We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous! Checked in but once got to the room decided couldn't stay.”
Review of Ossian's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ossian's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Dirty run down and generally horrible do not stay here!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BazLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

this hotel didnt do itself justice when describing itself.Its far better than you expect.We paid £48 per double ensuite room only and the bed was comfy.We had the dog with us too and there was no extra charge.The hotel isnt as run down as they said.I would definately return and recommend this place to my friends.Although we never ate there,the food smelled good.Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The only good thing about this place was the location right in the main street. I recommend the Grog and Gruel over the road - great beer, good mushroom soup and free WiFi.

The place is shabby, dirty, and smelly. It had the last availability of rooms in FW and now I know why. Can't comment on the breakfast as I couldn't face eating there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UK_Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The staff couldn't be any nicer!bedroom was clean and tidy with on suite,,breakfast and evening meals were excellent! soroundings blew me away not the kind of thing you would expect in Fort William,will definately go back there next year.highly recommended

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank wulkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

not 4 star by any means, rooms are a little dated but clean. the bed and room were clean. but then you are in a small town these things are to be expected.
the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
we couldnt make breakfast as we were getting the early train so we were kindly offered a packed lunch to take with us instead. which i thought was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaitlinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I turned up on Sunday 30 August with my wife and two boys (8 & 13) all feeling knackered after being up Ben Nevis and not feeling like driving 300 miles home. Went in while trying to find somewhere to eat and was offered family room. Lady asked me to look at it first so I did.

Hotel has obviously seen better times, but in the essentials: nice comfy bed, clean, good powerful hot shower it was perfect. I really liked the bunk bed in an alcove for the boys to sleep in.

It's not a travelodge type place, but it's fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Unpretentious and rather shabby but spotlessly clean and a good comfortable bed, though there were a few anxious moments before the shower condescended to work. Excellent breakfast served by very pleasant staff, receptionist the night before couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Excellent restaurant a few doors along the street and a nearby pub with a local "character" to chat to and live music rounded off a very enjoyable stay. Can't recommend too highly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeekendPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
524 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossian's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossian's Hotel

Address: High Street, Fort William PH33 6DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ossian's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ossians Hotel Fort William
Ossian's Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing