sister and I are nice, decent, honest ladies who do not like causing a fuss. The owner may decide to defend herself and say we were problem guests, I can assure you, this is a polite, honest, true version of what really happened. Thank you for asking the time to read this review.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank grayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were received very well and Alexandra the lady who runs the hotel was very accommodating.
We were given the room we had asked for and had a lovely time. Staying in this part of the world was really very enjoyable and we went on the West Highland railway to Mallaig. Amazing views from the train. It was a pity that it was raining in Mallaig but it was still very beautiful and we saw the ferry that goes to the Isle of Sky.

Room Tip: The room with the view over Loch Linhe is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ien714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just had a very good weekend stay in this hotel. Me and a friend shared a twin room for two nights. The room was spotless and the facilities included tea/coffee making, a flat screen television and en-suite bathroom with shower. There was plenty of space and a roomy wardrobe that held all our substantial walking equipment.
Overall, the hotel is very clean and in many ways charming: the bar has a wonderful view onto Loch Linnhie, as does the lounge which is furnished with very comfortable leather chairs.You can sit and enjoy the view with a drink or an enjoyable afternoon tea or coffee. The dining room is large, again with the view. Plenty of parking space available. A fifteen minute walk to the town centre has stunning views across the loch.
The.breakfast selection is excellent and very good. Good choice of evening meals, using local suppliers, at reasonable prices. The steak pie is well worth a try.
The staff are friendly and very helpful, but perhaps as important, enthusiastic. The hotel welcomes dogs, which in this reviewers opinion is a positive.
This hotel is one I'll use again when next in the area.

Room Tip: Pay extra for loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The 3 star rating is self-assessed. Rooms at the back of the hotel small and in need of complete refurb. Only plus side is that the windows are double-glazed and look reasonably new .They are however still mouldy in the corners. Bathroom looked quite clean apart from the disgusting mouldy shower head and mould around the mastic on bath. Bath mat stained. Wallpaper coming away from wall around window. Cushions on bed would have looked nice when new but were stained. No headboard on bed or pillow protectors on pillows. Very thin quilt cover and pillowcases. Cover had yellow stains on underside due apparently to dye from green appliqué flower on front. Carpet stained. Cracked electrical sockets. Dirty skirting boards. Very strange musty smells in rooms and corridor. Definitely not 3star accommodation. Not a welcoming place at all although the views from the bar are beautiful. This Hotel is in need of general refurbishment and a good deep clean. This could be such a lovely place but obviously needs money spending. Think the Hotel Inspector Alice Polizzi would have a ball with this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cat1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Owner at Innseagan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

The carpet in this room had been changed before you put this vicious review. New curtains were put in 3 weeks ago. You did get a poly cotton duvet, few are used. I invite you, after November, free of charge for 1 night whoever you are, to then put a new review, I am powerless to say what you might write. But I have put every penny after costs back into this hotel for 1 year. and will continue. I am a small new business and have changed many things and bookings way up. I'm sure Alex Polizzi would admire me for bringing the hotel back to life and we are closing for 2 weeks to completely redecorated, new heaters, new carpets etc in November. It is hard to run a small business in this country but vicious reviews like your has made it harder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My stay was wonderful. The staff were so lovely friendly and helpful. The chef got up early to make breakfast for us and cooked amazing local produce food and very reasonable prices.
The lounge and bar have a cosy homely feel where I sat relaxed enjoying the views out the window.
There was no job too big for the staff and I actually didn't want to leave as I felt so relaxed and comfortable.
All the staff were amazing and helpful. Alexandra the owner was on reception and was so helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and she pointed us in the direction of some breathtaking walks and drives.
I could not find any fault with the hotel. The bedroom overlooked the loch and had amazing views. The bed was really comfy.
If you are looking for a cosy friendly welcoming hotel where you will feel at home and where staff are so helpful you feel spoilt rotten then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumoffivekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I am perplexed by the previous reviews and comments about the owner of the hotel.
I found her and the family most welcoming and accommodating, very friendly and helpful and couldn't have asked for a better stay.
After a nine hour journey from Liverpool ahead of our 3 Peaks challenge, we were welcomed by the owner's Son who couldn't be more helpful. After a long sleep in a comfortable twin room, breakfast was lovely and we were welcomed to spend our spare few hours before the ascent of Ben Nevis sitting in the living room where we were served coffee, cake and biscuits.
Really cannot fault the hotel and staff, and will definitely return to Fort William and stay here again.
Great job guys, and thank you x
Now for the difficult job of climbing 3 peaks in 24 hours!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally_clegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
8.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innseagan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innseagan House Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £37 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innseagan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Innseagan House Hotel features breathtaking views, free WiFi in all areas. A relaxed family atmosphere welcomes you to make us your refuge from the grind of everyday life. Located on the shores of Loch Linnhe, in "The Outdoor Capital of The U.K." There is plenty to do during the day. Your pets are welcome to come along and enjoy Ft. William with you, for a small fee if you please. Group excursions are welcome. The lounge offers a roomy yet cosy room with an open fireplace to just relax, log onto the free WiFi, or read a book. During the winter months or rainy days, this room is the place to go and sit in front of a roaring fire. All rooms at The Innseagan House Hotel are freshly decorated and en-suite. The rooms overlooking the Loch offer one of the most picturesque views from a hotel room in Fort William. The rooms to the rear of the building offer a "sleep in" cosiness that makes you want to sleep all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Innseagan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innseagan House Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing