We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cruachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cruachan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
u.k.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night!
It was enough!
Location was good however....
Grey towels, even greyer bedding, paper thin walls, damp smell, terrible breakfast complete with greasy fingerprints on the plates, awful furnishings in the bedroom and mouldy shower area!
We paid £110 for the pleasure!
Never again.


DebnPete

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DebnPete16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    145
    161
    61
    58
See reviews for
91
215
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel is undergoing renovation right now, so things are likely to improve. The biggest negative is the bedroom floor. I have stayed in hotels with creaky floors before but this has the noisiest floors I have ever heard. It was impossible to move around the room without the accompaniment of loud creaks and squeaks and rattling coat hangers. I really felt for the guests in the neighbouring room - they must have thought I was making the noise on purpose. There was no working lift as it is undergoing renovation - not a big deal and those stairs are good practice for a trip to Ben Nevis.

Everything else about the hotel was good. The location is first rate with fantastic views at the front. It has ample parking and also offers a substantial breakfast. Following the renovation I am sure this hotel will well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you find yourself in a room with noisy floors - maybe ask for a swap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

First the good points - excellent location opposite Loch Linnhe and 10 minutes walk from town centre.
Plenty of parking.
Had the room we asked for a loch view.
Comfortable beds, good bathroom, toiletries and plenty of hot water.
Tea and coffee facilities in room

Not so good
The hotel is in the process of being renovated, hence the friendly builders comment ( and they were)
No skirting boards in corridor
Rooms are in the annexe and have very thin walls and little insulation between the floors so the room was noisy.
Breakfast was not the best, greasy and not a great continental selection.

It seemed to be the sort of place that people stayed for 1 night on their travels and was expensive for the current quality of the hotel -£110 bb.

I hope that when it is finished the quality wil be much better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were there with our three children and a friend for two nights. Hotel was busy with a tour group, but the staff were always nice to us and the kids. Had a good stay.

The rooms are getting a little old and especially the bathrooms (we had two rooms) need a renovation.

Location is superb.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wolfstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The only reason we chose this place was because a “loch view” room was available. On arrival we were shown to our room which transpired - after our complaint – to be a standard room. “Someone” from the hotel’s management had changed our room allocation earlier in the day. A bad start but it got worse.

- The new room allocated to us was on the top floor accessed by a narrow (and, in my view, dangerous) staircase
- WiFi and TV didn’t work until someone from management became involved to resolve the problems.
- Pillow case was dirty (large grease patch)
- Towels had black marks: clearly had not been not washed
- Awoke with a line of six small red bite marks on one arm
- Muffled “machine gun” burst sound coming from beyond the bathroom every 10 or so minutes throughout the night (which continued after sunrise) causing us to waken on most occasions
- Anyone from the rooms in the building behind our room could see into our bathroom/shower
- It was clear that no one would have offered a monetary adjustment (loch view room vs standard room) had we not complained.

As I waited for the receptionist to finalise our account I watched more than 12 people check-out - of these more than 10 had complaints about their stay. The fellow at reception was full of charm, platitudes and commiserations in response to every complaint but totally reluctant to compensate for any problem (which was, no doubt, why he was doing that job).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the hotels exterior and three public areas (bar, reception and restaurant). The actual guest rooms are very basic guest house standard, very poorly constructed. We stayed on the second floor, long a labyrinth of corridors and stair cases (no help offered with luggage). Our room was painted pure white with a red carpet and two small taken faded prints on the wall, not exactly cosy. The view of the loch made up for a small part but we did have to look over a construction site and car park. And as a detail, no mixer taps in the bathroom means burning hands or washing in cold water.

The biggest problem was the joists. We hears loud squeaking and groaning of the floorboards and joists as the people above, directly and both rooms either side, when they walked, moved in bed and used the bathroom... which coupled with per thin walls meant for a very sleepless and noisy night.

The breakfast is a plated option, chosen from a grubby laminated printed list of options. A decent combination of items on offer but cheap quality (very low quality deep fried sausage was served).

All together a very disappointing and restless stay for what was supposed to be a brilliant anniversary surprise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This review is for the innocent people who may be conned into staying here, i read the reviews but still stayed as we only paid £50 b+b , so was kind of worth it for 4 bikers passing through. The good points for us was free parking and close to the town centre, the bad points where the amount of stairs to the top floor wooden annex ( we are fit youngish men, but carrying all our luggage was a bind ) for older folk it would be a nightmare, the bedrooms where hostel standard , cheap fixture and fittings small uncomfortable beds and very thin walls every noise from the next room could be heard ie phone calls, alarm clocks etc, so for late night revellers and early morning risers you will not get any sleep.
now why I say conned is that looking at the hotel all looks great, entrance, reception, bar area all 4/5 star, move further into the hotel passed the new carpet all changes to basic 2 star,
Like I said for 4 bikers paying £50 b+b was too bad.

Room Tip: not sure, but above reception seems the old part which my be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOCMARTIN1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Hotel

Property: Cruachan Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cruachan is designed with a traditional Scottish Highland façade and whilst the hotel has been, continues to be, sympathetically upgraded and modernised internally to provide all modern comforts, it has not lost its original character. The hotel has an enviable location overlooking Loch Linnhe and beyond the loch to the Morvern Hills. Guests can sit on the terrace outside the hotel in the summer, watching the boats on the loch and enjoying a quiet drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cruachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruachan Fort William
Cruachan Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing