We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt expect more”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldnt expect more”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Our family group had 2 rooms. Absolutely no complaints. Although a little dated in decor, the rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed, and had the things some modern places lack - e.g. hanging hooks in the bathroom!
Breakfast choice/quality was excellent.
It is a little way outside Ft William, but otherwise ideal place to stay, e.g. if you are taking the Mallaig train; we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Some have views, others not. But our non-view room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    314
    125
    33
    16
See reviews for
167
446
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our family (parents and two adult "children") stayed 3 nights in two rooms. Yes, the hotel had a homey, retro lodge-feel to it. But it was perfect for visiting the Ft. William environs, including Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis Range, Oban, Isle of Skye, Loch Ness, Glen Coe, etc. We looked forward to dining there in the evening rather than scavenging for restaurants, and the included breakfast was enough to hold some for the day! The dining room and bar had a nice view of Loch Linnhe. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Parking ample. Could have wished for a stronger, more secure internet connection as one son had work to do. No amenities like pool or fitness center, but we weren't looking for that. Outdoors offers fitness opportunities galore.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hotel is great, we stayed for two nights so we could climb Ben Nevis and although our room was slightly dated decor wise, it was lovely and clean. All the staff here are really friendly, the food was great, the breakfast especially! We wont be climbing the mountain again!, but if we go to Fort William, we'll definitely stop here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickthechipbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The only negative was it had the " a bit dated" feeling (but well maintained). Staff helpful - room good- good breakfast and a great view of the Loch. We ate in the bar one night and it was reasonable bar food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

An excellent hotel with fantastic views over the loch, friendly and helpful staff and good food.
What we also greatly appreciated was the quiet and peaceful atmosphere - no loud bands/music making it difficult to hear yourself speak - just able to sit and relax in the Lounge, Bar or Bedroom with a drink and enjoy the view. The Chef's nightly "Specials" when added to the a' la carte menu give an excellent and varied choice. Just wish we could find a hotel like this in all of the holiday resorts around the Country. Would love to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Loch facing room - they do overlook the main road but the hotel is set up and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed in room 15 on ground floor. The view was very restricted. But more importantly the roof creaked every time any body walked on the first floor. Could not sleep till late and again woke up very early. Had a disturbed sleep

Room Tip: Do not sleep in room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliyaSoomro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

The room was spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water, bed was comfy and the staff were friendly. In my humble opinion these are the most important points.

As a bonus - the room was big, the view from the dining room was beautiful and breakfast was really rather good (the usual fayre).

The negatives - the blankets on the bed are not good (please invest in duvets), the lounge for drinks is not that great and I think it's over priced.

To be noted - it is a fair old trot into town which suited us just fine as we like to walk and the sun shone, but may be a negative for others not so keen.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2point4kidsAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
538 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
477 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing