We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed for weekend”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We arrived on the Friday and the staff could not be more helpful and very pleasant from phoning for taxis for us to us wanting to use the wifi the only recommendation i would say is the doors it would be better if the doors open and close the normal way instead of the door they have now it is very difficult with heaps of suitcases we had our breakfasts at the hotel which was very plentiful and with lots of choices from cooked breakfasts to cereal and even fresh fruit and yogurt

Room Tip: we had a room inside the main hotel and we had our window open all the time and there was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank task134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    287
    219
    97
    89
See reviews for
162
344
50
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Although the rooms were slightly dated, the overall stay in this hotel was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was a decent size but the window was quite drafty and the room could take a little while to heat up. We stayed here for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast in which there was a good selection of meals at dinner time and a massive selection of food at breakfast. The hotel was dog friendly in which the staff doted on my dog. The spa facilities that we used were the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The view of Ben Nevis from the pool was lovely. I would stay here again as it was really good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We were put up in the annex of the hotel which is a short walk from the main complex. The annex itself is in dire need of upgrading, carpets worn, paint flaking and window frames rotting, no wi-fi. The spa is spot on if not a little cold for average swimming pools. The staff however are brilliant what ever you need they will adapt. We have stayed here many times but this was the first time we had been allocated the annex, I will ensure on our next visit I am not in the annex.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the annex rooms located the other side of the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meercat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

4 night stay for 4 on the Wine and Treasure deal which was great value. Rooms were good with plenty of coffee, tea and biscuits left each day. Bath products also replenished each day and lovely thick towels. Television could do with upgrading, but that was only complaint about rooms. Most staff were very good. Leisure complex was excellent and not too busy, though obviously not just for guests. Dinner at night was only disapointment. A bit tasteless at times and could have been a better choice. Breakfast was excellent with great choice of cereals and all you can eat buffet, which included all the hot items you can think of plus decent choice for continental. Altogether great value for money and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmwjej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed for two nights and found this hotel to be warm and friendly. The public rooms could sometimes be too warm. It was really good value. Were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal, could not fault the food either at breakfast or dinner. Nice selection of wines and prices for all pockets.
Good service at all times from the reception, bar and restaurant staff. Rooms were clean, there were plenty of towels, loads of hot water, tea and coffee makings and a really comfortable bed. Slept like a log both nights. Some tired areas but on the whole an enjoyable stay and would use the hotel again.
Plenty of parking, did not use the pool so can't comment on that and about a 10 to 15 min walk to the main town area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was hiking Ben Nevis with some friends and was on a one night stay. Sure the place looks a little tired and the lighting in the bar is far too bright, but the rooms are very clean and my bed was very comfortable. The shower was powerful in the bathroom and there were 4 bath towels in the room.
The buffet breakfast starts at 7 am, and this was perfect as we wanted to make an early start. There is a great choice at the breakfast...fruit, yogurt, cereals, cold meats and a good cooked selection. I went for the porridge which was excellent and there was fruit, nuts, cream to put on it, if you wanted.

The staff were very helpful, and facilitated our being able to get a shower and a swim in the Leisure Centre after our hike, eventhough we had technically checked out that morning. Try getting a shower, after a hike and after you have ckecked out, elsewhere in FortWilliam and see the look you will get.

So, i certainly would not take my wife here for a romantic week end, but this hotel is perfect for a one night stay (especially if you are thinking of hitting the Ben!)

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Tired unattractive building but clean and service was good. Food better than expected for the price. Would stay. In a bb next time though as we didn't need the other facilities. ....
Fort William was the start of our walk and we stayed in a different bb each night. This hotel was our least favourite night and was the same price.

Having to write 200 characters is a pain..Having to write 200 characters is a pain..Having to write 200 characters is a pain..Having to write 200 characters is a pain..Having to write 200 characters is a pain..Having to write 200 characters is a pain..Having to write 200 characters is a pain..

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foodie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing