We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We chose this hotel for a one night stop over on our way to Loch Ness and purely made the decision based on the name!
When we arrived we were impressed by the reception staff who took the time to show us to our room and tell us where the bar and restaurant were. Our room was at the back and had a view of a retaining wall but that was what we expected as we knew when we booked we didn't have a view of the loch.
The bar was friendly and welcoming with a good menu and over 50 different malts to choose from. Staff were also helpful on this front offering advice on which to try.
The view from the bar and restaurant is spectacular and, because the hotel is slightly elevated, not blocked by the road outside.
In the morning a walk outside into the car park was well worth it for a few picturs of the flat calm loch.
Overall we were very impressed by Clan Macduff and wished that we were staying there for more that the one night. It was by far the best of the 3 hotels we had in the highlands and also the cheapest.
Highly recommended for a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no view but its not a long walk outside or to the lounge bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunk_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

spent 1 wk at this hotel and loved it. staff very friendly and helpful, rooms spotless with plenty of space. food second to none although a bit lilimted on choice of bar meals. restaurant service very gd with plenty of helpful staff. views form hotel breathe taking. ideal spot for touring the highlands.-- lots to see and do within immediate vacinity. accessible for disabled people great. cannot complain about hotel completely faultless and have no problems returning and recommending it !

Room Tip: some rooms have a view of lough, others to back of hotel are cooler, also disabled rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyg2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel will be rated as much to individuals' personal standards as expectations; and this might go some way to explain why some reviewers' experiences were better than others. We chose what we considered to be a low cost hotel where we could base ourselves for a week on our first ever visit to the Highlands. We then chose what seems to have been one of their best rooms, overlooking the loch and with a small balcony. The view is stunning, as are the views from the dining room and lounge bar. The fact remains that the same view includes the car park and the main Fort William to Glasgow road. Unusually for me this did not detract too much and there is little traffic at night. My advice to the really noise sensitive or jet lagged would be to take the cheaper rooms overlooking the back. I liked the fact that there was NO airconditioning or all night humming noises!
We saw little evidence of children or coach parties or rowdy groups. It is 2 miles outside the town but a taxi costs only £5.00 to the High St or £6 to the station. There are plenty of taxis!
Yes it is a little dated, but it is extremely well run with friendly and professional staff. We never had to wait long for anything. What we saw was spotlessly clean and meticulously maintained. We liked the waitress service for breakfasts. Lounge bar food was a bit hit and miss. Their selection of malt whiskies was impressive. We thankfully had no problems with wi-fi ! Fort William was a good base for our agenda but we were pleased to be away from the town itself

Room Tip: We were in Room 42 on the first floor. 40 & 44 would be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

A beautiful location, stunning views but you must ask for a loch view to wake up to in the morning - outstanding!
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Good breakfast and poor to average bar meal in the evening.
Nice large room, but very dark at the back overlooking a wall! Blankets on the bed (!) but bed was comfortable. Bathroom small clean and adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curryten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

A lovely hotel on the outskirts of Fort William with very nice clean well appointed rooms. Beautiful views from the restaurant and bar overlooking the loch. Friendly receptionist who was happy to advise on the local amenities. A little bit outside Fort William but that was not a problem for us. Breakfast was very good quality with friendly and efficient service by the staff. We would definitely stay at Clan Macduff again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were passing through Fort William and wanted somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. Clan Macduff is a little way out of the town and faces Loch Linnie so we felt this would be an ideal place to make a stop. We paid the small additional charge for a loch view room and despite facing the main road we had no disturbance from road traffic or the car park. The hotel and bedrooms are a bit 1980s but comfortable. The en suite (room 9) had been modernised and had one of the best showers ever. However, the beds had plastic mattress protectors which, whilst I appreciate the need to extend the life of the beds, made for a poor night's sleep. Another issue was wi fi. There is a sign outside the hotel advertising this but there is limited connectivity. I noticed one or two people using laptops in the lounge but my iPad refused to connect beyond the immediate reception area and certainly not in the bedroom.
Food-wise we ate in the bar and were satisfied with portions and cost. Breakfast was well cooked and there was a good selection. If you enjoy a wee dram then you are in for a treat with their enormous selection of whisky. Would I stay there again? Yes, if they sort out the wi fi and remove the plastic sheets.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Woolywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A fairly modern hotel with a traditional feel. Positioned across a road from a beautiful Loch, the views are spectacular from the restaurant and if you are fortunate enough to have a front facing room, which we didn't. Our room was large and well appointed with a good sized bathroom. Food was very good with the choice of set breakfast and the offers of a larger helping if wanted. Evening meal was very good value and well cooked with a £20-00 3 course menu, we only stopped one night but would have been happy to make this our base for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotogJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
546 reviews
3 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,050 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £86 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing