We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Shotley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in June. The outside of the hotel is impressive. The hotel entrance, bar area and dining room are tastefully furnished and decorated. The views from the terraced garden were beautiful. The breakfast was average served by very pleasant staff. Coffee and tea pots were not available on the tables, second cups were offered or had to be asked for. Not sure I liked that. Our room was very small for the price we paid, however we did book late and there was little availability. I believe we had a reduced rate for late booking, which I still consider was overpriced.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front to take advantage of the view. Ours was at the back, a meandering jo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkwitch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    160
    169
    63
    61
See reviews for
99
228
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I don't usually pay much more than £70 a night but the Cruachan sounded nice so decided to treat ourselves. For £104 we got a tiny box of a room with paper thin walls, a floor that creaked when you walked across it and a small window with frosted glass - because it looked out onto the wall of the block in front.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Readetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Bucks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had a family room which was on the first floor at the front, very comfortable but had a shower cubical rather than a bath - a bath would have made it really nice.

Great views from this room, and it had a nice although very squeaky 4 poster bed, and two single beds in a small alcove.

The food was pretty good and the staff were excellent.

The hotel was not cheap - but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamborock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Excellent location, good parking,motorcycles welcome.
Floorboards need fixing above rooms and more sound proofing between floors.
Great food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1050rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

cant fault this hotel even if i tried,excellent reception,bar,bedrooms,breakfast,staff,location..allways enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00paul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Have now stayed here three times, staff very friendly, breakfast staff / bar staff extremely helpful & friendly.
Breakfast is good, Be aware of the plates! TOO HOT!
Hotel Reception / Bar Area & Dining Room, all had a very nice makeover, have been told bathrooms in the rooms are being done next, think this will make a big improvement as they are looking a little worn. Although rooms still look good (May 2012) Also Hotel said they are installing a lift! Guess for older people it is a lot of stairs & corridors to manage.
Hotel is on main road, situated in a great spot, only 10 minute walk into town for restuarants & pubs. Lovely view from outside the hotel for those warm evenings, you can sit outside with a drink whilst watching the sunset.
My only negative comment would be the beds, seem too hard, memory foam topper to all beds would make a great improvement!
Will for sure stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room front facing, you will not have that far to walk with your bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We didn't choose to stay here, this hotel was booked for us by our tour company. The lobby and reception area have been renovated and are very nicely done, unfortunately, the renovations haven't been extended into the guest room part of this hotel. The trek to our room was up several flights of stairs and down countless corridors - when we arrived at our room, we were surprised to look out the window and find we were on what looked to be the main floor! Must be built into a hill at back, or something. The front of this hotel looks very quaint and charming, but the back is like an old Travelodge. The fresh paint and new carpets, although appreciated, don't do much when everything else in the room is old and seedy. Service in the dining room the evening we arrived was very poor - our waitress was disinterested & unenthusiastic. I think she forgot to put our order in as the tables around us, who arrived after we did, got their food far before we did. In the morning, when we returned to the dining room for breakfast, it all made sense - the same staff who were working the previous night were working in the morning as well! This hotel shows that someone is trying to bring it up to standard, but they have a ways to go yet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
955 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
727 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Property: Cruachan Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing