We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a family room for 4, with 2 single + bunk beds. The beds were very comfortable and the room was a good size. Breakfast was excellent, as was dinner in the restaurant one evening. The hotel has a nice lounge for sitting with old leather furniture, as well as a quiet reading room with a book exchange. Sitting in these rooms looking out at the lake is very relaxing, and honestly feels like you've stepped back around 100 years!

The only negative here was the room next door leaving their television on much too loudly, late into the night. I wound up needing to knock on their door at 2AM to tell them to turn the volume down, it wound perhaps be useful to have a quiet hours policy to avoid things like that.

I'm sure this was mostly bad luck though, and I'd definitely recommend the Clan Macduff very highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goathead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    289
    116
    32
    14
See reviews for
157
416
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying for 2 nights to climb Ben Nevis. The hotel was brilliant. We had a triple room, ample size, and the room was very quiet indeed (room 5). Have a side on view over the Loch on a small balcony.
Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked, with plenty of choice for cereals/fruit also. The bar doesn't open til the evening, but it is worth visiting. Fantastic whisky menu if that's your thing! Also has a relaxing quiet room. The restaurant has excellent food, with fabulous views over the loch through a massive glass front. Not many other hotels we noticed had made as good a use of the views! Slight bit out of town, but not a bad thing to avoid any noise/traffic. Staff were great, would def recommend a stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarkNI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights 31st July and had a very enjoyable and trouble free break, the hotel has a good Scottish feel about it, full of charm and character which includes the staff, while i can understand some people would class the hotel as worn and dated but for me if i go to Scotland i want Scotland, it should be tartan carpets, it should be a little dated- glass panels and chrome rails and light wood furniture would be very wrong in my opinion.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, we had amazing views from our balcony room in the annex (see photo) our room was clean, comfortable and everything worked, from check in to check out all the staff were friendly and professional, breakfast was excellent, food in the bar or restaurant was good, freshly cooked bar meal type menu and was no more expensive than eating elsewhere and sometimes more convenient. The bar was a great place to sit in the evening as it has fantastic panoramic views over the loch. would have rated the hotel 41/2 if i could, feel a bit mean not giving it 5.
We really enjoyed our stay here it is a well run hotel with very friendly staff in a wonderful setting and we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

There are dozens, possibly hundreds of guest houses, B&B's, hotels etc in and around Fort William and to get to yours you've probably driven past Clan McDuff Hotel and thought it looked 'nice' or similar - well it is. In fact it's excellent. The rooms are spacious, always spotlessly clean, the staff are very pleasant and nothing seemed too much trouble for them, the breakfasts were served in a dining room with a wonderful view of the loch, the staff were very attentive and an extensive choice of hot or cold food. All in all we had a fantastic time there and we shall not hesitate to revisit.

Room Tip: We paid a small extra charge and had wonderful views over the loch, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m1ddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely hotel, comfortable rooms (although we did not have a loch view, which was disappointing) and the food and menus were very good. All staff were very friendly and there were plenty of areas to relax in so you didn't have to stay in your room all the time. Views over the loch were amazing, and we enjoyed a couple of lovely strolls along the loch side in the evenings. Great way to start our holiday touring the Highlands.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing over the front of the hotel across to the loch - check when you book, as we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizPatLear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

after staying in a few hostels this is just what we needed to unwind. we got the standard double room and it was great. views were amazing (from the lounge and restaurant) staff was friendly the bed was huge it was a very relaxing stay would recommend to anyone

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aidan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Usually stay in B&B's, however after so many " no vacancy signs" this hotel was an absolute find. Front reception staff very helpful, showed us to our room (with a view to die for). Excellent breakfast, lovely dinner in the pub area and our room was very comfortable and clean. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing