We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Great Glen Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Glen Yurts
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June with a toddler. The trust were lovely and the communal kitchen and dining area a nice social place.
With only 3 yurts and a hut the place was very peaceful and the view absolutely amazing. Lovely and warm too. We lit the fine on the first night and had to leave the door open to cool down (mom hardship with that view). The kitchen was well equipped for a camping kitchen and the showers hot and basic. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the "Otter" for 2 nights with our 2 children. When you open the door to your Yurt you can't help but say "wow". They are amazing inside with beds and a couch to relax on. The girls loved the bunk beds and all the space outside to explore. The kitchen area is perfect to prepare food and it's clean and tidy as are the toilets and shower rooms. We will definatley be back for another stay.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Apebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in the Eagle yurt for 2 nights with my husband,9 year daughter and my friend with her dog! This was a fantastic base for doing the Caledonian Challenge. Cosy,warm bed and great toilet and shower facilities! Kitchen area had everything needed for cooking up a great meal , then lounge area to relax in. We all had a great time and intend returning with my friends husband and hopefully more dogs!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This place is just amazing! Visited in May and it was wet and chilly but the Yurts were so unbelievably cozy and it's very romantic sitting in with the hot stove lit. Having breakfast in the rustic kitchen (with everything you need provided) whilst looking at Ben Nevis was just second to none. Big fire pit in the middle of the field which we got use on the last night and cooked our bbq on it. Showers are hot and clean. Take a torch and wellies with you though. We'll definitely be back!x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina_wilkinson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights over the 2014 May Bank holiday weekend in the Shepherds Hut. It is the most perfectly formed wee place I have ever stayed - a very comfortable bed and a wood burning stove that was easy to light and kept us very warm. Perfect uninterrupted views of Ben Nevis. The facilities are also very good, a great open kitchen area with a bbq and chiminea. Showers also very good (hot) and clean. Owners are very friendly and completely unintrusive - also a great little woodland to the back of the Yurts which is a nice easy walk.

Room Tip: Shephers Hut is perfect for a romantic weekend - any of the three yurts are great for families as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Myself and 4 of my friends stayed here last weekend, and had two nights in the yurts. It is an amazing spot, and the facilities, and the definition of 'glamping'! Wood burning stove, fully functional kitchen, and a 5 min drive from the base of Ben Nevis which we climbed on the Saturday. When we returned, sodden, cold and exhausted, we got the stove lit in no time, and I went off to have a lovely hot shower. You will need waterproof boots or wellies to get to and from the yurts to the loo's in case it rains, you are in the middle of a field in fairness, but it's all part of the fun! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Snappychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The yurts at Great Glen are not to be missed - if you are in the area it is THE BEST place to stay.
The view of Nevis, the wood stove in the yurt to warm you in the night, the outdoor kitchen equipped with everything you may need to cook up a good meal. This place has a great energy and a good soul. We will be back and we will bring others!!
Thanks - Ana & Stephen

Room Tip: We didn't see the other yurts but the Eagle Yurt sure is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
0.5 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
12.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
0.2 mi away
Highwinds Bed and Breakfast
Highwinds Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 111 in Fort William
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Glen Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Glen Yurts

Address: Fort William PH33 6SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Great Glen Yurts Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing