We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience with a fantastic view”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and had a very pleasant double room with a fantastic view over the loch. The receptionist was a little frosty on arrival but she did show us up to our room, giving a run down of the facilities as she went. The room itself was a good size, very clean and tidy with everything needed for a short stay. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and found the menu offered a good choice. The food was delicious and well presented although quite pricey for what it was. There was a nice bar area but the range of beer on offer was poor. Although there was a Guinness pump on the bar, it was served from a can. The breakfast was excellent and really set us up for the day ahead. The hotel is quite a way out of Fort William - we did walk it from the station on one occasion but it took us 45 minutes at a brisk pace.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the loch but away from the smoking hut below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Whilst recently touring around England and Scotland the wife and I decided to stay for a few days at this hotel and are really glad that we did. We dad a deluxe double room with balcony which looked out directly over Loch Linney - certainly one of the best views you could hope for.
The room was well appointed, comfortable and clean.
The restaurant and bar/restaurant served excellent food and shared the same beautiful view as our room.
The hotel is a few miles out of Fort William but only a few minutes by car.

Room Tip: Do try and get a room overlooking the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

don't expect luxury but DO expect a very clean and warm room and welcome ideal for base to explore the area, restaurant offers good choice for evening meal and breakfast, including many traditional Scottish choices , all staff were friendly and helpful the hotel offers a variety of rooms, some situated in an annex most with extensive views of loch Linnhe even tough it is across the busy and at times noisy A82

Room Tip: excellent base to explore Fort William area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooke206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived an hour early at the hotel and found that our room was not ready. We were shown a lounge with a large picture window looking across the water to beautiful scenery. The staff were very kind and brought us complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits and we just sat there taking in the scenery. When we got our room it was lovely and had a balcony looking again at the lovely scenery. A great start to our few days in Fort William. Clan MacDuff is a few minutes drive out of Fort William a bit far to walk so you do need a car, however it has a very large car park and parking is not a problem. Parking in Fort William was easy and cheap £1.50 for the day.The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and if you have a healthy appetite in the morning try the "Heelander". Dinner was also very good and the service at both meals was excellent. This is a hotel I would gladly revisit.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front with a balcony overlooking the water and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We (family of two adults and two kids) stayed here 1 night in summer because we planned everything last minute and it was the only place which still had vacancies. Seemed like the kind of place that might have been proud of itself 30-40 years ago, but nothing has changed since then, with the result that it has a tatty, worn and dated feel. Some staff seemed to have a defensive air, almost as if they felt this themselves. Not just the décor and furniture but also the food was from the past!. It was pretty poor, the sort of stuff that unfortunately reinforces Scotland's deep fried Mars bar reputation. Clueless about what good food really is.The porridge at breakfast was inedible, a sort of watery sludge that seemed to have been reheated many times over. When I asked if they had draught Guinness, the barmaid said "Of course" and proceeded to open a tin .....
What it does have is an absolutely glorious view over the Loch from the restaurant. The place is OK if you have no choice, but that's as much as you can say. Pretty poor value for money overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Love this hotel, the staff are lovely and the rooms smell clean and ARE clean, they take dogs on request at no extra charge. The breakfast is lovely, just ask if you want more. I stay here all the time when visiting Fort William or on my way to the Highlands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertmorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in July 2013 and found this hotel suited our travel needs. It has a large car park and as we had a room in the Annex we were able to park almost outside our room. The views of the loch are lovely even through the rain. The only disadvantage of being in the Annex was that we had to walk about 50m in the rain to get to the main building. We found the bar meals good value and the breakfasts were also very good. This hotel is about a 40 minute walk from the centre of Fort William so a bit too far unless you like a long walk but it is on a bus route. The only feature that we didn't like was the fact that the shower was in the bath and the shower curtain seemed to want to attach itself to your body!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
3 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £97 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing