We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Clan Macduff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clan Macduff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 2 August 2007

This hotel was a good base to explore this part of Scotland, with wonderful views over Loch Linnhe.
The food was excellent, with very good service. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean.
I will visit this hotel again and will recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelpam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2007

Stayed for a couple of nights here during a walking trip. The hotel is well run, with plenty of polite and attentive staff. We occupied a lower standard room and found it to be larger and in better condition than expected for the price paid. Lots of public space to relax in with great views of the loch. Would thoroughly recommend staying here.
If you're looking for a restaurant would suggest avoiding The Indian Garden in the High Street; extremely rude staff and overpriced food. The Grog & Gruel is much better and serves a decent pint of real ale.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxmeister_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

This was our second stay at this hotel, we visited last year and were so impressed we wanted to return.
Can't understand the last review(too few smiles), again we found all the staff and the owners delightful and very cheery.
The food represents good value for money and was always presented well and served by very efficient waitresses. Each night for dinner (restaurant) there was always a choice of 4 main courses plus a veggie option. A nice touch is the shortbread served after dinner with your coffee.
Breakfast, again waitress served, is plentiful. Altogether a nice place to stay, with fine views(from front rooms, which do come at an extra charge), first floor rooms have balconies, each double room comes with a queen size bed, fitted wardrobe, dressing table, tea/coffe making equipment, t.v.and a couple of chairs and small table and are quite large enough. The bathrooms offer a shower over the bath and are kept very clean and in good order. Altogether a nice experience. Would visit again and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Wegetaboutabit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

We stayed at the Clan MacDuff for two nights at the end of June. Overall we were unimpressed with our stay, which was particularly disappointing given the hotels strong showing on Tripadvisor.
The hotel is in a good position on the lochside of Loch Linnhe and the views are really good. It is situated by the main road but despite this it is reasonably quiet.
On checking into the hotel both my wife and I found the receptionist to be professional but lacking in any warmth, she didn't smile once, nor did she speak at all other than to provide us with the hotel information. This wasn't to be the only time that members of staff appeared to be less than pleased to see us.
Our room was small and loch facing (at a small supplement) and was a little dated in appearance, particularly the furniture but in fairness it was spotlessly clean. We both had two good night sleeps in the comfortable bed.
We ate in the bar both nights and on both occasions we were unimpressed by the quality of the food (more so on the second night than the first) Vegetables had been microwaved to death and the mashed potato certainly didn't taste home made. The barman, who I presumed (probably incorrectly) to be the owner was very unwelcoming, as was a well dressed lady, who I presumed was his wife.
Thankfully not all of the staff were not so sour. Some of the dinner waitresses were very pleasant as were the staff at breakfast, where the meal was of a much better standard.
I regularly leave reviews on tripadvisor and try to be as honest as I can, in the hope that others will be also and so we can all benefit by selecting better quality hotels. Unfortunately, however being honest on this occasion means leaving a poor review.
The hotel is not a bad one and perhaps our stay was not reflective of their usual standards but it isn't a good hotel either and people should be aware that it does have a few problems.
That this hotel is rated as top in Fort William doesn't give us a great desire to stay in this beautiful part of the world any time soon.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ytshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

My wife and I stayed for just one night, but were really impressed by this well run hotel.
The rooms were well appointed and clean and although we didn't have one with a loch view, the public rooms made up for that with several alternatives, both quiet and jolly. The bar was friendly.
The breakfast was excellent in both quality and service. The food was cooked to order and service was by far the most impressive we received during our two weeks in Scotland.
Reception was friendly, efficient and helpful with planning our next day's travel. There was ample convenient parking.
Well done Clan Macduff!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osprey_wotcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

This is the second time I've stayed here and once again very pleased with the hotel. Great views over the loch, 30 min walk into Fort William. Breakfast was excellent, just wish I'd taken evening meal as well ,because we struggled to find anything decent in the town. Ended up eating at the Capercaillie pub/diner, not very good.
Only slight criticism, the hotel perhaps needing some money spent, decor/ carpets starting to look a bit tired. Rooms still nice and clean. Staff as usual excellent. Overall, nice place to stay. Hope to be back soon.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank Alex088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

my mother and i stayed at the hotel twice in the month of may (once on our way north, and then again on our way south) and we quite liked it. although not downtown, the hotel is in a pretty good location, with a very nice view of the loch and surrounding countryside.

we stayed in twin rooms for both our stays, with comfy beds, loads of blankets and nice ensuites.

we opted for the bed and breakfast plan, and the breakfast was great. we ate in the restaurant one night and in the pub on another night. both times the service and food were good. the restaurant and pub both have large windows that show off the view.

this hotel seems to cater to the senior traveler, which there seem to be a lot of in this part of scotland, so the decor is geared towards them, i think. while clean, it isn't a modern/flashy hotel (which may or may not be what you're looking for - i'm not mentioning this as a negative, just stating it for your interpretation...) but i found it to be a bit dusty, which aggrivated my allergies.

should i return to fort william, i will stay here again - the price was competitive for the area (and there are ALOT of b&b's and hotels in the area) and the food was good. the staff was very nice and our rooms were well maintained and appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vulpecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
545 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,090 reviews
3 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clan Macduff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clan Macduff Hotel

Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fort William
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: £87 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clan Macduff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a STB 3 Star establishment situated just 2 miles south of Fort William on the A82, overlooking loch Linnhe, with outstanding views of magnificent highland scenery. Well-appointed en-suite bedrooms with colour television, hospitality tray etc. Large choice dinner menu. Delicious bar suppers. Fine selection of malt whiskies. Large car park. This friendly family run hotel is dedicated in providing good quality and value hospitality. Sorry No Pets accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clan Macduff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clan Macduff Fort William
Hotel Clan Macduff
Clan Macduff Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing