We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great trip with captain dave !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crannog Cruises

Crannog Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy this fantastic cruise under the slopes of Ben Nevis, Britain's highest mountain, onboard the historic vessel Souters Lass. The Skipper gives an entertaining and informative commentary as the boat cruises past a salmon farm, mussel farm and on to view Black Rock where seals can be seen most of the year. Look out from our deck or from our cosy viewing lounge for porpoise, otters and all kinds of sea birds and red deer.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
birmingham
Level Contributor
545 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“a great trip with captain dave !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

we had a great trip around the loch with captain Dave, who was very helpful with his commentary, the boat is great large enough to move around , with both on deck and covered seating areas
the trip goes across the loch along along the far bank with great views of the scenery as well as some interesting views of a fish farm

there is a bar that serves coffee etc. really good trip !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    32
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A pleasant cruise along the Loch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a pleasant way to spend 90 minutes, but quite expensive at £14 a head

The boat is a nice size, and when we went on it there were only eight other people onboard, so plenty of room to move around and take unobstructed photos, there is also an inside cabin where you get away from any bad weather, buy drinks, snacks and limited souvenirs

It was overcast with drizzly rain when we went, but it was still a relaxing excursion, and they supplied blankets and fleeces to wrap up if it was cold

To be honest there’s not a lot to say about the tour, you go down the Loch for about 45 minutes, turn around and come back. You pass a salmon farm, which amounts to a group of submerged cages – and a mussel farm, which amounts to a few rows of buoys. Apart from that you are only really guaranteed views of Ben Nevis, each side of the Loch, and probably some seals on Black Rock, the small island where you turn around at the end. We were lucky and saw about 8 seals on the island, and on the way back there was a lone porpoise close to the boat, but we only saw its fin surfacing for a few seconds before it disappeared. You may be lucky and see all manner of wildlife including eagles and deer as advertised, but we didn’t, so don’t go with high expectations, wildlife can be elusive and nothing can be guaranteed.

The captain gave a good and informative commentary throughout, pointing out anything of interest

The tours go four times a day at 10am, 12noon, 2pm, and 4pm. And if they change this schedule they do put up adequate signs in the small booking office on the jetty. You can pay by credit / debit card.

This is certainly a relaxing way to spend a couple of hours, just pick a day with good weather, but go for the cruise, don’t be driven by the lure of seeing an abundance of wildlife, it may not materialise, or if it does it may be too far away to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Technophobe220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant but better boat trips exist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you have a couple of hours spare, then its a reasonable bet. Loch Linnhe is pretty, if not the most specactular of boat trips on the West coast. The boat itself is big and comfortable, and the crew helpful. The trip is basically up and down the Loch, which on a clear day was nice, and the views decent enough. But if you want a see stunning scenary, its not that. I would definitely do a trip if you have a few hours and nothing else to do on a nice day, but I wouldnt stop just for the trip, especially if the weather is not clear

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GEJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
272 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Excellent and enjoyable Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to Fort William in 2nd week of June 2014 and stayed in Travelodge.
After checked in, we came out, crossed the road and the Lake Linnhe is there. It was a beautiful view and we found Crannog Cruise boating jetty and ticket office.
It was closed that time however information was clearly written, we found the boat operates 4 times a day- 10am,12noon,2pm and 4pm. The fare is £14 for adults and £7 for children upto 15 years for a 90 min trip. There is a small bar/coffee shop at the boat.
We decided to have a cruise and came at 9-30am on next day. It was a brilliant clear day, the lake water was shinning, all the mountains, some with a crown of ice was shimming.
Thhe boat capacity is about 75 people, but it was only 12 people-including 6 of us. We were glad to see that they still operated the boat with such less people. We occupied the whole back deck for six of us- amazing!
The boat started, within 10 mins we came to Salman fishing firm. Where there were many open tanks and nets for Salman fish growing, the fishes were jumping in their silver colour, beautiful. Next came the mussel farm. We learned how important this farming and how many tonnes of mussels came from here.
The pilot was continuously delivering a running commentary- from the history to the details of all the lakes, Ben Nevis, fishing, animal life etc.The pilot also asked us to collect the Binocular if we wished for. We immediately collected the binoculars and continuously watched the shores to spot a Red Deer or Fish or various birds.
Next the boat came to Conaglen at about 10-30am where we were told to keep a watch for Eagles. We could not see any, in fact at mid day we never expected, probably the best chance to see in the evening.
We got some very good view of Ben Nevis.
Cold breeze was flowing- the climate was not cold, about 17-18 degree They provided us lots of blankets to keep us warm. We used some of them.
At about 11am, the best part of the cruise came- we came to Black Rock which is also called as Seal Island. It is a tiny rock and 7/8 seals were playing or sitting lazily over there. The boat was stopped for 10 mins and we had nice photos.
From that point the boat turned and going back. Suddenly we had few porpoise for few seconds. We lost them and could not see more.
The boat returned to the quay at 11-35am.
Overall it was a nice, educational and enjoyable tour. Thanks to the Pilot for delivering excellent commentary, thanks to the other person(forgot the name) for providing blanket, binoculars, guiding us on wild life and giving some important direction for going to other places of interests.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DPMALLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

After driving to Fort William with no real plans of what to do, We decided upon taking a Crannog cruise. The cruise is very attractivly priced at only £14 per adult. We saw plenty of wildlife and the boat was in very nice condition. Would definatly recommend especially if you are a photographer as we got very close to the seals.

Helpful?
Thank PerfectShotsphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crannog Cruises also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Banavie, Fort William
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Crannog Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing