We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Grub”
Review of Hot Roast Company

Hot Roast Company
Ranked #27 of 69 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great fillled rolls at a great price...all fresh cooked prepared and served in a short time.... not to be missed for a good feed....

Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comment, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited here after a long journey from Skye. The roast meats in the window was what attracted us in the first place. But as soon as you step inside and that lovely Sunday roast smell hits you, we were definately not leaving without trying something!

I had the potato salad which was on par with my mum's (It's pretty awesome!) my boyfriend and his friend had a roll with roast pork with stuffing and apple sauce. One at first but they were so good they had another one! And my other friend had the coleslaw which was also really good because it was homemade and very creamy and tasty! Yum yum! Supposed to be a quick snack hence why we had only side orders but they boys like their food!

I wish I didn't live so far away or we would visit more often! Will definately pop in again next time we are in Fort William! The staff were also very friendly and patient who played some really good tunes too! A very good experience :)

1  Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you fer the lovely comment, glad everyone enjoyed their meals. Hope to see you all again soon. Also i hope you got the cd so you can sing along to it. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

service was great , love the pork rolls very tasty , Free wifi as well , It gets very busy some times but the staff are always caring and make sure all is right for every customer , I asked about a tea that they sold and when i left I was handed a wee back with a tea bag of the tea i asked about and was told please enjoy when you get back home , Great service ,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Billy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your comment, glad you enjoyed your visit with us, hope the tea was good when you got home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Called in to get a hot roast roll for lunch only to be told there were no roasts left - just soup! It was only 1.30pm and the High Street was buzzing with tourists.....Gave it the benefit of the doubt before this but have dropped the benefit now.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GowanBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

We are sorry you had a bad experience. We do try to have all the roasts available all of the day but occasionally we do sell out of some if we have a much busier day than normal. We now have a selection of cold filled rolls which are available every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stopped by here last week, excited to have a roast meat roll. However, we couldn't bring ourselves to stay in the queue after the lady behind the counter was so rude to an older lady who was trying to order. The customer was a little confused by the different menus (there's a take-away and sit-in menu behind the counter) and the serving staff had no patience for her confusion whatsoever, providing her with curt answers and clearly looking annoyed. It was such an appalling sight that we decided against giving them our trade. The two menus are confusing and need to be addressed, as do the staff's manners.

    • Service
Thank louisdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotroast, Owner at Hot Roast Company, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your last visit. Firstly we have a takeaway menu behind the counter and the sit in menu's would be given to you at the table when you were seated. So i am unsure why there would be any confusion. I can assure you that my current staff have wonderful customer service and would never speak to a customer in the way you described. If a complaint had been made at the time it could have been dealt with but unfortunately it wasnt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Roast Company also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Hot Roast Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing