We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mattress! !!”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mattress! !!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the annexx away from the main hotel, very small double room, where the dressing table was placed it was a tight squeeze to get through the door, very small tv high up in the corner of the room which had poor reception
Shower was attached to bath very old system and a rubber mat to stand on !!!!
Everything was clean but the mattress on the bed was awful very thin and very uncomfortable.
The food was ok but the price very high for what you got.
The breakfast was good but the room very crowded you need to squeeze past people move chairs to get to your tables.
The "puffin place" is situated in the wrong place, yes there still is people that smoke, if they moved the shelter around the corner im sure everyone would be happy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppetjayGoa_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    315
    126
    33
    16
See reviews for
168
447
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Myself my husband and our little doggy Milo, stayed at this hotel in August 2013,the rooms where excellent, the food was amazing, the staff were lovely and helpful and had lovely manners, if we ever went there again we would definitely stay in this hotel again...Fort William is an amazing place lots to see and do,plus there's Ben Nevis right there for all to see.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namrac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

First impressions of this hotel were VERY POOR. Directly outside the MAIN entrance was a badly built, badly painted wooden hut with the name "Puffin Hut" actually painted on it....a SMOKING shed, complete with full ash trays ! This shed was directly outside the room we were given so we couldn't open our windows for the cigarette smoke !
The reception staff were professional but very blunt, not a warm welcome.
The restaurant service was far too fast. We were being asked for our order before we had even finished reading the menu. Our plates were snapped away the instant we put our knives and forks down. We felt we were being rushed out as quick as possible yet very few people were in the restaurant.
The hotel in general was very basic and not what we had expected. We will not stay there again nor recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADG567177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Not our first visit to this hotel but it will be our last. We have visited this hotel on more that a few occasions over the last 10 years and have always enjoyed our stay but this stay was very different. The room we had on this occasion was a very small "double room" with an extremely poor mattress which needs replacing as soon as possible, as does the TV which did not work all of our visit. We reported the TV and another one was found but this one didn't work either. We were told it was probably the reception and nothing was done and no apology was given!. It has becoming quite expensive for what is offered compared with other hotels in the area. Breakfast is very good but bar meals are expensive for what is on offer. The views from the front of the hotel are wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for one night in a room with a view. The view from the hotel are spectacular. The communal rooms are a little dated but the wrap around views more than make up for this.

The room was nice and the reception staff very helpfully. There was plenty of car parking and the hotel is only a short taxi ride (or a 40 minute walk) from the centre of Fort William.

My only caveat with the hotel is with the restaurant and bar. In the evening, despite not being that late, the staff were noisily making up the tables for breakfast the next day, we couldn't get served at the bar and at breakfast no sooner had we put our spoon down the dish was gone. Small gripes but not conducive for the most relaxing of meals.

Overall this shouldn't put you off staying in a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stratt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed for 4 nights during April 2013 for a last minuted skiing trip! The hotel occupies a good location close to Fort William, although probably not within walking distance. I was on a B&B room rate which was great value for money. The room was clean and comfortable and hand pleasant views over the Loch. Breakfast was tasty and staff attentive. I ate in the hotel every evening and enjoyed the wholesome homemade food in the restaurant which overlooked the Loch.

Would happily recommend to anyone wanting a good value stay in somewhere larger than your typical guesthouse or B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Took a room with my wife for the weekend after many B&Bs in Fort Williams had no vacancies.
I was surprised for the better with the size of the room, the room cleanliness, the hotel breakfast and the spirit selection at the hotel bar.
All in all I spent 3 nights while taking day trips to Glencoe, Loch Ness, Inverness and Skye.
As this hotel is outside the town center and not within walking distance it's suitable only if you have a vehicle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
539 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
937 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
477 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,011 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing