We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WORST hotel i've stayed in ever.”
Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

There is a nice facade but thats is it!!!

My student dorms looks and feels 10 times better.

There was a spring mattress which was just impossible to sleep on.

The walls are just way too thin!! You can hear the people in the next room _walking_ !!!. My friend couldn't sleep because the guy in the next room was snoring!!

There was a cut off cable coming out of the wall and hanging below the TV.

The ceiling in the bathroom was peeling off.

There was mold in the bathroom and that's a clear sanitary issue !!!

There were split taps (hot and cold) in the bathroom sink. I would expect that from a public toilet but not from a hotel room.

And all this in a hotel which charges 95£ per night. I would expect all this from a cheap motel for 30£ but not from a 95£ hotel.

The manager said he doesn't see how the last 4 issues affect my sleep and knocked off 15£ for the first two issues...

Bottom line: Just stay away. There are many better and cheaper hotels on the very same street.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank ---ArchAngelRGB---
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

On a family trip, we stayed at the Cruachan for only one night but were very impressed with our stay. The location is marvelous, with fantastic views from the front of the hotel especially at sunset. The hotel interior is well styled and clean, and our rooms were basic but comfortable and clean with all the amenities that you would expect. I enjoyed a good night sleep and a tasty breakfast in the morning, all the while in awe at the beautiful views. The staff were all friendly and available and I really couldn't fault my stay. There was no lift available as mentioned on here, but the staff were more than ready to help us with our bags should we need. A good choice for short trips to the highlands :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaella1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

the employees are nice but the infrastructure of the hotel is still in development so it seems.

cons:
- at 10pm a stranger entered our room with an actual working card for our room. The personnel excused this incedent as a system failure...
- walls are very thin. we could hear our neighbours talking all night.
- it is a 4 story hotel with no elevator and we were not offered help with our luggage
- compared with what we got it was too expensive
- from our room we had no view on anything but the neigbours garden

pros:
- the hotel is well situated and very close to the centre of the city.

overall:
room was clean, old bathroom with bath tub, small shelve very very soft beds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnyeightpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked the hotel because of its location close to a very good fish restaurant. The hotel is OK for one night, but suffers from a lack of sound proofing which means you can hear noises from the occupiers of the adjoining room. At the time of our stay building work were taking place. Currently no lift and the room allocated was at the very far end of the building, up several flights of stairs, which made it difficult to access. Dining room dull and gloomy.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glengarriff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a self organised tour. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The public areas are very nicely presented, the rooms a little more basic but clean, large and comfortable. Our room had a lovely view out of the front of the hotel looking over the water. The only complaint regarding the room would be there were no curtains, only blinds. I prefer to sleep with the room dark so found this a little difficult. Food was good, generous portions. The menu selection is more 'pub grub' than restaurant but it was well presented and well cooked. Very easy to get into the centre of Fort William (less than 10 min walk). Overall I was happy with our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The good: food was OK, staff were very eager to please. Nice bar area. The less good: the beds were very uncomfortable. Room a bit basic compared to others we stayed at. Breakfast below par with limited buffet. Building work going when we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had planned to stay at the hotel for 2 nights but moved out after 1 to a much nicer hotel in the town. The room and bathroom smelt damp, the bathroom flooring was torn and dirty. All furniture was cheap and nasty. Worst of all was the noise from neighbours and those above - not noisy people, just very thin walls. Desk staff report that it will be refurbished - until then they should lower their prices to low standard accommodation rate

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
753 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: £61 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing