We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Not our first visit to this hotel but it will be our last. We have visited this hotel on more that a few occasions over the last 10 years and have always enjoyed our stay but this stay was very different. The room we had on this occasion was a very small "double room" with an extremely poor mattress which needs replacing as soon as possible, as does the TV which did not work all of our visit. We reported the TV and another one was found but this one didn't work either. We were told it was probably the reception and nothing was done and no apology was given!. It has becoming quite expensive for what is offered compared with other hotels in the area. Breakfast is very good but bar meals are expensive for what is on offer. The views from the front of the hotel are wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for one night in a room with a view. The view from the hotel are spectacular. The communal rooms are a little dated but the wrap around views more than make up for this.

The room was nice and the reception staff very helpfully. There was plenty of car parking and the hotel is only a short taxi ride (or a 40 minute walk) from the centre of Fort William.

My only caveat with the hotel is with the restaurant and bar. In the evening, despite not being that late, the staff were noisily making up the tables for breakfast the next day, we couldn't get served at the bar and at breakfast no sooner had we put our spoon down the dish was gone. Small gripes but not conducive for the most relaxing of meals.

Overall this shouldn't put you off staying in a good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stratt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed for 4 nights during April 2013 for a last minuted skiing trip! The hotel occupies a good location close to Fort William, although probably not within walking distance. I was on a B&B room rate which was great value for money. The room was clean and comfortable and hand pleasant views over the Loch. Breakfast was tasty and staff attentive. I ate in the hotel every evening and enjoyed the wholesome homemade food in the restaurant which overlooked the Loch.

Would happily recommend to anyone wanting a good value stay in somewhere larger than your typical guesthouse or B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Took a room with my wife for the weekend after many B&Bs in Fort Williams had no vacancies.
I was surprised for the better with the size of the room, the room cleanliness, the hotel breakfast and the spirit selection at the hotel bar.
All in all I spent 3 nights while taking day trips to Glencoe, Loch Ness, Inverness and Skye.
As this hotel is outside the town center and not within walking distance it's suitable only if you have a vehicle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Reception staff very friendly and helpful,room was clean but a bit dated,only had breakfast which was very nice but the waiting staff could have been a bit more helpful as guests were wandering in didn't know what to do as the waiting staff just stood in a line with a dour expression on their faces.the hotel is not too near fort william so if your looking to have a wee drink its a fair walk back.When we visit fort william again we will be looking for a hotel nearer the town Centre.

Room Tip: We booked a loch view room but our windows faced up the loch not straight onto it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcconkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Taking my Grandweans on the Harry Potter Steam Train from Fort William to Mallaig was a marvellous day out. Jules and I decided to travel up the night before and booked a Superior Double Room. We splashed out £112 for the night (B&B Only) and looked forward to a romantic stay.
The view directly facing the Loch was beautiful ( though at home we overlook the Clyde and Holy Loch and find that far nicer).
The moderately sized double room , however, was somewhat disappointing being typically dated with worn furniture , mismatched bathroom , and a completely mystifying shower / bath mixer tap that this technophobe failed to master. Sound insulation was not good.
Food was OK but nothing special, and although the lonely kipper at breakfast was tasty I had to get my fill with toast and Jules commented on the lack of a yoghurt.
Fort William is one of the most expensive places to stay but has a lot to offer the visitor. If you want to enjoy the view there are loads of B&B overlooking the Loch at a much more realistic price. That's what we shall do when the younger Grandweans are ready to take the Steamer to Mallaig.

Room Tip: For stays in Fort William book well in advance for better selection of accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Clan Macduff Hotel. Fort William 16th August 2013
We stayed here for our first night on our trip around the Scottish Highlands, Great Hotel perfect location for our first night as we had drove up from Manchester.
Our room was a little small but had all the facilities that we wanted clean and fresh. We chose to eat in the restaurant of the hotel the menu was ample for what we wanted and the food was excellent, great staff attended all our needs.
Breakfast was excellent too, though we had to eat in the bar area as the restaurant was very full, the waitresses set up our table in a matter of seconds. It was nice to sit and eat breakfast in the bar as the restaurant was very warm being so full.
Would defiantly stay here again. Well done Macduff Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
3 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £98 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing