We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a friendly hotel, we'll certainly be back!”
Review of Ossian's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ossian's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a friendly hotel, we'll certainly be back!”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed 5 days and had the warmest, friendliest of welcomes. Our room was very basic but that's what we paid for and what we fully expected to get. It was comfortable and clean with fresh towels each day, shower was small but water lovely and hot - great after a day at Steall Falls! Breakfast buffet was good value for money with cooked breakfast to order; we didn't try the evening meal but the prices seemed very reasonable. We finished each night with a lovely chat and last drink at the bar/lounge with Alan! Having stayed at the Imperial and Alexandria hotels, Ossians is obviously no where near as luxurious - but then, it is central, comfortable and far less expensive - depends on what you want from your holiday. We'll go back and enjoy the hospitality of our Fort William friends again for sure - and have some change left over for lots of fun!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easyliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    15
    26
    34
See reviews for
20
40
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Good location and good value for money.
Rooms are basic, decor rather dated, but sleep quality is good except disco nights, which are Friday and Saturday. Views from windows facing loch are spectacular. Convenient base for exploring town, the area and climbing Ben Nevis. Only downer is a very small hotel car park, which translates to a lack of hotel parking. You can , however, park at the public car park which is not too far and inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for one night as there where not hostels with private rooms free. For the price we got more than expected. TV, tea and coffee, big room, comfey bed and the shower was alway hot!
Staff where friendly and breakfast was included!
Only thing was the decor was a bit dated, but we didn't come to Fort William to stay inside!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applejam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

disgusting dirty linen food wasnt much better the staff werent at all helpful the whole place had an odour of damp and musky i dont recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherylnudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Mirfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Booked in as part of a group for 2 nights, 3 of us checked out after one and went elsewhere. My feet stuck to carpet in reception, the rooms were tired and dated with a very grubby sink. This place is in need of a refurbishment and a coat of paint and some new staff. The car parking area was full of an old van, an old car, a dodgy caravan and an aerial platform. BR

Room Tip: Look elsehwere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinnion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This review might sound harsh, but the thing is, this was supposed to be my one night away from hostels and I was so excited for a nice single room right in the middle of Fort William. So when I was terribly disappointed, I kept thinking about the awful review I would give it.
Anyway, this is just a list: mean/rude reception lady who made me feel like I was intruding by getting a room there; awful decor - not charming or simple or possibly misguided - it looked like someone got the cheapest carpet and the cheapest wall paper and just tried to cover up the old building. You can feel loose floor boards under the carpet and see cracks behind the wall paper; tiny room (no big deal, but thought I should put it in here) ; Windows that look out onto a roof covered in pigeon poop and mold; CARPETED bathroom; tiny shower that I couldn't fit in (im 5'8) ; towels and sheets that reeked of chlorine. Everything was dirty, disgusting. But the worse thing was the SMELL!!! it seriously made me want to throw up and now my clothes smell like it. I figured out its the smell of rotting meat from the subway dumpster downstairs. Bleh!
Oh! Winter travelers, I saw no heat vents in the whole room.

Room Tip: don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank veryveronicaIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed here for two nights,staff friendley,rooms clean and have recentley been repainted to good standard,location at heart of fort william,disco friday saturday so if you like discos fine if not avoid weekends personally i do so enjoyed stay even more...pets are welcome wich took the hell out of trying to find somewhere as you can imagine if dog owner..would defiantley reccomend if your on a budget 4/5

Room Tip: Ask for recentley painted rooms and loch views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cancerfour69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossian's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossian's Hotel

Property: Ossian's Hotel
Address: High Street, Fort William PH33 6DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ossian's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ossians Hotel Fort William
Ossian's Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing