We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Scottish hotel”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Traditional Scottish hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Clan MacDuff hotel 25-28 July 2014. Excellent hotel, very comfortable, pleasant and welcoming staff on Reception and waiting staff at breakfast had the whole breakfast routine working like clockwork! Lovely breakfasts, great choice. Tartan carpets throughout made me feel at home and reminded me of my youth. If you are looking for good quality rooms and furnishings with very comfortable beds and great attention to detail then this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for minimalist, contemporary furnishings then look elsewhere but you will be the loser. Everything was spotlessly clean, excellent free wifi and wonderful view and balcony at front of hotel. A couple of miles outside Fort William but no problem if you have a car - there is a pavement to walk into Fort William but the traffic feels very close. Plenty of parking spaces. Food in bar lounge very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenerousScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    294
    120
    32
    15
See reviews for
161
430
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and 4 friends stayed here from the 28th -30th July . As we were climbing Ben Nevis via cmd arete for alzhiemers scotland. The hotel was first class to us . Rooms immaculate . Comfy beds. Plenty tea and coffee in rooms . And a bath that was so well deserved after our walk . The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and I couldn't fault aileen the young girl who served us both days . Nothing was a problem to her . The reception staff and the lady on the bar were also very welcoming .

The only one fault I have was we got back to the hotel after the walk about 10 .30pm We had started walking at 10.15am .We were so hungry . I spoke to the manager and he didn't have much knowledge about where to get food . I assumed he was in a rush to get home . Needless to say I just drove around and found a fantastic fish and chip shop .

With me being a mystery shopper too that was my only disappointment .

I will definitely be back .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in July '14. The staff was just super. They were attentive for check-in and were very good as wait staff in the restaurant. We had lots of questions and special requests and we were met with smiles and really positive attitudes. The restaurant selections were pretty good, traditional homey type meals. The decor is dated but very clean. Too far to walk to Fort William but there is plenty of parking at the hotel and in town. The Town itself is very charming.

Room Tip: In the summer, choose a room at the back since the rooms facing the lake are very hot with no AC. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Love15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Well we liked it here. Travelling around the highlands and wanted a hotel in Fort William for a night. Yes it could do with some updating, but really clean and comfortable and they obviously try really hard to keep everything in order. Friendly staff. Had a lovely drink in the bar/lounge in the evening over looking the loch. Good breakfast. Our only negative comment would be about the number of laminated signs and instructions in the room/bathroom. We counted 7, a bit excessive. We liked the location being a "bit out of town". Offered good value for money.

Room Tip: We were by the reception entrance on ground floor and were not disturbed. Looked like nice rooms up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiths1480935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Ground floor room overlooking loch - dated decor
Proved to be too close to the main entrance as the coach load of foreign visitors all sat on step outside our window and they were loud!
We had a bar snack which was ok.
Breakfast served in the dining room (very narrow awkward access with steps) overlooking the loch was also ok
The absolute star in my opinion was Shona behind Reception - she was wonderful, coping calmly with all the many questions from the coach passengers!
Overall this hotel room I felt was expensive

Room Tip: Suggest 1st floor which has a joint balcony outside overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I usually stay in B&B's but since we were on honeymoon we decided to go for hotels. This place really paled in comparison to the lovely hotel we stayed in in Edinburgh, (Rutland) which cost about 15% more per night than the Clan McDuff. I've also stayed in much nicer and cheaper B&B's - although not in Fort William which is a town of tourist prices despite it's depressed high street.

The staff are very nice and helpful. The view is lovely but it's 30-40 minutes walk to the town centre and there's no path by the loch, only a thin pavement next to a relatively busy A-road. The rooms are clean but I think the furniture is from about 1950. Certainly the hairdryer must be one of the first examples of an electric hairdryer ever made and when we put it on it blew the fuse in the wall for it's neighbouring plug socket and the kettle, (which were promptly fixed).

The walls are quite thin here so we've been sleeping using ear plugs most nights. Anyone who has ever lived in a council flat might know what I'm talking about. We can hear the tv in the neighbouring room very clearly. If you're still not awake after that you can go and wash your hands in 55C water from the non-mixer tap in the bathroom - why do these still exist? I have no idea.

There are other little things like there's no fridge, no hair conditioner, no proper coffee etc. I'd say if you want to stay in Fort William, either don't bother with the extra expense of this hotel or stay somewhere closer to the Ben or the town centre. Even better, go and stay somewhere out by Arisaig but do make a trip back to FW to see Mr Ben and go to The Ben Nevis Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keraun0sc0pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

the clan macduff hotel , a great place to use as holiday base , a wonderful location with great views of the loch and lots of parking , we thought the food was great and the drinks good value ,the staff are very friendly and helpfuly , I would be very happy to stay again ,amy &mark

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marco531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing