We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star prices 5 star treatment”
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 star prices 5 star treatment”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

great hotel great staff close to nevis range which is a great day out on the slopes not to mention the gondola which is fantastic also not that far from mallaig which is a drive with great views fort william town centre is only a few mins along the road ignore all bad reviews as some people need to get a life

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzy065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    148
    162
    61
    58
See reviews for
93
216
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Went to Nevis Range with my 16 year old son and was after a hotel that was fairly close to the Nevi Range ski Centre and within walkinfg distance of Fort William centre. This hotel was ideal, the reception was very grand, the twin room we had was towards the back of the hotel but we still had a lovely view over the Loch from our window. Room was warm, relatively spacious, tea/coffee making facilites with a flat screen TV and ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was first class and got a really good deal through Booking.com. Yes there was work going on in the hotel but that was during the day and did not affect us in any way, the work has to be carried out some time if its to keep itself in good order. Highly recommend this hotel for location, good standard and price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel advertises just the front house, which looks good, but we were given a room in the third building to the back, an extension to the main hotel building, room no. 154, with view to the back of the hotel, which was smelly, drafty, un-aired. Work was performed on the hotel at the time and we had to go through the work area. There were probably rooms at the front, as the hotel was mostly unoccupied, but I think we might have been given the worst room as we had just made the booking that day thorough the booking.com website as the guy at the front desk made a face of distaste when he noticed this fact. The room was heated, but the bathroom was not isolated from outside temperatures (about 10 degrees celsius). The double bed was small, not suited for anyone with a height above 6ft at most. The breakfast room was ok and the breakfast tasty enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OonaPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is a very big fake !
At the main street it starts with a old building, very nice masonry and very nice illuminated in the evening. The entrance hall is also very nice, new furniture very fashion like hotel.
The problem is that this hotel has maybe 2 or 3 rooms in the old part that you see from the street and in the back of the hotel has a number of labyrinthic extensions and most probably you will get a room there. The smell in the extensions is horrible, smells like moisture, the finishes are plastic and linoleum and mostly every time you will get lost in the building. It has been a very big disappointment and I am sorry that I have agreed to stay there.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhergaTos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed for four nights,,my room was next to the stair and you could hear everyone walking up and down the room which was a bit of a pain,the room but the staff was really nice and helpful, breakfast was piping hot and served very fast so I did not have to hang around all day for it, my only grumble is having to hang around until 8.00am to check out

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stayed here for three nights when I was climbing in/around the North Face of Ben Nevis. I got a great rate on my room through laterooms.com and was happy with the hotel. The Cruachan Hotel overlooks Loch Linnhe, the room was very clean and newly renovated and the staff was friendly and helpful. I recommend a stay at the Cruachan when you are in Fort William.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, Bucks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I booked a single room at an outstandingly low price but was put in a double anyway. The room was spotless and quiet and the bed comfortable. It is a budget hotel and doesn't claim to be anything else but it's excellent value. It's basically a Travelodge type room but with breakfast and well-appointed public rooms at around half the price. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Property: Cruachan Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing