We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, and great welcome!”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, and great welcome!”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My friend and I are were on holiday from Canada and along with my sister, we originally wanted to see Oban. All the hotels were booked there so we tried Fort William. Very glad we did as we were fortunate enough to find and book rooms in the Clan Macduff Hotel for three nights from 23rd May. When we arrived in Fort William the weather was just terrible but the staff at the hotel were so gracious and helpful the weather was soon forgotten. The food was mouth watering to the point that if you stay for any length of time you will certainly gain weight. When we come back to Scotland again I will definitely return to the Clan Macduff Hotel. I will certainly recommend this hotel to all my friends in Canada. Thanks to all the staff for taking such good care of us .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgtmclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    326
    128
    38
    16
See reviews for
177
457
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We have just spent a week at this hotel and what a good time we had. Our room was large with a patio window onto the balcony overlooking the loch it was very clean and well furnished. Breakfast was a joy with full waitress service and a good choice of menu The dinner menu had adequate choices and the food was well cooked and plentiful.. All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the dining room and the lounges are superb. It is certainly worth the extra money to have a room with a loch view if you go for any length of time. We have had overnight stays here in the past and used a smaller room which again was clean and well furnished and adequate for short stays. We would certainly return again to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a loch view are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpaul001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed here for one day while on a trip across the Highlands. It is located about a 5 minute drive out the centre of Fort WIlliam. Check in was quick, the receptionist showed us to our room.

Our room was warm, clean. We were based round the back of the hotel, but it was quiet at night and we slept fine. Breakfast was waitress service + was good. We ate here at night too, while our food was fine, there were complaints that night form other customers + food was sent back uneaten. Other meals were ordered by those customers + they got their meals free.

It takes around 20 minutes to walk into the centre of Fort William from the hotel. Car parking was plentiful + safe.

While I do recommend the hotel to others, we wouldnt stay here again. There are many more choices of places to stay all along that road.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joviscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Our room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel enjoys splendid views, but is rather a long way out of Fort William, especially if you've walked 96 miles to get to F Bill. We needed to leave at 7.15am and no early breakfast was offered, but a perfectly adequate pack-up instead. We didn't use the restaaurant, but hotel staff advised us well on the best curry house in town.
A downside, although not the hotel's fault, was that our pre-booked taxi let us down and we nearly missed our 7.42am train - DO NOT USE TEN-TEN TAXIS.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I would like to thank all of the management and staff for such an enjoyable stay i have stayed here before and it has improved considerablyI,i never no what to write on a review but all i need to say is look after your chef the food was fantastic , the soups every night was beautiful and piping hot the mains, vegetables and potato selection amazing and to die for,i asked your duty manager "sarah" to tell me who your chef was so i can congratulate him for such great food"matt" i was told is your chef and a great one at that,next time im here in a few months i would like to talk to matt personally to thank him,also all the rooms was spotlessly clean staff very friendly breakfast great cant complain at all beautiful ill see you in a few months thankyou

Room Tip: loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workaholic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbeltown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Very busy at check in but was greeted so warmly, nothing was too much trouble. Took our little dog with us and the room we were given was spotless, even in the passageways you could smell polish. The bed was very comfortable and cannot emphasise too much of the cleanliness of everywhere. The breakfast is waitress served, all of whom were smiling and very attentive. The food, lovely. Great place, would definitely recommend to friends and Family.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertmorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have returned to stay at the Clan Macduff Hotel in Fort William on several occasions and in our experience this hotel has consistently strived to provide a friendly and professional service for its guests. The hotel has a stunning viewpoint overlooking Loch Linnhe and is roughly a 20 minute walk away from the centre of Fort William (the walk is a very pleasant experience). We always enjoy a walk over to the Loch across the road from the hotel where you can see a variety of birdlife and sometimes catch sight of seals swimming in the Loch.

The hotel service is excellent and over the years we have come to know some of the staff members quite well - they are a credit to the hotel and their professionalism, engaging personalities and their commitment to guests is admirable. The hotel provides an array of choice within their breakfast menu (our friends loved the locally sourced kippers); the food is very tasty and well-presented. The breakfast service is efficient and is especially enjoyable when you acquire a table looking out at the wonderful view.
For other times of the day guests have a choice of two comfortable seating areas in the hotel where they can relax and order tea/coffee and biscuits while browsing through a choice of reading material provided by the hotel or simply chill out while admiring the scenery.

For evening times there is an on-site restaurant or you can take the more relaxed option and order a bar meal (my husband particularly liked the venison sausages) and relax with a beer or spoil yourself with a good quality Scottish malt whisky from the extensive choice behind the bar.

We will be returning to the Clan Macduff hotel as it has consistently proven to be an ideal base from which to tour the Highlands - our thanks to the Fyffe family and to the hotel staff, we had a wonderful time, see you all next year!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
553 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
586 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing