We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really for individual travellers”
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Not really for individual travellers”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This seems to be one of the few hotels that cater for large groups in the highlands and therefore they enjoy good trade but individual travellers suffer as a result. For the same price one would be much better served by the many b&bs that are available in the area.
My room overlooked a wall and another rooms window and was simply tiny. It was clean but should at best be used for staff.
I also find it puzzling that all breakfast fruit came out of tins and found the food quite horrible. The entrance and bar have been updated but that does not make up for canned food and tiny bedrooms.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room overlooking the loch rather than one towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    160
    169
    63
    61
See reviews for
99
228
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I spent 2 nights in the hotel and found it to be clean and welcoming.
On arrival I was asked if I wished to have my bags taken to my room, which was on the first floor. The bedroom looked out over a flat roof towards the loch, and was well furnished and faultless. During my stay, all the members of staff to whom I spoke were cheery and helpful.
The first breakfast was too much for me, and on the second morning I had to ask for half portions.. At night I ate in the bar, where there was pleasant music played at an appropriate level, and both bar meals were also very good.
Although I have severe back problems, I had two good nights sleep, and found that the Hotel was within walking distance of both bus and train stations (although I wouldn't want to drag my case over that distance)
I was very impressed and plan to return there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel for a night on my travels. First impressions were not great. Dark and dingey appearance, rooms were small and dark. Food was adequate. Staff were pleasant enough. I have visitied better places recently. Dont think I wil be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulthur45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were welcomed by friendly reception staff who kindly offered to carry our cases to our room. I was a bit alarmed that they thought I might not be capable of making the second floor unaided when it was my intention to trek to the summit of Ben Nevis the following morning! The room was spacious enough and spotlessly clean. However, the walls and ceiling were paper thin and we could clearly hear the exploits of our neighbours! But with ear plugs my nights stay was comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and filling although a little greasy.
The bar and lounge have stunning views of the loch and they were a pleasant place to relax after a long day. When checking out the receptionist was keen to hear our views on the hotel and we were told that sound proofing was work in progress.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

the only slight down side to this very nice hotel is that it doesn't have a lift ( spread over 3 floors ) other than that I have no complaints at all. my room was very comfy and well appointed and the cooked breakfast was delicious , as I regularly visit fort William on business I will definitely be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms to the front have a beautiful loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomez081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked into this hotel, it was nice, though it had stairs, we were given a loch view room as promised. The breakfast was really nice and fulfilling. The property is Victorian but lovingly and tastefully decorated and has a modern touch. The staff were very helpful, the check-in staff let us keep our luggage as we had arrived early, the breakfast staff were also very professional and were always smiling. The stay was comfortable, a bit tricky to start the bath though as the bath fittings were quite modern and needing a little demonstration from staff...lol..!! All in all a nice experience and I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Fort William and I would also love to go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch View room, there a quite a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavinNorwich4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Cruachan Hotel is clean, and the lounge, bar and dining rooms are appointed and decorated in a modern style. Our bedroom was clean and modern. It had all the normal room requirements, but they all seemed cheaply functional rather than comfortable and appealing. The TV volume control and the bathroom light did not work, and the door stop on the floor could be dangerous to older people.
Our main complaint was the staff. They were obviously untrained, and there was a shortage of them. The reception was not manned, anyone answered the phone, eventually, and the computerised system was beyond the man who checked us out. He undercharged us by £70 which I honestly pointed out to him. During the stay I never spoke to any staff member with a scottish accent.
Now the food. An example, Salmon and Asparagus. Ten inch (25cm) woody Asparagus, heavy in garlic and the greyist Salmon I've ever seen. Garlic was even on the breakfast mushrooms, and with the smoked bacon certainly made an interesting meal. The smell of cooking was all around the lounge, bar and reception in the evening 9.00pm--spicy indian food, not on the menu, so obviously cooked for the staff/owners. The bleeping and pinging from the kitchen was off-putting whilst dining and the loud TV from the bar could be heard all over.
The owners have spent alot of money on the extension and fittings, but they now need to sort the kitchen out to cook to the prices charged, and to stop skimping on staff, and then train them. They should stay overnight in hotels like the Holiday Inn, Harrogate to see what trained staff are like, and the improvement it would make to their business.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul_V_N942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
955 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
727 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Property: Cruachan Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing