We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a quick stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a quick stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Good parts:
The location, The decoration of the reception and lounge/bar, also the breakfast area in the morning. Breakfast was AA+++ Room was modern decorated also. Ensuite facilities

Bad parts:
How far away my room was without lifts. they did offer to help carry my bags to room, but rejected the offer. certainly will not next time. Wifi in room 152 (single bed room) does not find the hotel wifi?? had to use another connection instead (netgear-0) it worked a treat though!!

Room Tip: Got it "cheaper" through booking.com. If they ask to carry your suitcase and belongings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogeatdog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    141
    158
    60
    58
See reviews for
87
210
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SouthShields
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Easy to find on the main A82 just before the roundabout to Town Center, what you see from the front is the bar on the left and the reception area on the right. So the only bedrooms with a view of the lock are above these. Most rooms are at the back in 2 extensions on the the original building. Large car park with 3 spaces for coaches I think they prefer to cater for coach parties. The receptionist and the barman were Indian and the breakfast waitresses were Eastern European, no sign of a Scottish accent there. The barman didn't speak except to take my money - £3-50 a pint. There was no welcome at all and I was left with the impression that I was a commodity not a guest. The decor and furnishings are new, but not Scottish; no tartan in sight; but they appeared to be cheap materials I don't think they will wear well.
My room at the back was newly decorated, I know because the paint smell was overwhelming, there were many power sockets, tea/coffee, and TV. It also had the most complicated radiator in the world.
Breakfast was served with a smile, though the fare was poor. The last time I tasted bacon like this was in Benidorm.
I paid £35 but see that the norm is £70. I wouldn't go back at £35 so would be really annoyed at £70. No welcome at all. There are so many places to stay in Fort William do not stay here.
Some reviewers say the staff were fantastic, they were poor on my visit, but they probably change around so much you take pot luck. I went in March it was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

My partner & I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel & enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is very modern, welcoming & breakfasts were great. As someone previously mentioned there are workmen there at the moment but this is made clear before you book online so that was of no surprise and we were in no way inconvenienced due to this. The only fault I could find was the shower wasn't great. The views were also great due to the hotel facing the water & it is only a 5 minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChriKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

great hotel great staff close to nevis range which is a great day out on the slopes not to mention the gondola which is fantastic also not that far from mallaig which is a drive with great views fort william town centre is only a few mins along the road ignore all bad reviews as some people need to get a life

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzy065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Went to Nevis Range with my 16 year old son and was after a hotel that was fairly close to the Nevi Range ski Centre and within walkinfg distance of Fort William centre. This hotel was ideal, the reception was very grand, the twin room we had was towards the back of the hotel but we still had a lovely view over the Loch from our window. Room was warm, relatively spacious, tea/coffee making facilites with a flat screen TV and ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was first class and got a really good deal through Booking.com. Yes there was work going on in the hotel but that was during the day and did not affect us in any way, the work has to be carried out some time if its to keep itself in good order. Highly recommend this hotel for location, good standard and price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel advertises just the front house, which looks good, but we were given a room in the third building to the back, an extension to the main hotel building, room no. 154, with view to the back of the hotel, which was smelly, drafty, un-aired. Work was performed on the hotel at the time and we had to go through the work area. There were probably rooms at the front, as the hotel was mostly unoccupied, but I think we might have been given the worst room as we had just made the booking that day thorough the booking.com website as the guy at the front desk made a face of distaste when he noticed this fact. The room was heated, but the bathroom was not isolated from outside temperatures (about 10 degrees celsius). The double bed was small, not suited for anyone with a height above 6ft at most. The breakfast room was ok and the breakfast tasty enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OonaPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is a very big fake !
At the main street it starts with a old building, very nice masonry and very nice illuminated in the evening. The entrance hall is also very nice, new furniture very fashion like hotel.
The problem is that this hotel has maybe 2 or 3 rooms in the old part that you see from the street and in the back of the hotel has a number of labyrinthic extensions and most probably you will get a room there. The smell in the extensions is horrible, smells like moisture, the finishes are plastic and linoleum and mostly every time you will get lost in the building. It has been a very big disappointment and I am sorry that I have agreed to stay there.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhergaTos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Property: Cruachan Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing