We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clan Macduff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Caledonian Hotel(Fort William)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$873
US$810
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
US$314
US$297
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lime Tree(Fort William)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
361
341
141
39
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
341
141
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaitress servicedining roomfront facinglounge barloch viewlovely hoteltwo nightsreception staffovernight stopgood sizefantastic viewstriple roombreakfast was excellentbit datedshort stayplenty of parkingcomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed in the Clan MacDuff on recommendation from friends who live in the area. The hotel is large, with a lounge, restaurant and bar, all of which have wonderful views over the loch and sweeping hills behind.

The room was large, very clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and courteous, if a little stern! Free WiFi functioned very well.

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant although after tasting their wonderful breakfast (full fried breakfast, smoked haddock, kippers, oatmeal, etc) we wish we had.

Good value at £79/night for a loch facing double room. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Ujamaflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Clan Macduff in May for 2 nights. It was, as usual, excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was fantastic. The family room we had was perfect. The view from the hotel is great and we had 2 relaxing evenings in the lounge looking out over the loch. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefooteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Five of us had a fantastic three days staying at the Clan Macduff at the end of April. Our rooms 53, 55 and 1 were spacious and clean with a reasonable sized bath to ease the tired feet. The staff, some of whom had been with the hotel some years, reponded to our banter, all requests and really made us feel special. The food was superb, we don't get haddock like that down south and the breakfasts kept us going all day. Initially created in 1969 as a motel and added to over the years, the owner who incidently skippered his own yacht in the 1981/82 Whitbread Round the World is often around in the restuarant, what an amazing guy.

Room Tip: It is just far enough away to the South of Ft William to escape the biz and the views across Loch Linnhe both on a sunny evening or a misty morning are something you would wish to have at home - absolutely stunning
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

2 family groups (plus dog) enjoyed a weekend stay in rooms 22, 25 and 41. The rooms were all clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff (and in particular the owners) were friendly, helpful and polite and couldn't have been more accommodating. Our breakfasts and bar supper were most enjoyable and with a superb choice on these menus we were only sorry to miss the chance to sample the dinner menu! We were fortunate enough to have the most beautiful weather during our stay over the last weekend in April and this enhanced a most enjoyable visit. Congratulations and our sincere thanks to all at Clan Macduff and we're really looking forward to our next stay with you.
Jim from Brechin
Jim from Brechin

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 25 which offered beautiful views of the loch
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Clan MacDuff provides a case of extremes. On the positive side, the location, overlooking the loch, is very pleasant, especially for sunsets; the staff were pleasant and helpful; the lounges and restaurants were well located and comfortable, and the food wholesome. on the negative side, the bedrooms were 'tired', and in desperate need of an upgrade. Additionally, thin walls, ceilings and doors ensured that we heard all of the activities from neighbouring rooms and walkways.

However, the positives generally outweighed the negatives, and travelers will likely find the 'Clan MacDuff' value for money if traveling through Fort William.

Room Tip: Seemingly, if you are prepared to pay a premium, there are rooms that provide a view of the loch.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews