We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night early April as a base for our climb up Ben Nevis. Had 2 dogs and we all received a warm welcome. Room very clean and furnished in a traditional style. Loved the tartan carpets in the corridors which looked brand new. Lovely communal areas - breakfast room was beautiful and waiting staff efficient and friendly. Breakfast ( I had veggie) was fine, would definitely stay there again ... as already commented on in previous reviews stunning views!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 26 - we had dogs so did nt expect a 'first class' room - try and get one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    326
    128
    38
    16
See reviews for
177
457
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Ah the Scottish highlands at their best. The hotel faces onto the loch with the mountains rising up behind... Breathtaking . Had porridge for breakfast ... With that view, what's not to like?? Rooms basic but clean. Lovely sitting area and bar on site. Lots of tourist attractions in the area. A must see for your first trip to Scotland

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

There is a lot of choice of hotels in Fort William but this should be the top of your list.
The hotel is easy to find being on the main road coming up from the South, right on the banks of the Loch. The website does not allow for bookings but don't let this put you off. Phone them and you will more than likely get a better deal than if you book through Late Rooms or Booking.com.
The restaurant is reasonably priced serving good pub style food.
The room was clean, large for a double and very quiet. All in all a very good night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Decent, friendly and comfortable. The rooms to the back look onto the cliff and are a bit dark, but still nice enough. The food was good and we ate there twice. The views to front are wonderful and I thought the fact that the hotel is a mile or two from the town was a bonus as it was lovely and quiet.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A very nice hotel where the staff were very friendly and very helpful. Our room was quite big and both it and the bathroom were immaculate. The meals were excellent. A very good choice of breakfast with either a cooked one (your choice of items) or a big selection of cereals and juice. Your dinner you can have in either the restaurant or the bar with a very good selection on either menu. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others and all being well we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmybeam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

When we first arrived, the hotel appeared old fashioned and a little out of date. However, the bedroom was very big, the bathroom was spotless and it had everything that we needed. We arrived quite late and were given the choice of eating in the restaurant or the bar. We chose the bar and found it had a very good selection of meals, all reasonably priced. When the food arrived we were not disappointed, the meals were large portions and of a good quality. The price of drinks was also very reasonable considering they had a captive audience.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant with amazing views of the loch. The staff were very friendly, there was plenty of choice on the menu and the cooked breakfast was just what we needed to set us up for a days walk.
Overall, if you can look past the outdated decor, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blatch_and_Netty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Garston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking made here for emergency family visit. Rooms a little dated but well equipped and pretty much as described. Loch views are at a premium except from the restaurant, where the views are outstanding. Beware large coach parties if your time in restaurant is not flexible. Staff warned us so we were able to avoid. Breakfast very good. Dinner, good in parts. Haggis excellent, scampi greasy. Staff very friendly and efficient. Look for deals on the hotel website, better than agency process.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
553 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
586 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing