We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A study of contrasts.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A study of contrasts.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Clan MacDuff provides a case of extremes. On the positive side, the location, overlooking the loch, is very pleasant, especially for sunsets; the staff were pleasant and helpful; the lounges and restaurants were well located and comfortable, and the food wholesome. on the negative side, the bedrooms were 'tired', and in desperate need of an upgrade. Additionally, thin walls, ceilings and doors ensured that we heard all of the activities from neighbouring rooms and walkways.

However, the positives generally outweighed the negatives, and travelers will likely find the 'Clan MacDuff' value for money if traveling through Fort William.

Room Tip: Seemingly, if you are prepared to pay a premium, there are rooms that provide a view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    289
    116
    32
    14
See reviews for
157
416
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Wonderful location about 20 mins walk to the centre. Staff are friendly and smartly dressed. We had a room with a view and it was well worth the extra money. Meals were lovely and there was plenty of choice behind the bar. I would definitely go back, There are some wonderful areas to visit

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here three nights for,dinner, bed and breakfast. Accomodation was spotless and the staff were extremely friendly. The food was excellent and the three night package was exceptional
Value for money.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tip, pay the extra and get a front facing balcony room as the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossjohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

A dated, but comfortable hotel on the outskirts of Fort William. The receptionist was helpful and very lovely. Can't comment on breakfast as we slept in and missed it. Call for a price, because the price they quoted was cheaper than the bookings website we were using.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allirajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I had a fantastic stay here at the MacFuff hotel last weekend and will come again without hesitation! Travelling with my partner we were very impressed with the location (beautiful view of the Loch). The food was superb and all of the staff are brilliantly friendly and lovely to talk to. The place is also spotless and had a very comfortable stay. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyDEGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I don't know how they do it for the price. £80 bought the two of us a decent sized ensuite room for the night with views over the loch and a generous breakfast served with a warm welcome. Everything was clean and tidy in the room and the bed was really comfy, and although the bathroom was nothing special there was loads of hot water and a decent shower. Location was on the main road on the edge of Fort William but the hotel's set back from the road, so there's no noise. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJEB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We (two adults and three kids) spent four nights at the Clan MacDuff Hotel. The hotel was clean and the family room was large enough for the five of us without having to climb over each other. My older boys loved the bunk beds. We did not have a loch view - mainly because we spent our days outdoors and a view from the hotel room was not really that important. The view from the back of the hotel is just the side of a hill, but again, not a problem if you plan to spend the days outdoors anyway.

Dinner in the bar was not extraordinarily, but good for everyone, especially considering the large picture windows that allowed us to eat and drink and soak in the Highlands. They only had one ale and one lager on tap. It would have been nice to have a larger selection, but they had a good selection in bottles, so that was not really anything other than a minor inconvenience.

The breakfast fare was good (again, nothing extraordinary) and they had a large selection from which to order. The service was very good and friendly. The waitresses were very friendly with my children and made us feel welcome every morning.

I would definitely recommend the Clan Macduff to anyone wanting to visit the Scottish Highlands and if I return, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear look at the side of a hill. If you want a view, request a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayPDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing