We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel, excellent views, great breakfast.”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“charming hotel, excellent views, great breakfast.”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is located on the loch and the restaurant and bar (and some rooms) have very lovely views especially during sunset. The rooms are decent sized and come with tables and chairs, tea and coffee etc. The furnishings were a little dated but I quite liked it as it added to the charm of this hotel. The breakfast was very good and the rooms were clean. The town is a decent walk away and we chose to take a ten minute cab rather than walk as it was rather cold when we went.

Room Tip: If you want views ask for a room that faces the loch however the restaurant and bar all face the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    296
    120
    32
    15
See reviews for
161
431
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

21 of us enjoyed 3 nights of comfort and friendly service. Bedrooms well furnished and very clean. Rooms well soundproofed. Good bathroom facilities with plenty of hot water. Enjoyed the luxury of public room for our group in the evening. Public areas well furnished, very clean and welcoming with beautiful views of Loch Linnhe from its elevated position. Plenty parking and grounds well maintained. Excellent meals all table service and adequate portions to satisfy us hungry walkers. Good memus at all meals with extra offered at breakfast. All staff offered service above expectation. Highly recommended and look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel give lovely views of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilltopPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed for 3 days, rooms clean and water hot. Staff very friendly, breakfast average, dinner very good. Beds comfortable heaters in bathroom.

Room Tip: book early and double check booking- our booking was lost despite booking 3/4 months before travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcycato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

will definitely recommend to others staff so helpful and friendly

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night.
The room was clean with a nice shower in the en-suite.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We ate our evening meal in the bar. The meal was reasonbly priced and the service was good.
The breakfast was excellent and plentiful - they also do a brilliant vegetarian option.
We plan to return

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davrob_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

A motel type establishment (website says 1965) but one that does not feel dated at all. Rooms was clean, large and comfortable. Decor tweaked to painted walls etc, bathroom up to date, lift looks like a new replacement so generally has character but not dated. Well maintained carpets, paintwork etc.

Squarely aimed at the tourist market (breakfast from 8 should deter tradesmen) and self drive as is a mile and a half from town. I saw no white vans or coaches.

Ample parking space. Friendly and helpful staff and reasonably priced.

Two imperfections:

The rooms are poorly soundproofed - Willie next door did the crossword in bed with the wife. That is not problematic as the clientelle retire early and this seems to be encouraged - Restaurant last orders are officially 20.00 (although bar snacks seemed available later).

Secondly, breakfast is waitress service which in practice means portion control. Although the menu says you can ask for more, otherwise expect one sausage, one rasher etc. Similarly, the evening restaurant menu is £20 for 3 courses which is OK but if you have spent the day walking the only filling option is Haddock and chips at which point it looks pricey.

So a good hotel but the core market is 60+ couples, retiring early, not hitting town, the bar or with big appetites. Perhaps that's just late September though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crant0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

What a great stay! Very impressed with friendly service, lovely room and all round nice atmosphere! The hotel is situated directly opposite a great water view which you look out onto whilst enjoying a hearty brekky. Only slight complaint is that we paid the extra for a view from our room however as our room was on the side of the hotel, we could only view it from the small balcony! Rooms are a little tired in places but spotlessly clean! Would def stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubble86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing