We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The hotel is a little bit out of town, too fear to walk but fine if you have a car. Not a bad hotel, looks good from the outside, plenty of parking, room was a nice size, clean and comfortable. Service from all staff was very good, friendly and attentive. Evening meal and breakfast were quite good and the views from the dining area over the lake opposite are simply breathtaking. The views certainly enhance the hotel. Room was a bit dated but comfortable nonetheless, and pricing I thought was reasonable. Not 5 star, but then they didn't charge 5 star prices. We found our stay here comfortable and relaxing, and have no hesitation in staying here again when next in Fort William.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    292
    118
    32
    14
See reviews for
160
422
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for a weekend break and found it ideal for our requirements. The staff were friendly and polite and made us feel welcome. The room and bathroom were both spacious and well equipped, very comfortable. We were especially impressed with the breakfast which was cooked to order and excellent quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

A 3 night stay with elderly parents in July.
Good friendly and helpful staff within the dining room/bar. Very helpful towards parents. Fairly good food in the evenings, saved going into Fort William after long day travelling. Rooms clean and comfortable. Not too far from Fort William and other attractions in the area. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The welcome was fine and businesslike. The room and the fittings were dated but comfortable and perfectly adequate for our overnight stay on a lengthy journey. Possibly it is a little overpriced. The frontage is fine with neat lawns and a good parking facility. The distance from Fort William meant that we decided to eat dinner in the hotel, (not that Fort William is exactly renowned for a fine dining experience!). This was the low point of our stay. The service was friendly, swift and OK in all respects, but the food was not of good quality and was not cooked well. I would normally have raised this with the staff at the time, but looking around at what other diners were eating, I could see there was not point. You just have to accept this as a hazard of staying at mid-price hotels in the highlands. On the other hand, the breakfast was substantial and rather good. The service here was very good. We left for the next leg of our journey, well rested and with a good sustaining breakfast. I mark it as average, not as a negative comment, but because it really is middle of the road. Not excellent: not terrible. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have little balconies which overlook the loch, and would give excellent views as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

ROOM
We stayed here for three nights in a twin room as part of a Scotland tour. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and attentive, they showed us to our room. To our dismay we were in a room in an annex across the car park, not attached to the main building. When we got to the room it was boiling hot, and the windows were open (it wasn't a hot day), and the heating was off! It was so hard to breathe. It was uncomfortable too.
The beds were ok however, hard but bearable and sleepable-in...
The issue with the room was the shaver socket not working. We asked at reception and they didn't know what to do so they gave us an Asia to UK plug converter which of course solved nothing. We then had to buy a converter from Morrisons. Also, the kettle was last 'safety checked' (according to the PASS stickers) in 1998. The kettle didn't work so sadly we didn't know if it was safe or not. Aww.
The plugs also over heat and burn. Plugging a laptop in is almost a death threat, sparks fly everywhere. The electrics are SHOCKING. (Pardon the pun).

FOOD
The breakfast is lovely here. The food is nice but the serve up is strange. A menu is given which basically states 'Small English breakfast' 'Medium English Breakfast' 'Large English Breakfast' or Haggis. You then order one and get it. There's a small table of juice in the corner. The food itself is lovely though. We had an evening meal once here which was tasty, but for Chilli Chicken it was more Chilli than Chicken.

LOCATION
It's in a crap loaction. It's on the main road maybe two miles from Fort William. You can't walk to F.W. but if you did it'd take you about 30 minutes. Parking is free here however. Fort William itself is boring. It's one main high street of repetitive gift shops and takeaways. There is a loch directly opposite the hotel/town but to get by it you'd need to go through a boat yard. The parking is limited and there is no free parking for the High Street. There is a Lidl, Morrisons and McDonald's at the end of the town. It's fine, but not brilliant.

MUST SEE MUST DO!
To the plus points; getting out the hotel. We climbed Ben Nevis after the first night, in a highly regrettable 10 hours. It's physically hard going up, mentally hard going down. It's a must do thing though. It's a long, long trip and a very hard one too. Do not under estimate it. From the road you can see the almost half way point, no where near the top. It's a breath taking task but if you're inexperienced in climbing like we are, then take it steady and prepare yourself for a full day trip. Your legs will hurt for the next few days. You'll feel every step. Parking wise there's a £3 charge in the visitor centre. We decided to park by the youth hostel which was a terrible idea. the path up to meet the path from the visitor centre is like practically scaling the mountain. Horrid. But if you even mildly set your mind to it, you will do it. It's a real achievement and you'll smile all the way back. Ben Nevis Centre is about 3 miles from the hotel.

The Jacobite train is a must for enthusiasts and Harry Potter fans. It's not cheap but it's worth it. The steam train travels the viaduct that is filmed for the Hogwarts Express and the Jacobite was the steam train used!! It's about 1.15hours to Mallaig and 1.15 back. Mallaig is beautiful, you get maybe an hour and half there. There was a couple of seals swimming in the harbour eating dogfish! It was spectacular! We went to the Tea Garden for dinner, the fish is beautiful, freshly caught that day in Mallaig. This train ride should not be missed. The station is next to Morrisons. Parking is hell. There are two trains and the morning train's cars don't leave the car park until after the afternoon's one because of an instant switch over. Parking is limited so if possible get the morning train unlike us :D

I hope you feel more confident now. The hotel's ok for sleeping but don't count on it if you need a cup of tea, a shave or power.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building. Out of the 10 annex rooms none have a balcony. The whole buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetteANDJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in July/August. The location was perfect for our mini tour of Scotland.
We visited Loch Ness, Inverness, Fort Agustus, Oban, Glen Coe, Malliag, Skye & Fort William, all within easy reach.The views from our room were amazing, the hotel was very clean, comfy & the staff friendly & helpful. We really dropped on with the weather, with only one day unsettled.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel offer no views at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

A very good hotel in a convenient location to stay overnight if you travel from Isle of Skye to Edinburgh/Glasgow or vice versa. It was a little bit difficult to find it as there were no signs in Fort Wiliams pointing the direction

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Serge_RUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing