We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Camping with breathtaking views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Glen Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Glen Yurts
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury Camping with breathtaking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Great Glen Yurts was an amazing experience. We were greeted by the friendly owner when we arrived who told us where everything was. The Yurt site offers everything you need for a relaxing break. The views from the site of Ben Nevis are awesome and the stars are really, really bright at night too making it a beautiful place both day and night. The Yurts themselves are really something - we stayed in the Eagle Yurt, the orange one which looks right up to Ben Nevis. The Yurt was fully furnished with a double bed - with two duvest covers and a spare one in a basket, we took a sleeping bag just in case it was cold but there was enough there. There was also a bunk bed and a single futon bed so it can sleep 5. There was also two very comfy poang style chairs for lounging in front of the wood burning stove. Also a selection of free teas and some tasty homemade short bread. We bought some logs for the fire at a garage nearby but once we arrived we discovered we didn't need them - logs and kindling were provided in the yurt as well as a fully loaded log shed right next to our Yurt. We collected lots of extra kindling from the woods across the river behind the Yurt. The Yurt was toasty and warm with the fire!Lovely walks around the Yurt site with nice views. The campers kitchen was the best I have seen - everything you need; pots, pans, plates, cups, coffee pots, utensils, extra free candles, lots of tables and chairs plus a nice chimnea to light up while you cook your dinner al fresco and eat outside. There was also a big gas stove, electric kettle - perfect for filling up your flask for the yurt - and an electric toaster. In addition there was two bathrooms both with a toliet and shower, also a plug for drying your hair - defo needed at this time of year. We had a lovely relaxing time for our anniversary without our two toddlers :-) This is defo a good place to go either as a couple or with the kids. We will defo return hopefully in the summer with the kids. Yurts are an excellent alternative accomodation with a touch of luxury.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Eagle Yurt - looking up to Ben Nevis and close to the wood shed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Highly recommended, the view you have of the Nevis range from the front door of the yurt is incredible! They are surprisingly warm and the stoves work wonders, the facilities provide everything you need. Beats any bed and breakfast you'll find elsewhere in the area and provides a new and refreshing alternative to the usual weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 563andrewb563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just spent the weekend at great glen yurts. Excellent place to stay amazing views and atmosphere. I have stayed at many wig wams and camping sites etc but nothing beats these. The kitchen dining room area is also excellent and the fire pit keeps you warm in to the wee hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

What an amazing place! We had the benefit of stunning weather in June, but there's so much character even rain wouldn't ruin this beautiful setting. The communal kitchen facilities were super and we got to meet other visitors and chat while drinking tea and wine!! The views are stunning and it's a great base for travelers and climbers alike. The accommodation is so unique, the log burner toastie and the beds are snuggly. I can't recommend this highly enough, even the loos and showers are fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My self and a special friend from the USA had a Magical time up in Fort William the Yurt was fantastic.
it got cold on a night but the log burners in the Yurts soon kick in and you become roastie toastie.
the facilities were good and a friendly ECO setting if you want to connect with nature and get away from it all this is a place to go.
will be returning either early or late Summer 2013

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Fantastic rural location looking onto ben nevis. The yurts themselves are complete back to basics camping with a little wooden stove. In the communal areas there are plenty of utensils to use and cooking facilities are excellent as are toilet and washing facilities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maverick_saf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I'm not a fan of camping, but these fabulous yurts could almost convert me.

Sleeping in a proper double bed, with a wood stove and a solid floor makes camping feel luxurious. The communal cooking area has been newly erected and contains a cooker, electric socket, toaster and kettles. It has a small fridge, bit could do with a bigger one, which the old cooking area seems to have had.

The shower rooms are fine, but there are only 2 (on a site that could hold up to 23 people, if the yurts are all fullied to capacity) and when they are in use you cannot then use the flushing toilets. There are also 2 dry compost toilets available.

The limited facilities are the only thing that prevent me giving this unique campsite an additional star!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Nevis range from your yurt (when the door is open), choose Eagle, Otter or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnem41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
0.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
5.1 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.1 mi away
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
Linnhe Lochside Holidays
#6 of 30 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.3 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Glen Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Glen Yurts

Property: Great Glen Yurts
Address: Fort William PH33 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Great Glen Yurts Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing