We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Leven Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have really enjoyed out trip back to the Loch Leven Chalets. The Chalet was very clean, extremely comfortable, and well equipped. The highlight has got to be the view from the living area! It literally takes your breath away, a superb view of the loch which is a stones through away, across the road, and the Pap of Glencoe. The loch provided us with a couple of days of entertainment for us all, and we made good use of the picnic area, so peaceful and relaxing without having to travel far from the Chalet. The Chalet has a great veranda and we sat out every night enjoying our glass of wine, while our two boys played outside. We had the best weather, lots of sunshine and heat. The area is safe for children to run around outside the chalet, and our boys loved every minute of it. They especially loved the visits from the Pine Martin at night! Having two boys, it was very handy having a laundry on site.

Ian and Sharon are fantastic hosts, friendly, welcoming down to earth people. Both were great with the kids, the boys really enjoyed Ian's lawn sprinkler! We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks break this year, and have even booked for next year! Definitely well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Loch Leven Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our stay in Otter chalet at Loch Leven Chalets was an amazing week. My husband and I plus our welsh springer spaniel Molly had a fabulous time. The weather wasnt too bad considering and we managed to have a bbq on the lawn in front of the chalet with a disposable brought by us, and were provided very kindly with a stand and a bucket of water (just in case!) by Ian. My parents joined us for a few nights and we were all enthralled by the nightly antics of the resident pine marten family who blatantly came on the decking to enjoy their jam and bread right in front of our dogs nose! We enjoyed a few days out to Iona (absolutely beautiful), to Mallaig on the Jacobite Steam train and to Fort Augustus, all worthy of visits the scenery is stunning.
Ian and Sharon you did us proud - what a wonderful place you have created with your fantastic chalets. Spotlessly clean and had everything we could possible need for our holiday. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Excellent hosts in what is probably the most underrated area in Britain. The chalets are a stone's throw from the loch and offer exquisite views and plenty of wildlife (including deer, pine marten, eagles, otters and many smaller birds I never see in England)

We could easily fill all of the two weeks we spend here each year, walking, fishing and enjoying some of the best scenery available in not just the UK, but Europe. However, there are also plenty of activities (canyoning, distillery trips, shops in Fort William and Oban, boat cruises, indoor ice climbing, museums, clay pigeon shooting etc)

The chalets are well appointed, clean and roomy. It is nice for us, as a family of four, to have lots of sports equipment and cases and yet be able to put it away neatly in the chalet. We can make hotel rooms look like a jumble sale. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby, including a highly acclaimed seafood restaurant and pubs with good, locally sourced food and real ale.

We have two boys, currently aged 16 had 10 and for the last decade (despite visiting Jamaica, New York, Paris, The Italian Lakes and a host of other places) this has unquestionably been the best holiday for keeping them both happy.

We highly recommend this holiday and will be there for our annual pilgrimage in a couple of weeks.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Kfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon A, Owner at Loch Leven Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to write a review for us, it is so nice to hear so many lovely comments, we thank you all so much for coming to stay with us, several of you many times! If it wasn't for our fantastic guests we wouldn't be here. Hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely owners and very accommodating at short notice. The chalets are located in a very beautiful part of the country, loads of wildlife and amazing scenery to take in. Ideally located to use as a base for local trips, hill walking, mountain biking etc, very handy in winter time for skiers too. Due to its proximity to the loch (30m max) very handy for keen fishermen too. I can't really praise this place enough, my 2 year old son loves the area too. Highly recommended and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMac39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location was perfect for hiking and also some sight seeing nearby. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome and provided lots of helpful information both before and during our stay. This was especially appreciated as we are first time visitors to Scotland from the US.The smaller cottage was a good size for a couple, plus the bunk bed room gave us extra space for luggage and hiking gear. As the hosts do more re-modeling, we would suggest larger front room windows, to allow for better view while sitting, and also possible a deck on front similar to the other lodges. The furnishings and kitchen equipment were great and everything we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather59102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our second visit to Loch Leven Chalets and we are definitely returning within next 2 years!
Extremely comfortable chalets, a lovely home from home. Location is second to none! Views are outstanding of the loch with Pap of Glencoe directly infront of you with other higher mountains surrounding you with their snowy tops! Directly behind cabins is a small wooded area which helps support the amazing wildlife, lots of little birds attracted by the feeders and of course the pine martens! A family were living on the site when we visited and one came right onto our balcony area to eat jammy bread left out for it. There are also otters, red deer, eagles and red squirrels living near by.
Location is also a great base for discovering the area with Glencoe, Fort William, Glenfinnan & Glen Nevis all easily reached. Strontian, Arisaig & Mallaig, Ardnamurchan, Great Glen & Argyll are also easily within driving distance.
Sharon & Ian are fantastic hosts providing a great friendly welcome and are on hand for any queries during our stay and a lovely goodbye at the end.
We really didn't want to come home this time and are considering a 2 week stay on our next visit, instead of just 1.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LM1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Remote enough to be peaceful but accessible enough to make touring the region easy. Well appointed and with all you need but without being so top end you feel scared to use anything!
Plus really friendly and helpful owners. What more could folk want?
Oh, plus a genuinely useful book of helpful hints, wildlife info, local walks and tours, useful instructions for equipment.
The next time we are in the area we will check availability of Tiranui cottage as it really is in a fantastic spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
2.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
890 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Leven Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Leven Holidays

Address: North Ballachulish | Glencoe, Fort William PH33 6SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: £93 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic self catering cottage and chalets in a stunning position on the side of Loch Leven, looking out to the mountains of Glencoe. The chalets sleep up to 4 people and cottage sleeps up to 8 people.All properties are very warm, comfortable and contain everything you should require for a memorable holiday.Our properties are an ideal location to spot several species of wildlife resident in the area from Seals to Eagles to Pine Martens. We have our own private beach leading to the sea loch where sea fishing from the shore can be enjoyed with no charge. The pebble beach is a safe haven for playing and the large grassy area ideal for a barbeque or picnic.Loch Leven Holiday Accommodation is perfect for families, couples of all ages and anyone looking for the ideal getaway. You will enjoy a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Leven Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Leven Holidays Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing