We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cruachan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Hotel(Fort William)
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Gantocks B&B(Fort William)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$189
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inverlochy Villas(Fort William)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
US$24
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
106
198
190
68
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
198
190
68
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalls are thintown centreone night staydining roomwould stay againshort stayample parkinglovely breakfastloch linnhefollowing morningcouple of nightsdouble roomfantastic viewsben nevisstopoverensuite
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

i have visited fort william for the last 10 years since my wife died, as we married there, we have stayed at numerous hotels.
The cruachan Hotel was by far the most welcoming Hotel ever !!
The staff were so nice,the rooms were so clean, the meal as great.
The breakfast was the best (the london manager could not have done enough he was great )
we will stay again and will tell our friends)
Ela Capbell

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colindowroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a rabbit warren to negotiate with your bags! Around hairpin turns, up endless sections of stairs. From the façade one would imagine charming old world ambience for the rooming choices but be prepared for a room smaller than the average college dorm. Our first assigned room faced a brick wall at the back of the property, the familiar smell of mold was present and the fans in the bathroom confirmed a lot of filth that had not been removed. Given this unpleasant creepy aura we asked for an alternate room and ended up in the "attic" but at least there was daylight, view of the Loch and a bathroom with a sky light.

Passcodes were handed out at the front desk for wifi connection which did not work. We had aerobic workouts running up and down the stairs to check whether the outage was in our room or in the lobby. Didn't work anywhere despite numerous router reboots. Every time a staff member assured us it would only be 10 minutes but the service was definitely out for the long run. Didn't matter to much to us, we were moving on the next day to Edinburg but one gentleman was having a meltdown in the lobby because he was there on business and had to send in his reports/orders by a specific deadline. Needless to say he was quite uncomplimentary after realizing he would be forced to go into town and order a meal at some place with free wifi connection. Notice there are other reviews that mention the lack of wifi? Must not be an isolated case.

The bar area is very nicely arranged with music piped thru speakers. Not exactly a hotbed of activity while we were there but a nice place to gather with our friends prior to dinner. The location of this hotel is only a short walk to town for dinner but be aware that you will endure a long wait (2 hours in one case!) unless you have made reservations. Town restaurants also stop serving around 9pm so don't wander into town at 8:30pm and expect dinner.

The upgrade to this rating was a result of the very fine breakfast this hotel offers. Full English with all the sides, bring a hearty appetite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after driving from Glasgow. The room was ok, small but had everything we needed. It did however had a funny 'damp' smell about it and a view of a brick wall. Breakfast was complimentary and was actually very good! Checking in and out was very smooth and the staff were polite and helpful. After driving further up north for the day we came back to Fort William the next evening however decided to try somewhere different. It's good for a short stay but if I returned I would try to get a front view room!

Room Tip: Get a front view room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in Fort William. We found it very nice. The room was ensuite, had a double bed and a single bed, very clean and tidy. We had a drink in the bar in the evening which was very pleasant. The staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and would recommend the full English breakfast.

We would recommend it for a place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milne1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here weekend, 11th 12th October, from the minute we arrived staff were friendly and helpful, reception and bar areas are very modern. Twin room was slightly dated but perfectly clean, bed extremely comfortable,with quilt and good quality pillows, room heater excellent. Shower was excellent once i,d fiddled with settings but the hot water takes an age to come through. Breakfast was superb plenty of choice just right before a days walking, the place was most definitely VFM!
Its only a short walk from the town centre and the views across the Loch are excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve19JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews