We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value. Really friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value. Really friendly staff.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is great value for the price we paid on booking.com. Yes the rooms are at the back but the views from the public areas and the decking outside are lovely. Room was warm, lots of hot water for a bath and breakfast was fine. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    144
    160
    61
    58
See reviews for
90
215
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We've stayed here twice now and staff are extremely helpful, room is good, breakfast was good. Can't see why so many people have given it a bad review, I think it was good for the price and in a great location for Fort William. Rooms are clean and shower was hot, what more do you want? The view aren't the best from the rooms but take a walk out the front door and you have the loch in front of you. I think people sometimes expect too much and I would stop here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked this hotel through late rooms for a one night stay. Full price was to be £165 but stated special offer of £57 for room including breakfast. We had hoped to have a loch view which was advertised but were placed in the annex at the back of the hotel with brick walls for view. It was also a bit of a rabbit warren to find. Room smelled very badly of mould and there was a leak in the sky light in the bathroom. Complimentary toiletries were 2 sachets . Duvet on bed only just covered the top of the mattress, although a wooly blanket was provided. Where we were in the hotel was cold and you could feel the difference in temperature as you moved into the original part of the hotel. However reception area and restuarant were very nice, staff very helpful. Breakfast was very good . If I was planning to stay any longer I would have requested a change in room. For £57 a night this would be acceptable but never £165.

Room Tip: Make sure you get loch view in main part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable and adequately furnished. The showers worked well. The public areas were quite pleasant. The breakfast wasn't as good as some on our trip but still OK. We were quite late bookers so we couldn't quibble.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ceedubya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was tricked by a pretty photo as some other reviewers. what you don't see on the photo is a massive holiday inn type battery chicken hotel behind the pretty facade.
my room was supposed to have a loch view.Well, it did. On the left and the right side, and in front there was a concrete wall of what is presented on the advertisement.
Breakfast is pretty good and service is fast and efficient.
good place to sleep over.don'f be fooled by a facade though and put your expectations right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergei V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

i stayed at this hotel for two nights. The outside of the hotel is stunning. When entering the building the foyer was very bright clean and welcoming. The bar area is relaxing and with good views of the loch, the dinning area is bright and very nice. Our room was in the back of the hotel the room was clean and fresh and suitable for our stay. The staff were very helpful. The choice of breakfast was good and tastie and served by friendly staff. will certainly go back to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

looking fab from the outside but when you get the rooms at the rear of building the charm isnt there.
Breakfast was hot but the plate was that hot it couldnt be touched i burnt my fingers when tried to move.

The rooms were ok and a good base for walking around.

Would consider staying again if couldnt find anywhere else

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paintednails4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
958 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Property: Cruachan Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing