We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing place in Scotland”
Review of Great Glen Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Glen Yurts
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Most amazing place in Scotland”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Friends and I booked these yurts from ym 30th birthday and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The yurts was beautifully decorated, warm and invited, clean and comfortable. The kitchen area was well equipped and a great place to hang out and the showers were the envy of all - better than any of the ones we had at home. They even have a dry composting toilet which we all greatly admired. Super easy access to Fort William and great iconic Scottish places, like Ben Nevis and the Glen Nevis. We're all already thinking about when we're going to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just returned from a weekend with three other families and can't rate the stay at Great Glen Yurts highly enough. We took over all the yurts and therefore had the place to ourselves and would definitely recommend it for a group of people wanting to have a fun weekend. We were celebrating a 40th birthday and the owners even turned up with a cake shortly after we arrived. The yurts themselves are very comfortable and the log burners keep them very warm. Our children (7 of them, mainly teenagers) disappeared for hours at a time into the woods behind the camp and had a ball. We are already talking about when the next trip can be.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rea15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Really cosy and beautifully finished yurts, lots of thought gone into every last detail. Amazing view of ben nevis! Pretty walks nearby. Thoroughly recommend it. Communal kitchen in the middle which is a bit chilly but well equipt.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Great Glen Yurts was an amazing experience. We were greeted by the friendly owner when we arrived who told us where everything was. The Yurt site offers everything you need for a relaxing break. The views from the site of Ben Nevis are awesome and the stars are really, really bright at night too making it a beautiful place both day and night. The Yurts themselves are really something - we stayed in the Eagle Yurt, the orange one which looks right up to Ben Nevis. The Yurt was fully furnished with a double bed - with two duvest covers and a spare one in a basket, we took a sleeping bag just in case it was cold but there was enough there. There was also a bunk bed and a single futon bed so it can sleep 5. There was also two very comfy poang style chairs for lounging in front of the wood burning stove. Also a selection of free teas and some tasty homemade short bread. We bought some logs for the fire at a garage nearby but once we arrived we discovered we didn't need them - logs and kindling were provided in the yurt as well as a fully loaded log shed right next to our Yurt. We collected lots of extra kindling from the woods across the river behind the Yurt. The Yurt was toasty and warm with the fire!Lovely walks around the Yurt site with nice views. The campers kitchen was the best I have seen - everything you need; pots, pans, plates, cups, coffee pots, utensils, extra free candles, lots of tables and chairs plus a nice chimnea to light up while you cook your dinner al fresco and eat outside. There was also a big gas stove, electric kettle - perfect for filling up your flask for the yurt - and an electric toaster. In addition there was two bathrooms both with a toliet and shower, also a plug for drying your hair - defo needed at this time of year. We had a lovely relaxing time for our anniversary without our two toddlers :-) This is defo a good place to go either as a couple or with the kids. We will defo return hopefully in the summer with the kids. Yurts are an excellent alternative accomodation with a touch of luxury.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Eagle Yurt - looking up to Ben Nevis and close to the wood shed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Highly recommended, the view you have of the Nevis range from the front door of the yurt is incredible! They are surprisingly warm and the stoves work wonders, the facilities provide everything you need. Beats any bed and breakfast you'll find elsewhere in the area and provides a new and refreshing alternative to the usual weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 563andrewb563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just spent the weekend at great glen yurts. Excellent place to stay amazing views and atmosphere. I have stayed at many wig wams and camping sites etc but nothing beats these. The kitchen dining room area is also excellent and the fire pit keeps you warm in to the wee hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

What an amazing place! We had the benefit of stunning weather in June, but there's so much character even rain wouldn't ruin this beautiful setting. The communal kitchen facilities were super and we got to meet other visitors and chat while drinking tea and wine!! The views are stunning and it's a great base for travelers and climbers alike. The accommodation is so unique, the log burner toastie and the beds are snuggly. I can't recommend this highly enough, even the loos and showers are fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
12.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#17 of 21 in Fort William
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Glen Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Glen Yurts

Property: Great Glen Yurts
Address: Fort William PH33 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Great Glen Yurts Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing