We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic kayaking, stunning scenery”

Rockhopper Sea Kayaking - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rockhopper Sea Kayaking offers high quality guided half/full and overnight Sea kayaking tours. We are based just outside Fort William and run trips within an hour of our base. We also have a Canoe/Bike Hire Hub based at Neptunes Staircase Banavie.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic kayaking, stunning scenery”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having never been kayaking before and not sure what to expect, I had the most wonderful time with Rockhopper Sea Kayaking. It was a beautiful sunny day and the water was amazing. Our instructor, Ben, sorted us out with our kayaks & kit and we set off from Arisaig for a morning session. It was perfect. Ben gave us great instruction whenever we needed it, and took us around the islands where we stopped to take in the incredible views, clear blue water and white sands - a lovely photo opportunity. For wildlife fans we were also able to see plenty of seals, who came to say hello every now and again. Needless to say the morning passed far too quickly and we wished we could've stayed longer - we had such fun, and will definitely be back.
LARogers

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LARogers_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We did the half day seakayaking trip with Rockhopper in Sound of Arisaig. It was a beautiful day with clear skies and very little wind. It was our first time seakayaking, our instructor, Ben, was great in showing how to steer and how to paddle. It really felt like we were in the Maldives with turquoise clear water all along. We made a stop at a very small isle with white sand. And we had seals keeping us company the whole time. It was an amazing experience seeing them so close. We were in a two people kayak and he helped us a few times along the way as the kayak came onto a rock and when we didn't want to get our feet wet when getting back into the kayak after a small break.
We will be back for the two night trip I am sure!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ipek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxed and professional service”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a 1/2 day paddle around Aridaig with Tom and the Stuarts. The team were well resourced and organised, providing us with good quality equipment. The boats were comfy, the waterproof clothing and spray decks fitted well...even had left handed paddles for me!
They were friendly and knowledgeable, gave quick and simple paddling instructions not wasting time we could be on the water.
We experienced a beautiful spot, crystal clear waters, lots of seals (a highlight).
The booking was straight forward and flexible too in case of bad weather.
I would recommend this company 100%
Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank debbull101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One of the best trips ever”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked for an overnight sea kayaking trip with rockhopper whilst on a holiday in and around Arisaig. I cannot rave about this company enough. Our guides Stuart and Tristan were brilliant from start to finish. The booking was simple and they were flexible to accommodate the dates we had in mind for the trip.
The communication before the trip was brilliant. Stuart made sure we were kept up to date with all the plans and rang to confirm the meeting point the day before. The trip itself was fantastic from start to finish.Stuart and Tristan were great fun and knowledgeable, ensuring we were all safe but allowing us time to explore the amazing coastline. We were well fed with plenty of snacks and the evening meal was brilliant. i have sea kayaked in Sweden but i have to say the sea around Arisaig is like no where else on earth! Beautiful white sandy beaches, crystal clear sea and hundreds of seals awaited. We were blessed with the weather and swam in the bluest sea you can imagine. We were also lucky enough to see phosphorescent algae which was one of the most impressive things i have ever seen and made even more special by the fact that even Stuart and Tristan said they had never seen it so bright!

I spent the night sleeping under the millions of stars which lit up the night....but tents are provided for the more sane customers.

Thank you both for giving our group a trip which we will remember for ever.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlie_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful day trip around the Sound of Arisaig!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Myself and my girlfriend book a 1 day trip with Rockhopper in March 2013 around the sound of Arisaig.

All i can say was it was one of the highlights of my year. From booking to taking out of the water we found Stuart our guide to be a pleasure to deal with and great fun as well.

Having kayaked a few times before we wasted no time getting comfortable with our boats!

Between the stunning views, beautiful weather (lucky us), wildlife, and the wonderful scallops we manage to find it was a trip we will never forget!

Anyone passing through Fort William, you simply have to try Rockhopper!

I will be going back and I will be using them again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockhopper Sea Kayaking - Day Tours also viewed

 
Ballachulish, Glencoe
Banavie, Fort William
 

Been to Rockhopper Sea Kayaking - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing