We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stop”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
north west england
Level Contributor
394 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stop”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

It’ll be fair to say that the hotel has a very dated feel to it. Perhaps not surprising as it has, apparently, been in family hands for nearly 40 years. Some of the furnishings certainly date to that – for example, heavy dark wood in our bedroom which did nothing to lighten the room already dark by its proximity to the cliff face which is almost literally within touching distance of the window. Suggest if you’re here for a little while, it’ll be worth trying to get a lake facing room (which, presumably, costs more).

The room is clean and comfy though, with all that you need for an overnight stay.

Breakfast continues the air of quaintness. It’s served by a real person, not the usual scramble for a buffet. And there’s all the usual expectations for the “full fry up”. Quantity certainly, if not top quality. Sausage was of the unpleasant pappy “catering” variety. Baked beans were in a thin sauce. But, this aside, it was OK, although probably not as good as your favourite “greasy spoon” local caff.

All in all, it's OK for overnight - but I wouldnt want to stop longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    303
    121
    32
    15
See reviews for
161
438
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Booked this hotel for free parking and the restaurant overlooking the loch. Was easy to find en route into Fort William, ample parking, clean and comfortable rooms with terrific views over the loch. Staff very friendly. Expert whisky advice at the lovely bar. Breakfast was served at your table with a good selection of choices on offer. Hotel has lovely scottish features about it down to the tartan carpets. You really know you are in Scotland. Would not hesitate to book again. One regular visitor there said it was the best hotel on this main road into Fort William. Always his first choice.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

A bit faulty towers and old fashioned in mummys way. We had to wait a long time to get checked-in while the receptionist showed some people to their room, I think the manager came along, rather than check us in, she enquired where the receptionist was stating she would not be long as she walk back into her office.

The twin room was spacious if tired in decor. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice41halford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Our planned sailing holiday on the West Coast was stormed off due to unseasonably high winds and torrential rain, and we found ourselves land bound and looking for somewhere to stay. Clan MacDuff made us feel very welcome and the staff were fantastically helpful, recommending great alternative (indoor and outdoor) activities in and around Fort William to keep us busy. The hotel is lovely, with a nice view of the loch from the lounge. However, the real highlight of our stay there was the food: everything was hearty, generous and delicious - perfect food for after a busy day exploring a beautiful part of Scotland. We will definitely be back, and will be recommending Clan MacDuff to everyone we meet!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganamccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My friend and I are were on holiday from Canada and along with my sister, we originally wanted to see Oban. All the hotels were booked there so we tried Fort William. Very glad we did as we were fortunate enough to find and book rooms in the Clan Macduff Hotel for three nights from 23rd May. When we arrived in Fort William the weather was just terrible but the staff at the hotel were so gracious and helpful the weather was soon forgotten. The food was mouth watering to the point that if you stay for any length of time you will certainly gain weight. When we come back to Scotland again I will definitely return to the Clan Macduff Hotel. I will certainly recommend this hotel to all my friends in Canada. Thanks to all the staff for taking such good care of us .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgtmclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We have just spent a week at this hotel and what a good time we had. Our room was large with a patio window onto the balcony overlooking the loch it was very clean and well furnished. Breakfast was a joy with full waitress service and a good choice of menu The dinner menu had adequate choices and the food was well cooked and plentiful.. All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the dining room and the lounges are superb. It is certainly worth the extra money to have a room with a loch view if you go for any length of time. We have had overnight stays here in the past and used a smaller room which again was clean and well furnished and adequate for short stays. We would certainly return again to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a loch view are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpaul001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed here for one day while on a trip across the Highlands. It is located about a 5 minute drive out the centre of Fort WIlliam. Check in was quick, the receptionist showed us to our room.

Our room was warm, clean. We were based round the back of the hotel, but it was quiet at night and we slept fine. Breakfast was waitress service + was good. We ate here at night too, while our food was fine, there were complaints that night form other customers + food was sent back uneaten. Other meals were ordered by those customers + they got their meals free.

It takes around 20 minutes to walk into the centre of Fort William from the hotel. Car parking was plentiful + safe.

While I do recommend the hotel to others, we wouldnt stay here again. There are many more choices of places to stay all along that road.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joviscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing