We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
ABERDEEN SCOTLAND
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great getaway”
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Stayed here overnight as was at a family celebration.Room very clean,warm couldn't be faulted.We were at the back of hotel so only looked onto a wall but the front facing rooms were superb,great views over loch linnhe.I would pay the extra if I went again for a view like that.

  • Liked — CLEANLINESS,GOOD FOOD
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KANGA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    325
    127
    35
    16
See reviews for
174
455
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

was very pleasantly surprised after booking on-line, we made up our mind to go to this hotel after reading good reviews about it. service was very polite and friendly. we had dinner there for the two nights which we stayed and could not fault it. would certainly return

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank lanzaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Discovered this gem by reviewing TripAdvisor.

A bit Olde Worlde but very comfortable, clean and accommodating. We took the dinner, B&B package to save looking for restaurants at the end of our busy days. We were well fed and jollied along by the waitresses.

We did not specifically request a room with a view (at additional cost) but we still had a glimpse of the loch from a side window. The room was quite comfortable for the three adults sharing.

No laundry facilities on site but a notice in the foyer directed us to another small hotel half a mile away.

Would recommend a stay here just for the experience.

  • Liked — Old world charm - dress for dinner!
  • Disliked — The tiny ironing board in the tiny ironing room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunyip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2007

Just returned with my wife from a five day stay. Staff very helpful but not obtrusive. Used both the bar meal and dining room for the evening meal and was very pleased with the selection and service. Great as a base for touring the area as it is convenient for the area from Oban to Inverness

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mk4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

A very well run hotel on the outskirts of Fort William. Hotel was spotlessly clean and elevated location gave fabulous views over the Loch from the lounge and dining room. Bedroom contained everything necessary for a comfortable stay and staff were efficient and friendly. Genuine "Highland Hospitality" and good value for money. Also free wi-fi internet access.

Fort William is a good base for touring though the town itself, apart from waterfront, seems to have lost much of its character...a sad result of barborous town planners in the 1960's.and the influx of High Street chain stores. Anyway enough moaning about my pet gripes!

For good dining the seafood restaurant The Crannog was excellent and should not disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshirelad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
968 reviews
321 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 761 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at Clan MacDuff Hotel for two nights in September. This was a great find through TripAdviser. We booked a small room at the end of the building with a partial view of Loch Linnhe. They provided the access code for free wireless access in the room and in the lobby. Everything in the room and bathroom was clean, and everything worked fine, including the heater. We needed an electrical adaptor, and they provided one at the reception desk. We found the dinner a good value. The dinner menu changes daily, and the dining room overlooks Loch Linnhe which changes hue as the sun goes down. Even more impressive was the full Scottish breakfast with choice of one egg with a view of the morning sunshine warming the mountain on the other side of the loch. Most of the guests were retired couples who preserved the quiet and sophisticated resort atmosphere. There is a public room next to the dining room, and a separate room called a “quiet room” where people can read or contemplate the view. The grounds slope upward from the loch-side road so that the building has a high vantage overlooking the road, the loch, and the pristine slope on the other side. The parking lot in front of the building had more than 40 cars at night, and by 11 a.m., ours was the only car left; everyone had left to tour the area or to move on. The staff were hardworking, friendly and helpful. Some of the waitresses, who also appeared to be housekeeping staff, made a special effort to greet the guests and make them feel at home. The hotel seemed old with creaking floorboards and a busy maintenance man, but it worked with the precision of a well-run resort such as those my family visited in the summers of the late forties in Wisconsin’s north woods when the density of vacation houses was considerably lower. The hospitality at the Clan MacDuff Hotel enhanced the still-unspoiled beauty of the highlands at an affordable price. We wished we could have taken advantage of their special tariff reduction for a three-day stay.

  • Liked — Picturesque location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — We already miss it and want to return
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Hotel in lovely position, we had a loch view room which was plenty big enough and very clean and comfortable. It is, however, far enough from town to need a car unless the weather is good when the 2.5mile walk would be nice.

Staff friendly and helpful with particular mention for our breakfast waitress who also cleaned our room who was an absolute ray of sunshine.

Sadly, however, the cooked breakfast was a bit on the small side and hardly set you up for the day. We did eat in the first night as we had had a long drive. The food was adequate but not inspiring. The eating experience would be more suitable for a "Package Tour" hotel.
The bar was comfortable if somewhat expensive.

All in all a pleasant hotel, which we could not really fault but something seemed to be lacking although we could not put our finger on it.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Indalo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
549 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
491 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing