We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on the 12th July 2014. We had a twin en-suite room with the usual tea making facilities. The room was clean and comfortable with a good sized bath/shower room. The only draw back was we were at the rear of the hotel and the hotel has been built into a hill side and our only view was about ten feet away, a sheer rock face. Other than that the hotel was fine with a lift from reception to the bedroom areas. Staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was also animal friendly. Evening meal and breakfast were good value

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as the hotel rear backs up to a rock face
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianball8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    303
    121
    32
    15
See reviews for
161
438
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Clan mac duff was a joy to stay at. It was clean friendly with excellent food The Clan mac duff Just enough breakfast was amazing. This is a family run hotel and you can tell I reccomend it without reservation

Room Tip: chose a room facing the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anderwinchesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for one night only, however were very impressed. The friendliness of the staff and the lovely accommodation helped make a wet night brighter.

We would definitely stay here again and the food was diverse and plentiful. A great atmosphere in the restaurant which overlooked the loch. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very old fashioned style hotel which doesn't appear to embrace its heritage as well as it should. There's a little history here and there about the owner and a lot of the decor is similar in style to when it was opened a number of years ago, but I think it would be better if the hotel tries to stay true to this era and actively advertises itself as a "stuck in time" experience. At the moment people probably just view it as dated. It's comfortable, food is nice and everything (including wifi) works, but that's it really...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Loved the hotel it was clean stayed in the family room as we had dog with us and never charged where some hotels do .the breakfast was good and didn't have to wait long to be served
Staff were helpful

Room Tip: Room to the front have beautiful views even with the main road to the front we never heard the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellied55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blayney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were lucky enough to experience 2 nights at Clan Macduff hotel. The place was very clean, and had a restaurant available for evening meals, as well as breakfast. One of the last accommodation places on the edge of town, but within walking distance if weather is suitable! The location however, gives for a perfect view of the loch out front, especially from dining room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjen_c371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guyana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights during a recent tour of the Highlands, it was absolutely fantastic, the location cannot be beaten, the superb views over the loch were unbelievable. The meals were excellent and the service very good. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Fort William.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sajiGuyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
521 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Property: Clan Macduff Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort William
#5 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing